Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Moderator: leecollings

Morcegolas
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 01 October 2014 12:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Morcegolas »

Hello guys, I configure everything and all went great, now I have a question, how can I connect my wife iPhone also to HomeKit? Mine is already working with Insteon+ app.
simon_rb
Posts: 612
Joined: Wednesday 07 August 2013 19:09
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by simon_rb »

Morcegolas wrote:Hello guys, I configure everything and all went great, now I have a question, how can I connect my wife iPhone also to HomeKit? Mine is already working with Insteon+ app.
Glad you have it working - I can't get it working.

I believe you invite her from the HomeKit settings on your iPhone. As simple as that..
Morcegolas
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 01 October 2014 12:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Morcegolas »

simon_rb wrote:Glad you have it working - I can't get it working.

I believe you invite her from the HomeKit settings on your iPhone. As simple as that..
Simon at first I can't get it to work, then I reformatted my Rpi SD card and install the last DomoticZ version, its just follow the wiki, after install domoticz ( here ), and run:

Code: Select all

sudo raspi-config
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install raspberrypi-ui-mods
sudo reboot
After this, and as the current Domoticz SDCard image has HomeBridge included, and you can jump straight to Configure section in here

In the end as you can see in the link above, I used PM2 instead of Forever, it can start HomeBridge at startup.

;)

EDIT: Just saw the HomeKit Invitation on Settings, thanks Simon.
Morcegolas
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 01 October 2014 12:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Morcegolas »

I think I speak too soon, all was working great but today without me messing in RPi almost all devices is offline, when I do 'pm2 stop HomeBrigde' and then 'npm run start' it doesn't give me any error... :/

EDIT, just to say that it duplicated all my devices :/ with default settings
Morcegolas
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 01 October 2014 12:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Morcegolas »

Guys, what version of NodeJS should I use? I'm running a RPi, because I installed v4.1.1 and after a clean install of Domoticz, and all updates to the system done, when I try to update homebridge and I do 'npm install' I got a bunch of errors...

I'm using this to update my homebridge:

Code: Select all

cd homebridge

Code: Select all

git pull origin master

Code: Select all

npm install
jessy1984
Posts: 26
Joined: Tuesday 11 August 2015 14:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by jessy1984 »

hi tried to install everything yesterday
took a while but still got one problem
i get this error

Code: Select all

Loading 1 platforms...
[Domoticz] Initializing Domoticz platform...
[Domoticz] Fetching Domoticz lights and switches...
Loading 0 accessories...
[Domoticz] There was a problem connecting to Domoticz.
[Domoticz] There was a problem connecting to Domoticz.
think its the config file but can not find whats wrong

Code: Select all

{
"bridge": {
        "name": "Homebridge",
        "username": "CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30",
        "port": 51826,
        "pin": "031-45-154"
    },

    "description": "Configuration file for Domoticz platform.",
    "platforms": [
        {
            "platform": "Domoticz",
            "name": "Domoticz",
            "server": "192.168.1.114",
            "port": "8080",
            "roomid": "2"
        }
    ],
    "accessories": [
  ]
}
saw some that had the same problem but no solution
Jem101
Posts: 66
Joined: Saturday 02 May 2015 21:26
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Bexleyheath, SE London, UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Jem101 »

I've been using this for some time and it works very well (after a few initial teething troubles) so a big 'Thanks' to all those involved in developing it.

I do have a question though; I can control all of my lights using Siri which is good. I have found though that if I turn a light on or off using the Domoticz dashboard or some other device then Homebridge doesn't seem to know that the state has changed.

For example my daughter has turned on her bedroom ceiling light, using a remote wall switch which is a slave device to the lamp itself. Domoticz knows that it has been switched on and updates the dashboard accordingly. However if I ask Siri which lights are on it doesn't know that her light has changed state. If I turn a light on using Siri or the Insteon+ app on my phone then both HomeKit and Domoticz recognise that the light is on.

So what I'd like to know is is the connection between Domoticz and Homebridge one way only or is there some problem with my setup which I ned to look at?

Many thanks in advance for any advice and/or hints
I firmly believe in having an open mind - although not so open that your brain falls out!

- sometimes attributed to Carl Sagan, but the original quote is much older than that
jessy1984
Posts: 26
Joined: Tuesday 11 August 2015 14:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by jessy1984 »

jessy1984 wrote:hi tried to install everything yesterday
took a while but still got one problem
i get this error

Code: Select all

Loading 1 platforms...
[Domoticz] Initializing Domoticz platform...
[Domoticz] Fetching Domoticz lights and switches...
Loading 0 accessories...
[Domoticz] There was a problem connecting to Domoticz.
[Domoticz] There was a problem connecting to Domoticz.
think its the config file but can not find whats wrong

Code: Select all

{
"bridge": {
        "name": "Homebridge",
        "username": "CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30",
        "port": 51826,
        "pin": "031-45-154"
    },

    "description": "Configuration file for Domoticz platform.",
    "platforms": [
        {
            "platform": "Domoticz",
            "name": "Domoticz",
            "server": "192.168.1.114",
            "port": "8080",
            "roomid": "2"
        }
    ],
    "accessories": [
  ]
}
saw some that had the same problem but no solution
ok problem solved
for others who have this problem, solution was simple
demove login and password in domoticz dash , then you can connect to domoticz
there is one problem now i dont have a password on domoticz anymore
wokkelp
Posts: 24
Joined: Monday 24 August 2015 22:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by wokkelp »

Here is what happens when I try a clean install of Homebridge.
After everything is set-up and I run homebridge for the first time I can see it in Insteon.
As soon as I pair with homebridge, Insteon returns with a message telling me that the Connection is Lost and is Unable to communicate with the device.
Below is the output of my ssh session. (it goes south after entering the verification code into the app)

Code: Select all

> [email protected] start /home/pi/homebridge
> DEBUG=* node app.js || true

*** WARNING *** The program 'node' uses the Apple Bonjour compatibility layer of                    Avahi.
*** WARNING *** Please fix your application to use the native API of Avahi!
*** WARNING *** For more information see <http://0pointer.de/avahi-compat?s=libd                   ns_sd&e=node>
*** WARNING *** The program 'node' called 'DNSServiceRegister()' which is not su                   pported (or only supported partially) in the Apple Bonjour compatibility layer o                   f Avahi.
*** WARNING *** Please fix your application to use the native API of Avahi!
*** WARNING *** For more information see <http://0pointer.de/avahi-compat?s=libd                   ns_sd&e=node&f=DNSServiceRegister>
Starting HomeBridge server...
_____________________________________________________________________
IMPORTANT: Homebridge is in the middle of some big changes.
           Read more about it here:
           https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge/wiki/Migration-Guide
_____________________________________________________________________

Loading 2 platforms...
[Domoticz] Initializing Domoticz platform...
[Domoticz] Fetching Domoticz lights and switches...
[Sonos] Initializing Sonos platform...
[Sonos] Fetching Sonos devices.
Loading 0 accessories...
[Sonos] Found device at 192.168.0.42
[Sonos] Found device at 192.168.0.24
[Sonos] Found playable device - BRIDGE
[Sonos] Found playable device - Woonkamer
[Domoticz] Initializing platform accessory 'Eetkamer 1'...
[Domoticz] Loaded services for Eetkamer 1
[Domoticz] Initializing platform accessory 'Keuken 1'...
[Domoticz] Loaded services for Keuken 1
[Domoticz] Initializing platform accessory 'Woonkamer 1'...
[Domoticz] Loaded services for Woonkamer 1
[Domoticz] Initializing platform accessory 'Woonkamer 2'...
[Domoticz] Loaded services for Woonkamer 2
[Domoticz] Initializing platform accessory 'Woonkamer 3'...
[Domoticz] Loaded services for Woonkamer 3
[Sonos] Initializing platform accessory 'BRIDGE Sonos'...
[Sonos] Initializing platform accessory 'Woonkamer Sonos'...
Scan this code with your HomeKit App on your iOS device:

    ┌────────────┐
    │ 031-45-154 │
    └────────────┘

  Accessory [Homebridge] Creating new AccessoryInfo for our HAP server +0ms
  Accessory [Homebridge] Creating new IdentifierCache +133ms
  EventedHTTPServer Server listening on port 51826 +333ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] New connection from client +39s
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP server listening on port 54                   826 +25ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] New connection from client +61ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] HTTP server listening on port 54827 +8m                   s
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] Client connection closed +57ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] HTTP connection was closed +58ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP request: /pair-setup +40ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] HAP Request: POST /pair-setup +8ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair step 1/5 +40ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] HTTP server was closed +30ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP Repsonse is finished +565ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP request: /pair-setup +8s
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] HAP Request: POST /pair-setup +6ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair step 2/5 +17ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP Repsonse is finished +436ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP request: /pair-setup +240ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] HAP Request: POST /pair-setup +3ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair step 3/5 +13ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair step 4/5 +188ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair step 5/5 +25ms
  Accessory [Homebridge] Paired with client 8BACE558-8762-40E3-BCEC-B7E9401FCFF5                    +51ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP Repsonse is finished +127ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] Client connection closed +223ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] New connection from client +15ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP server listening on port 54                   827 +6ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] New connection from client +16ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] HTTP server listening on port 54828 +5m                   s
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP connection was closed +23ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP server was closed +4ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] Client connection closed +13ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] HTTP connection was closed +17ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP request: /pair-verify +8ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] HAP Request: POST /pair-verify +3ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair verify step 1/2 +21ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP Repsonse is finished +91ms
  EventedHTTPServer [::ffff:192.168.0.7] HTTP server was closed +6ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP request: /pair-verify +62ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] HAP Request: POST /pair-verify +4ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Pair verify step 2/2 +18ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] Client 8BACE558-8762-40E3-BCEC-B7E9401FCFF5 veri                   fication complete +30ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP Repsonse is finished +12ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP request: /accessories +39ms
  HAPServer [CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30] HAP Request: GET /accessories +4ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP Repsonse is finished +93ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] Client connection closed +895ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP connection was closed +13ms
  EventedHTTPServer [fe80::1c0d:3de6:1d5c:4e3a] HTTP server was closed +5ms
Anyone got a clue?
mschut
Posts: 108
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 21:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by mschut »

Hmm, I did a first install according to the wiki. I started at the configuration part, because I have a recent SD card image for the Pi. However, I didn't got it working.

So, today I started all over again, performing all actions in the wiki. However, now I am stuck way sooner: At the part "Install dependencies", the command "node -v" results in:

Code: Select all

node: /usr/lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.20' not found (required by node)
node: /lib/arm-linux-gnueabihf/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.16' not found (required by node)
Any idea/help appreciated...
jessy1984
Posts: 26
Joined: Tuesday 11 August 2015 14:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by jessy1984 »

also had a problem with this you have to see you have installed latest version
but what helped here is install Jessie
# Options 2: Upgrade to debian Jessie
Replace all instances of "wheezy" in /etc/apt/sources.list
change wheezy to Jessie in
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

this process takes a while
then start again using the wiki
Bikey
Posts: 331
Joined: Sunday 22 February 2015 12:19
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.x
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Bikey »

This has to do with a newer 4.x version of NodeJS as I understand from this and other forums. I had the same problem and therefore I am now upgrading to Jessie. I noted however that the official Raspberry guide has some extra instruction on how to that, look here.
Upgrading however seems to be not so effortless for me so far, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

I'm also a bit confused that people in this forum indicate that they are using NodeJS 4.x with Jessie and Homebridge while at the same time a warning on the Homebridge Github page says that this is not compatible with Homebridge. So I'm wondering if the upgrading to Jessie and installation of Node.Js is done I will be able to go further with Homebridge...?

If everything is working fine on Jessie then I think it might be a good idea to upgrade the Domoticz SD Card image also to use Jessie?

*EDIT* Upgrading to Jessie completely failed.. Luckily I had a good image backup, but wasted a couple of hours and I'm now back on square one.
Morcegolas
Posts: 24
Joined: Wednesday 01 October 2014 12:31
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Morcegolas »

Hi guys, after some time although my HomeBridge is still active on RPi my devices on Insteon+ / Eve app gets unreachable, happens to someone else? I have to restart pm2 service :/
mschut
Posts: 108
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 21:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by mschut »

Sounds like I leave Jessie for the moment where (s)he is.

But, that means I am still not able to install Homekit succesfully. I do have a back-up of Domoticz, but not of my Pi. Since I performed some other tweaks I prefer not to reinstall with a clean SD image.

Any idea how to fix the node thing?
mschut
Posts: 108
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 21:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by mschut »

Is it possible to downgrade to a previous version of node?

Update: yes...
wget http://node-arm.herokuapp.com/node_archive_armhf.deb
sudo dpkg -i node_archive_armhf.deb
# Check installation
node -v
mschut
Posts: 108
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 21:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by mschut »

Back to my previous issue, seems like the install succeeded, but the app on the iPhone says:

Eve: iCloud Data Sync is currently in progress, Please try again later

Insteon+: Sync in progress. Your home will be available when the sync completes.

Is this an issue with the installation of the Homekit, or with the iPhone?
dlingard12330
Posts: 1
Joined: Tuesday 06 October 2015 8:18
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by dlingard12330 »

Ok so I'm not that hot on DOMOTICZ linking with HomeKit so I hope this is in the right place.. I have my DOMOTICZ set up and running from a pi, and have installed HomeKit and am using the eve app to communicate and parse voice commands from Siri - but in terms of brightness I can only go up to 15% - I assume it is misreading the 16 levels of brightness that the he108 lights have through AC... Also as an aside does anyone know if squeeze play or Sonos can be integrated with this setup or Siri?

Tia David
User avatar
G3rard
Posts: 669
Joined: Wednesday 04 March 2015 22:15
Target OS: -
Domoticz version: No
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by G3rard »

mschut wrote:Back to my previous issue, seems like the install succeeded, but the app on the iPhone says:

Eve: iCloud Data Sync is currently in progress, Please try again later

Insteon+: Sync in progress. Your home will be available when the sync completes.

Is this an issue with the installation of the Homekit, or with the iPhone?
Had these messages as well, has to do with the iPhone. you have to try the following steps (don't know the exact order anymore):
- disable icloud data sync
- reset homekit settings
- restart iphone
- enable icloud data sync
I have had this multiple times, sometimes I even had deleted the Eve app before it worked again. Just try the above steps and see if you get it working.
Not using Domoticz anymore
mschut
Posts: 108
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 21:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by mschut »

G3rard wrote:Had these messages as well, has to do with the iPhone. you have to try the following steps (don't know the exact order anymore):
- disable icloud data sync
- reset homekit settings
- restart iphone
- enable icloud data sync
I have had this multiple times, sometimes I even had deleted the Eve app before it worked again. Just try the above steps and see if you get it working.
Thanks, found these steps also. It's not my iPhone, so am a bit reluctant to re-enable icloud sync, because it says something about deleting all data. But will try anyway someday soon.
mschut
Posts: 108
Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 21:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V3.5613
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by mschut »

When I logout for the iCloud sync, the iPhone says it will delete all information of the iphone (I dont have the exact words, I use it in dutch). I am not suren which information it will delete, I dont want to remove all information.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests