IFTTT and Domoticz
Moderators: leecollings, remb0
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Sunday 15 October 2017 6:13
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 3.9224
- Location: Australia
- Contact:
IFTTT and Domoticz
Hi all,
I am hoping it's possible to setup Domoticz so that when a switch is triggered (for example) it will also run an IFTTT applet. Essentially what I am hoping to do is control a Sonoff wifi switch this way rather than trying to flash alternative firmware via an Adruino. I did find some Github projects that avoid needing to do this, but don't work if the firmware is above a certain version. I thought controlling via IFTTT could be an easier solution.
I have found the wiki page on IFTTT integration with Domoticz, however I can't find the option in Domoticz to add the API key.
The wiki advises to add the API key in Domoticz under Settings->Notifications->IFTTT. However this doesn't appear to exist in the Beta version I am running (couple of versions behind latest). I did find a thread with the same question as above, and they said they ended up using "Custom HTTP/Action".
Is what I am wanting to do possible? And if so is there a guide or is someone able to assist with the how?
Cheers.
I am hoping it's possible to setup Domoticz so that when a switch is triggered (for example) it will also run an IFTTT applet. Essentially what I am hoping to do is control a Sonoff wifi switch this way rather than trying to flash alternative firmware via an Adruino. I did find some Github projects that avoid needing to do this, but don't work if the firmware is above a certain version. I thought controlling via IFTTT could be an easier solution.
I have found the wiki page on IFTTT integration with Domoticz, however I can't find the option in Domoticz to add the API key.
The wiki advises to add the API key in Domoticz under Settings->Notifications->IFTTT. However this doesn't appear to exist in the Beta version I am running (couple of versions behind latest). I did find a thread with the same question as above, and they said they ended up using "Custom HTTP/Action".
Is what I am wanting to do possible? And if so is there a guide or is someone able to assist with the how?
Cheers.
- waaren
- Posts: 6028
- Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 14:18
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Do you have any specific reason to stay on your current domoticz version ?
Debian buster, bullseye on RPI-4, Intel NUC.
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Sunday 15 October 2017 6:13
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 3.9224
- Location: Australia
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Not at all. I'm currently running v3.8890. I believe latest beta is v3.9052 and am happy to upgrade to that if it will help achieve what I am after.
However the wiki entry was last modified Nov 1 2017, so the version I am running is more recent (Feb 7 2018) than the article.
- waaren
- Posts: 6028
- Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 14:18
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
looking at setup -> settings -> notifications screen in V3.9049
Debian buster, bullseye on RPI-4, Intel NUC.
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 22:13
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: V3.9208
- Location: Rotterdam
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Hi, I think I made happen what you need. With a couple seconds of lag, but that's fine for a most cases.
First, use the EWeLink app to add the Sonoff to your wifi-network so that you will be able to turn the light (or whatever you have connected to it
) on/off from the app.
Then in IFTTT you have to connect 2 integrations: Webhooks(https://ifttt.com/maker_webhooks) and EWeLink(https://ifttt.com/ewelink)
if you go to your webhooks connection and click on Documentation you see a https-url with your secret key. It looks like this:
Then I created two Applets:
Create a Dummy Switch (type: On/Off). Go to 'Edit' on the Dummy Switch and paste the 2 urls in the On and Off sections. I assume you know which to put where
.
When switching the Dummy you set it to either On of Off and it will trigger the related url, triggering IFTTT which triggers the EWeLink app and within 3 seconds your lamp switches on/off.
First, use the EWeLink app to add the Sonoff to your wifi-network so that you will be able to turn the light (or whatever you have connected to it

Then in IFTTT you have to connect 2 integrations: Webhooks(https://ifttt.com/maker_webhooks) and EWeLink(https://ifttt.com/ewelink)
if you go to your webhooks connection and click on Documentation you see a https-url with your secret key. It looks like this:
Code: Select all
https://maker.ifttt.com/trigger/{event}/with/key/dhnasdfasdIOtMfFbV_Khd9dKsdfaMiz5_
- For the IFT I used the Webhooks integration and added the eventname to 'lamp_on' (this is your {event}-name). For the TT I chose the EWeLink connection ('Turn 1 channel switch on or off') and selected my lamp and told it to set it to 'On'. Create action.
So now you have a url that looks like this:Code: Select all
https://maker.ifttt.com/trigger/lamp_on/with/key/dhnasdfasdIOtMfFbV_Khd9dKsdfaMiz5_
- I created a second Applet with the only difference I called it 'lamp_off' and set it to 'Off'. Which results in the following url
Code: Select all
https://maker.ifttt.com/trigger/lamp_off/with/key/dhnasdfasdIOtMfFbV_Khd9dKsdfaMiz5_
Create a Dummy Switch (type: On/Off). Go to 'Edit' on the Dummy Switch and paste the 2 urls in the On and Off sections. I assume you know which to put where

When switching the Dummy you set it to either On of Off and it will trigger the related url, triggering IFTTT which triggers the EWeLink app and within 3 seconds your lamp switches on/off.
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Sunday 15 October 2017 6:13
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 3.9224
- Location: Australia
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Thank you for the detailed reply.
I did manage to get a test running successfully with IFTTT and Domoticz. Still waiting on some stuff to arrive before I do it for real.
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Hi Guys,
I know this thread is a few months old, but it was the first result on Google when I was looking for a solution to this problem.
I wanted a way to have all of my devices available via my Google Home's, but without having to create a million IFTTT applets to do it.
I made a script that makes it quick and easy, which I've published in GitHub here:
https://github.com/dswinton/domo-ifttt
Hopefully this will help someone else looking for a solution to this problem.
I know this thread is a few months old, but it was the first result on Google when I was looking for a solution to this problem.
I wanted a way to have all of my devices available via my Google Home's, but without having to create a million IFTTT applets to do it.
I made a script that makes it quick and easy, which I've published in GitHub here:
https://github.com/dswinton/domo-ifttt
Hopefully this will help someone else looking for a solution to this problem.
-
- Posts: 367
- Joined: Tuesday 31 March 2015 22:06
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.3
- Location: east netherlands
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Can you tell us how to make this work?dswinton wrote: ↑Sunday 12 August 2018 15:04 Hi Guys,
I know this thread is a few months old, but it was the first result on Google when I was looking for a solution to this problem.
I wanted a way to have all of my devices available via my Google Home's, but without having to create a million IFTTT applets to do it.
I made a script that makes it quick and easy, which I've published in GitHub here:
https://github.com/dswinton/domo-ifttt
Hopefully this will help someone else looking for a solution to this problem.
The php is correctly done its job, but then?
-
- Posts: 117
- Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 4.10159
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
hi guys, there are anyone that put a definitive guide how to use ifttt with domoticz for a newbies (for example with a simple lights or google home)?
I looking fot that but found only confused or already created video or text.
Thanks
I looking fot that but found only confused or already created video or text.
Thanks
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge
-
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Saturday 10 March 2018 2:01
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
I use controlicz
In the google home you can add the controlicz service
Controlicz connects to your Domoticz and performs the action for you.
-
- Posts: 117
- Joined: Tuesday 24 October 2017 18:32
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 4.10159
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Hi, thanks for your feedback, but controlicz is a paid service
Domoticz on AsRock j3455-ITX 8gb ram - Aeotec ZWave Usb Stick - RFLink 433Mhz
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge
1x Fibaro Wall Plug
1x Fibaro Motion Sensor
x NeoCoolcam Wall Plug
Netatmo Weather Station - Netatmo Thermostat
Philips Hue Bridge
-
- Posts: 53
- Joined: Saturday 10 March 2018 2:01
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
True, but it works great

-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wednesday 12 June 2019 20:48
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Trying to setup my domoticz to google home mini.
Im inside domoticz using v 4.10915 when i enable IFTT and put the API KEY and Aplly setting i get:
Invalid location settings...
Can someone help me?
Im inside domoticz using v 4.10915 when i enable IFTT and put the API KEY and Aplly setting i get:
Invalid location settings...
Can someone help me?
- waaren
- Posts: 6028
- Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 14:18
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
It's about this location in the settingsdaniellejorge wrote: ↑Wednesday 19 June 2019 17:03 Trying to setup my domoticz to google home mini.
Im inside domoticz using v 4.10915 when i enable IFTT and put the API KEY and Aplly setting i get:
Invalid location settings...
Can someone help me?
Debian buster, bullseye on RPI-4, Intel NUC.
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wednesday 12 June 2019 20:48
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: IFTTT and Domoticz
Omg, you are a god!!! Thank you very much!!!waaren wrote: ↑Wednesday 19 June 2019 18:32It's about this location in the settingsdaniellejorge wrote: ↑Wednesday 19 June 2019 17:03 Trying to setup my domoticz to google home mini.
Im inside domoticz using v 4.10915 when i enable IFTT and put the API KEY and Aplly setting i get:
Invalid location settings...
Can someone help me?
location.png



Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest