homebridge-edomoticz Plugin

Moderator: leecollings

Post Reply
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

Ta - amended...!
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
asmithdub
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 30 September 2013 22:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by asmithdub »

Thanks so much for this! Just got up and running tonight.

Quick questions, have scenes been implemented yet?

And blind/ shutters. Can these be controlled?
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

Scenes: not directly. Create a dummy/virtual/manual switch in Domoticz. Head to switches tab & hit edit button for that switch, and set the On action to trigger the scene (see https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Domoticz_ ... _on_or_off), and an Off delay to reset the switch.
eDomoticz / Homebridge will see the virtual switch.

Blinds: depends on switch type they're detected as. Try it & see... If not, raise an issue on GitHub repo with json output as per opening post & I'll add to the to-do list.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
User avatar
deejc
Posts: 168
Joined: Tuesday 22 September 2015 18:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by deejc »

@marci I wish you were writing the plugin for Vera !!!! I cannot get it to work, I rarely had problems with your plugin but this one is murders. It's so slow and crashes often , Arghhhh.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Domoticz 3.5641 on RPI (Raspbian GNU/Linux 8)
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

Add the Vera devices to Domoticz, then go back to using eDomoticz...? https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/VERA
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
asmithdub
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 30 September 2013 22:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by asmithdub »

Marci wrote:Scenes: not directly. Create a dummy/virtual/manual switch in Domoticz. Head to switches tab & hit edit button for that switch, and set the On action to trigger the scene (see https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Domoticz_ ... _on_or_off), and an Off delay to reset the switch.
eDomoticz / Homebridge will see the virtual switch.

Blinds: depends on switch type they're detected as. Try it & see... If not, raise an issue on GitHub repo with json output as per opening post & I'll add to the to-do list.
Thank you!
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

If you've just updated to iOS9.3 and suddenly devices have all vanished, nudge your homebridge install up to latest, then restart homebridge...

Code: Select all

sudo npm update -g homebridge
forever restart /usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/bin/homebridge
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
User avatar
deejc
Posts: 168
Joined: Tuesday 22 September 2015 18:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by deejc »

Marci wrote:Add the Vera devices to Domoticz, then go back to using eDomoticz...? https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/VERA
That looks like massive aggro


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Domoticz 3.5641 on RPI (Raspbian GNU/Linux 8)
SwordFish
Posts: 278
Joined: Sunday 14 December 2014 12:28
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V4.11375
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by SwordFish »

Great plugin, but i don't get it to work. I have tried everything. Its seems that i haven't got a /usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/bin/homebridge, I only got /usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/. I did follow the installation guide on the first post?
Can someone point me into the right directions :)
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

Sounds like homebridge failed whilst compiling... run:

Code: Select all

sudo npm install -g homebridge
...again, and copy / paste any output into your reply.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
SwordFish
Posts: 278
Joined: Sunday 14 December 2014 12:28
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V4.11375
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by SwordFish »

this is when I do "sudo npm install -g homebridge'
Knipsel.PNG
Knipsel.PNG (40.31 KiB) Viewed 1806 times
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

K - looks to have installed ok... Use

Code: Select all

sudo find / -name homebridge


...to find out where it's put the binary.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
simon_rb
Posts: 612
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by simon_rb »

Hi,

I'm currently using the legacy domoticz shim and it's working rather well. If I switch too this plugin, am I right in thinking you get feedback of the device if you ask for it (assuming it's supported). Secondly, all my devices show up as lights, including switches for stuff like TVs etc.. Does this plugin recognise the difference or is it a domoticz thing? They all show up as Lighting 2 in Domoticz. I'd like to add all the lights and sockets/switches for living room, kitchen, bedroom etc together and if I say turn on living room lights, only the lights turn on and not the TV, Blu Ray Player, PS4 etc..

Thanks guys and girls.
SwordFish
Posts: 278
Joined: Sunday 14 December 2014 12:28
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V4.11375
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by SwordFish »

Marci wrote:K - looks to have installed ok... Use

Code: Select all

sudo find / -name homebridge


...to find out where it's put the binary.
This is the outcome;
Knipsel.PNG
Knipsel.PNG (15.36 KiB) Viewed 1772 times
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

simon_rb wrote:Hi,

I'm currently using the legacy domoticz shim and it's working rather well. If I switch too this plugin, am I right in thinking you get feedback of the device if you ask for it (assuming it's supported).
Yes
Secondly, all my devices show up as lights, including switches for stuff like TVs etc.. Does this plugin recognise the difference or is it a domoticz thing? They all show up as Lighting 2 in Domoticz.
Down to your choice of HomeKit app. Eve for instance allows you to categorise switches via changing their icon and assigning Siri Names
I'd like to add all the lights and sockets/switches for living room, kitchen, bedroom etc together and if I say turn on living room lights, only the lights turn on and not the TV, Blu Ray Player, PS4 etc..
If only your lights are defined as lights in your HomeKit app, and the rest are defined as switches, then yes, this will work.

Again, all down to your choice of HomeKit app, room definitions etc.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

SwordFish wrote:
Marci wrote:K - looks to have installed ok... Use

Code: Select all

sudo find / -name homebridge


...to find out where it's put the binary.
This is the outcome;
Knipsel.PNG
It must be failing to compile silently... will get back to you with further steps (assuming you've tried the "if homebridge fails to install" steps in the original post)
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
simon_rb
Posts: 612
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by simon_rb »

Thanks Marci, I use Eve and they show up as switches and lights correctly however if I add all devices in my living room to a living room room (that's a mouthful). When I say turn all living room lights off even the switches turn off. I will check this to confirm.

What would be the best way to migrate from the legacy shim to your addon?

Thanks again!! :-)

Update:- checked Eve and for my surround sound I only have lightbulb and all the others are the same.

Image
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

That's with the old shim. Things should look different once you're using latest homebridge and plugin...

Image

Image

Image

Image
Last edited by Marci on Wednesday 30 March 2016 9:29, edited 1 time in total.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by Marci »

To switch, delete current homebridge folder then follow installation instructions in the first post.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
simon_rb
Posts: 612
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: eDomoticz Homebridge-Plugin

Post by simon_rb »

Marci wrote:To switch, delete current homebridge folder then follow installation instructions in the first post.
Good morning, do I need to do this as homebridge is the latest version and working well. Or do you mean the persist folder?

How do I change them from lights to switches in domoticz? If you mean the icons then yes they have been changed. They actually show up in eve as switched but when I tell Siri to turn the lights off she turns off everything including the switches, not just the lights.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest