Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz Topic is solved

Moderator: leecollings

User avatar
pgielen
Posts: 90
Joined: Monday 18 February 2019 14:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Boxmeer
Contact:

Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by pgielen »

Image

The ESP32CAM is a simple <€10 DIY cam that does not need to "phone home to China". The stream can be read directly in the browser with no user or password needed. It seems Home Assistant can work with that, but I didn't get Domoticz to accept it. With some empty fields and a url that consists of only "." (current folder) in the Camera Settings, the Test Connection button shows the the stream:

Image

But after saving the settings, the stream is not found anymore:

Image

Also, a snapshot can not be taken. How can I fix this? Could it be possible to fix this?

For instructions on assembling and programming the ESP32CAM, see https://randomnerdtutorials.com/esp32-c ... assistant/
https://robothuis.nl, RPi4B, RFXCOM XL, Aeotec Z-Stick, ESP Easy, Weatherstation, several switches and sensors, Ikea Trädfri, Philips Hue, Foscam, Reolink, Lyric T6, Ring
WimT
Posts: 3
Joined: Thursday 15 December 2016 16:52
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Latest B
Location: Rijssen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by WimT »

As far as i know the ESP-32 cam is working with:

http://192.168.1.20:81/stream
http://192.168.1.20/capture
http://192.168.1.20/status

So i fixed the stream with the next configuration.
screenshot domoticz esp32-cam.PNG
screenshot domoticz esp32-cam.PNG (240.44 KiB) Viewed 20170 times
For me the stream is working.
Bur for unknown reason the screenshot function gives a .jpg file to save, but the content is not a picture.

With kind regards,
WimT
User avatar
pgielen
Posts: 90
Joined: Monday 18 February 2019 14:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Boxmeer
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by pgielen »

That doesn't work for me. What software did you flash on the ESP32?

Of course the ultimate goal here is to find a way to implement IF (event (motion. light, whatever)) THEN trigger Action (take snapshot, send stream, etc.)
https://robothuis.nl, RPi4B, RFXCOM XL, Aeotec Z-Stick, ESP Easy, Weatherstation, several switches and sensors, Ikea Trädfri, Philips Hue, Foscam, Reolink, Lyric T6, Ring
WimT
Posts: 3
Joined: Thursday 15 December 2016 16:52
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Latest B
Location: Rijssen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by WimT »

I used the website https://robotzero.one/esp32-cam-arduino-ide/
The software came up with the arduino tool, so called "CameraWebServer", i cannot find a version number.
My board is a ESP32-S AI-Thinker.

Kind regards,
WimT
User avatar
pgielen
Posts: 90
Joined: Monday 18 February 2019 14:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Boxmeer
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by pgielen »

WimT wrote: Sunday 23 June 2019 13:41 I used the website https://robotzero.one/esp32-cam-arduino-ide/
The software came up with the arduino tool, so called "CameraWebServer", i cannot find a version number.
Thanks, flashed it and it works!
https://robothuis.nl, RPi4B, RFXCOM XL, Aeotec Z-Stick, ESP Easy, Weatherstation, several switches and sensors, Ikea Trädfri, Philips Hue, Foscam, Reolink, Lyric T6, Ring
freijn
Posts: 536
Joined: Friday 23 December 2016 16:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Netherlands Purmerend
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by freijn »

So , anything useful with the face recognition done ?
Arfa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 30 June 2019 18:20
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by Arfa »

OK. So I have Domoticz installed on a Win10 PC. I have two ESP32 Cam boards, both of which appear on my network, and can be viewed locally in Chrome browser windows. Using Setup>More Options>Cameras >Add Camera in Domoticz and then filling in address, port, and "capture" as the image URL, the stream appears ok for both cameras on the two different addresses. When these are saved, they then appear in a list on that page, and if the "Stream Video" icon (spherical camera) is clicked for either, a live stream is displayed. So far, so good …

But having got to that stage, what do I do next to make these devices visible to the outside world ? I have Domoticz installed on my iPhone and can log into my dashboard page, but cannot reach the page where the cameras appear on my PC. A bunch of little squares with no icons in them appear on the left side of the screen, and these would seem to correspond to the buttons under "setup" on the PC app. However, the fourth one down which should be "More Options" from where you would be able to get to "Cameras", does nothing. Am I doing something wrong, anyone ? Or better yet, how can I get the 'found' cameras in my list, to somewhere else in Domoticz that can be seen by the remote iPhone app?

I'm not computer 'dumb' by any means, but I'm not at all experienced in networks and remote viewing and home automation.

Thanks to anyone that can point me the right way

Geoff
User avatar
beamzer
Posts: 19
Joined: Sunday 17 August 2014 20:18
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: stable
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by beamzer »

freijn wrote: Sunday 23 June 2019 16:06 So , anything useful with the face recognition done ?
This is a nice post about using the face recognition with home automation: https://robotzero.one/esp32-face-door-entry/
Domoticz stable on a Raspberry Pi 3
RFXtrx433E - RFLink - Smartmeter (through RasPi-Zero-W) - Hue - BMP180 - DHT22 - Wemos D1 Mini's with PIR
freijn
Posts: 536
Joined: Friday 23 December 2016 16:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Netherlands Purmerend
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by freijn »

Thanks for the usefull link!
megamarco83
Posts: 107
Joined: Friday 21 September 2018 15:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by megamarco83 »

Hi, i have a similar problem.
i succes on compyling the code, but i go to my browser and i set the IP addres of m camera, i click to start streaming, but i can't see nothing, only a small black box with a red "x" on the upper corner
what i should do?
thanks
Image
Arfa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 30 June 2019 18:20
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by Arfa »

I had this when trying to view in Internet Explorer. In Chrome, it was fine
megamarco83
Posts: 107
Joined: Friday 21 September 2018 15:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by megamarco83 »

Arfa wrote: Friday 09 August 2019 2:03 I had this when trying to view in Internet Explorer. In Chrome, it was fine
hi, thanks for replay, also i betted to brawser, but i change to Internet Explorer to mozzilla firefox and also to chrome, but nothing change.
if i click on start streaming inseide web page of camera, i see a black windows with in upper right corner a red "x" nothing else.
what should i do to solve?
thanks
User avatar
pgielen
Posts: 90
Joined: Monday 18 February 2019 14:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Boxmeer
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by pgielen »

Arfa wrote: Sunday 30 June 2019 18:58 I have Domoticz installed on my iPhone
If you are using the Domoticz Home Automation app by HNO Mobile Games: try updating it. The previous version had a bug in it and could not show any camera images because of a change in Domoticz authorization procedures, according to the author. I currently have the Lite (free) version of this app on my Android phone. It does not show a live stream, however, but snapshots that are updated at an interval of -in my case- 90 seconds, which should be much faster.

If you want to access the camera directly in the browser, from outside your home, you need to set up port forwarding on you router.

Pierre
https://robothuis.nl, RPi4B, RFXCOM XL, Aeotec Z-Stick, ESP Easy, Weatherstation, several switches and sensors, Ikea Trädfri, Philips Hue, Foscam, Reolink, Lyric T6, Ring
megamarco83
Posts: 107
Joined: Friday 21 September 2018 15:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by megamarco83 »

pgielen wrote: Friday 09 August 2019 11:06 I currently have the Lite (free) version of this app on my Android phone. It does not show a live stream, however, but snapshots that are updated at an interval of -in my case- 90 seconds, which should be much faster.

If you want to access the camera directly in the browser, from outside your home, you need to set up port forwarding on you router.

Pierre
hi, how you set snaphot interval 90seconds?

and do you know why my esp32 show a black image with every internet browser tested?
thanks
Arfa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 30 June 2019 18:20
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by Arfa »

Thanks. I have port forwarding set up. My ultimate aim was to be able to view live streams with motion detection on my phone from anywhere. I have since found another piece of free software that does this unconditionally and without issue first time every time and was very simple to set up. I will however persevere with Domoticz as it would be nice to have the home automation aspect along with the camera feeds
megamarco83
Posts: 107
Joined: Friday 21 September 2018 15:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by megamarco83 »

can you please share the link of this software? thanks
Arfa
Posts: 4
Joined: Sunday 30 June 2019 18:20
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by Arfa »

https://www.netcamstudio.com/Download

Free version works just fine
waterworld
Posts: 1
Joined: Sunday 11 August 2019 12:03
Target OS: Windows
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by waterworld »

Grabbing snapshots from RTSP-stream with script based on 'ffmpeg'
Cams that spit out a RTSP-stream (Real Time Streaming Protocol) won't work in Domoticz.
With this script you can grab snapshots from a RTSP-stream. It uses 'ffmpeg' to open the RTSP-stream and grab a snapshot from it.
You still can't use it directly in Domoticz, but if you want to grab a snapshot when the doorbell is pressed for example, this script will do so (outside of Domoticz).

bad news is, Tasmota Stream is not support by domoticz yet.
EddyG
Posts: 1042
Joined: Monday 02 November 2015 5:54
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by EddyG »

waterworld wrote: Wednesday 27 January 2021 5:02 Grabbing snapshots from RTSP-stream with script based on 'ffmpeg'
Cams that spit out a RTSP-stream (Real Time Streaming Protocol) won't work in Domoticz.
With this script you can grab snapshots from a RTSP-stream. It uses 'ffmpeg' to open the RTSP-stream and grab a snapshot from it.
You still can't use it directly in Domoticz, but if you want to grab a snapshot when the doorbell is pressed for example, this script will do so (outside of Domoticz).

bad news is, Tasmota Stream is not support by domoticz yet.
Or you use code that can produce an rtsp stream AND has a jpg output.
The only problem with stream AND jpg is that the update frequency of the jpg is approx. 1 frame per 2 seconds. I can live with that.
The ESP32 just has not enough power to supply more jpg frames per second.
I use the rtsp stream for my synology NAS and surveillance software, so recording can be 24x7, and the jpg for Domoticz.
hoeby
Posts: 528
Joined: Saturday 02 June 2018 11:05
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: V2022.1
Location: Echt, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP32CAM in Domoticz

Post by hoeby »

Sorry, wrong message
Thin-client --> Docker Domoticz main environment
Pi3A+ --> Google home (GAssistPi)
Pi3B+ --> Docker (P1monitor, Domoticz test environment, Ubiquity controller)
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest