Alexa text to speech Topic is solved
Moderator: leecollings
Re: Alexa text to speech
Gave up two years ago: not reliable, cookies issue, lots of trail and error when installing: what account, what language... Been using Jarvis on my wall tablet as alternative.
Before I drive into Alexa speak again; What is the status nowadays?
Before I drive into Alexa speak again; What is the status nowadays?
-
- Posts: 204
- Joined: Monday 08 May 2017 20:48
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2022.1
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
Has been working 3 months without MFA, but then one day I got a captcha after expired cookies.
Setup MFA and it works very fine since then over here!
Setup MFA and it works very fine since then over here!
-
- Posts: 536
- Joined: Friday 23 December 2016 16:40
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Stable
- Location: Netherlands Purmerend
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
Google works perfectly for me. for months now and no cookies monster.
Re: Alexa text to speech
ok, got it running again, this time with MFA. Good to have voice on Alexa again.
Questions
1) how does the volume parameter work?
2) in Dzvents the following line is used:
However, when adding another line, only the last line is executed; the kitchen device is silent:
Questions
1) how does the volume parameter work?
2) in Dzvents the following line is used:
Code: Select all
os.execute ("/home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -d ALL -e speak:'"..message.."'")
Code: Select all
os.execute ("/home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -d Kitchen -e speak:'"..message.."'")
os.execute ("/home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -d Bathroom -e speak:'"..message.."'")
Re: Alexa text to speech
It seems that Alexa is missing messages because of some sort of sleep mode. It starts with the second attempt, when calling the script after an hour or so.
-
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Monday 05 October 2015 9:31
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
SOLVED Re: Alexa text to speech
If I start the script ./alexa_remote_control.sh -ALL speak:'MESSAGE' an error occurs:
bash: ./alexa_remote_control.sh: /bin/sh^M: Defekter Interpreter: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
jq and oathtools are installed. The scripts looks fine.
Any hints?
UTF-8 was the solution...
bash: ./alexa_remote_control.sh: /bin/sh^M: Defekter Interpreter: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
jq and oathtools are installed. The scripts looks fine.
Any hints?
UTF-8 was the solution...
Re: Alexa text to speech
all of a sudden Alexa is silent. MFA was working since May, but now this error:
Code: Select all
Try logging in to https://alexa.amazon.de with your browser. In your browser
make sure to have all Amazon related cookies deleted and Javascript disabled!
(For more information have a look at /tmp/.alexa.login)
To avoid issues with captcha, try using Multi-Factor Authentication.
To do so, first set up Two-Step Verification on your Amazon account, then
configure this script (or the environment) with your MFA secret.
Support for Multi-Factor Authentication requires 'oathtool' to be installed.
- philchillbill
- Posts: 399
- Joined: Monday 12 September 2016 13:47
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Eindhoven. NL
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
Me too. Refreshing the cookie does not help
Alexa skills author: EvoControl, Statereport, MediaServer, LMS-lite
-
- Posts: 204
- Joined: Monday 08 May 2017 20:48
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2022.1
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
Tested, still working fine here using MFA.
- philchillbill
- Posts: 399
- Joined: Monday 12 September 2016 13:47
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Eindhoven. NL
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
I fixed mine by changing my store from .de to .co.uk. No idea why it even worked with .de because my account is indeed .co.uk. And .de worked for a few months with MFA. Anyway, solved.
Alexa skills author: EvoControl, Statereport, MediaServer, LMS-lite
-
- Posts: 204
- Joined: Monday 08 May 2017 20:48
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2022.1
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
That might be a possible solution as my Alexa account is indeed an .co.uk account
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Saturday 29 August 2020 14:36
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
I can't get Alexa to speak on my Sonos Beam from my Raspberry Pi. alexa_remote_control.sh -a gives me the correct devices back, and when I do a
she also says the correct things as if you would say 'goodmorning' to it.
My account is an Amazon.com account and my settings:
When I try to use the speak command (so no error):
Any suggestions to get it working?
EDIT: I'm afraid this script will not work with Sonos. Some speech and things like routines are not possible on certain (or most?) third party devices. I guess I'll try to achieve the same goal another way.
Code: Select all
sudo /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e goodmorning -d 'Sonos Beam'
My account is an Amazon.com account and my settings:
Code: Select all
SET_MFA_SECRET='<52 character from https://www.amazon.com/a/settings/approval>'
SET_LANGUAGE='en-US'
SET_TTS_LOCALE='en-US'
SET_AMAZON='amazon.com'
SET_ALEXA='alexa.amazon.com'
Code: Select all
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e speak:'Why am I not talking' -d 'Sonos Beam'
sending cmd:speak:Why am I not talking to dev:Sonos Beam type:A3NPD82ABCPIDP serial:<myserial> customerid:<mycustomeridhere>
EDIT: I'm afraid this script will not work with Sonos. Some speech and things like routines are not possible on certain (or most?) third party devices. I guess I'll try to achieve the same goal another way.
Last edited by vengeance on Monday 31 August 2020 20:47, edited 2 times in total.
Re: Alexa text to speech
Is amazon messing with devices currently?
Has been working for months with MFA. I'm In the Netherlands and got my devices on Amazon.de, language = EN
My settings in alexa_remote_control.sh:
Error after: /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e speak:'MESSAGE'
1) Is anybody else having the same issues?
2) if i remember correctly the cookie and login error have been always there, even when things were working correctly. That would make it harder to debug. Can somebody with working Alexa report his/her feedback here from /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e speak:'MESSAGE'
Has been working for months with MFA. I'm In the Netherlands and got my devices on Amazon.de, language = EN
My settings in alexa_remote_control.sh:
Code: Select all
SET_LANGUAGE='en-UK'
SET_TTS_LOCALE='de-DE'
SET_AMAZON='amazon.de'
SET_ALEXA='alexa.amazon.de'
Code: Select all
cookie does not exist. logging in ...
ERROR: Amazon Login was unsuccessful. Possibly you get a captcha login screen.
Try logging in to https://alexa.amazon.de with your browser. In your browser
make sure to have all Amazon related cookies deleted and Javascript disabled!
2) if i remember correctly the cookie and login error have been always there, even when things were working correctly. That would make it harder to debug. Can somebody with working Alexa report his/her feedback here from /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e speak:'MESSAGE'
Re: Alexa text to speech
Update: problem gone of previous post
1) doing a sudo version got me a good login with sudo /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e goodmorning -d 'kitchen'
2) got the wrong device name set, renamed it on amazon.de and did a Rpi reboot
To answer my own question 2): there is no login error message
1) doing a sudo version got me a good login with sudo /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e goodmorning -d 'kitchen'
2) got the wrong device name set, renamed it on amazon.de and did a Rpi reboot
To answer my own question 2): there is no login error message
Code: Select all
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo /home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa_remote_control.sh -e speak:'MESSAGE' -d kitchen
sending cmd:speak:MESSAGE to dev:kitchen type:AB72C64C86AW2 serial:90F007187016046L customerid:A77JZ2BCLO7CQ
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sunday 25 October 2020 2:09
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
I love whispered effect :
Switch light ON
Switch light OFF
Switch light ON
Code: Select all
script:///home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa/alexa_remote_control.sh -d "Echo Office" -e speak:'<speak><amazon:effect name="whispered">Light switch ON !</amazon:effect></speak>'
Code: Select all
script:///home/pi/domoticz/scripts/alexa/alexa_remote_control.sh -d "Echo Office" -e speak:'<speak><amazon:effect name="whispered">Light switch OFF !</amazon:effect></speak>'
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sunday 11 August 2019 20:41
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech/Alexa started announcing “underscore” for every space
Thank you all for your great contributions to this capability.
A very simple guide to setting TTS for Alexa can be found here https://www.machinon.com/post/autonomous-tts-with-alexa
Once setup I then ran into a problem of Alex converting spaces to underscore (for alexa.amazon.co.uk) e.g. "Hellounderscorethisunderscore..." The fix (for the moment) is to insert a hyphen between each word e.g. ./alexa_tts.sh -d Kitchen -e speak:'Hello-I-can-talk-now'. (link https://forums.homeseer.com/forum/homes ... tant/page7)
A very simple guide to setting TTS for Alexa can be found here https://www.machinon.com/post/autonomous-tts-with-alexa
Once setup I then ran into a problem of Alex converting spaces to underscore (for alexa.amazon.co.uk) e.g. "Hellounderscorethisunderscore..." The fix (for the moment) is to insert a hyphen between each word e.g. ./alexa_tts.sh -d Kitchen -e speak:'Hello-I-can-talk-now'. (link https://forums.homeseer.com/forum/homes ... tant/page7)
-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Sunday 03 December 2017 23:02
- Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
This works great.
can you combine a speak and sound effect command?
this did not work > ./Alexa_tts.sh -e sound:amzn_sfx_trumpet_bugle_04, speak:'hello', -d 'Kitchen echo'
can you combine a speak and sound effect command?
this did not work > ./Alexa_tts.sh -e sound:amzn_sfx_trumpet_bugle_04, speak:'hello', -d 'Kitchen echo'
Re: Alexa text to speech
how did you do that ? im from NL as well - and have an international amazon account but i keep gettting failed MFA logins (mfa activated oathtool works etc)philchillbill wrote: ↑Wednesday 26 August 2020 23:54 I fixed mine by changing my store from .de to .co.uk. No idea why it even worked with .de because my account is indeed .co.uk. And .de worked for a few months with MFA. Anyway, solved.
DM2021.1 (pri+sec) VM/RPI4. Dashticz @touchscreen. IT: Dell ESXi cluster, UPS, fiber+4g WAN. Smart: Aeotec/Neo/Qubino/Eurotronic zwave, Philips Hue, P1, rfxom433, OTGW, ITHO WiFi, Shelly shutter/water sens, NEST v3, 9x Alexa
- philchillbill
- Posts: 399
- Joined: Monday 12 September 2016 13:47
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Eindhoven. NL
- Contact:
Re: Alexa text to speech
In the script towards the beginning:
SET_AMAZON='amazon.co.uk'
SET_ALEXA='alexa.amazon.co.uk'
Alexa skills author: EvoControl, Statereport, MediaServer, LMS-lite
Re: Alexa text to speech
thanks - tried it but no luck... did you login on the DM machine prior with browser so it recognizes your instance? i still get the captcha and MFA etc.philchillbill wrote: ↑Sunday 07 March 2021 18:58In the script towards the beginning:
SET_AMAZON='amazon.co.uk'
SET_ALEXA='alexa.amazon.co.uk'
DM2021.1 (pri+sec) VM/RPI4. Dashticz @touchscreen. IT: Dell ESXi cluster, UPS, fiber+4g WAN. Smart: Aeotec/Neo/Qubino/Eurotronic zwave, Philips Hue, P1, rfxom433, OTGW, ITHO WiFi, Shelly shutter/water sens, NEST v3, 9x Alexa
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest