EZMOTION

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz

Moderator: leecollings

Post Reply
stephgre
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 02 April 2014 16:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

EZMOTION

Post by stephgre »

Hello,

i have the HOMESEER EZMOTION (3 in 1) installed, i receive the temperature and the lux, but i don't find the motion detection.

Does someone use it, and can tell me the procedure ?

Thanks
bob
Posts: 5
Joined: Thursday 08 August 2013 13:03
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by bob »

If your device is similar to mine from a different manufacturer, the motion detection will be seen a switch command (when motion is detected) not a sensor.
stephgre
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 02 April 2014 16:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by stephgre »

hello,

i delete and réintégrate the EZMOTION and i see the switch, i didn't understand it was the motion detection.

Thanks a lot
User avatar
Dnpwwo
Posts: 820
Joined: Sunday 23 March 2014 9:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by Dnpwwo »

Hi,

I'm surprised to see that anyone has these working because I have 3 of them and the PIR does not work with the current Domoticz (v1.1665) as far as I can tell. In the log during start up I see the following for a single device:

Code: Select all

Sat Apr 5 15:19:50 2014 OpenZWave: Value_Added: Node: 20, CommandClass: SENSOR MULTILEVEL, Label: General, Instance: 2
Sat Apr 5 15:19:50 2014 OpenZWave: Value_Added: Node: 20, CommandClass: SENSOR MULTILEVEL, Label: Luminance, Instance: 3
Sat Apr 5 15:19:50 2014 OpenZWave: Value_Added: Node: 20, CommandClass: SENSOR MULTILEVEL, Label: Temperature, Instance: 1
Sat Apr 5 15:19:50 2014 OpenZWave: Value_Added: Node: 20, CommandClass: BATTERY, Label: Battery Level, Instance: 1
but only the Luminance and Temperature devices show up in the Devices list, the 'General' (which is the PIR) one drops through the AddValue code and does not get added at all. My devices are the original 'v1' version, can someone who has these working please confirm that their PIR reports itself as 'General' and if not, what does it report itself as?

Are you running these on batteries or or are they powered? Mine are powered and set to stay awake.

The only way I got this working was by changing OpenZWave.cpp so that it treated a 'General' multilevel sensor as a switch, I then turn it off using the 'Off Delay' functionality in Domoticz itself.

Any feedback would be great.
Attachments
OpenZWave.rar
(12.49 KiB) Downloaded 72 times
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. George Bernard Shaw
stephgre
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 02 April 2014 16:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by stephgre »

Hi,

you are right, i can see the swith with my version 1.13xx, but the switch never go to 'ON'. So it doesn't work for me too.

bye
User avatar
Dnpwwo
Posts: 820
Joined: Sunday 23 March 2014 9:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by Dnpwwo »

okay, now I know I'm not the only one with this issue I'll post a request to get the device added.

The code I posted will will also make it switch ON although if you have them wired they never switch OFF (by design) so you need to do that in domoticz itself
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. George Bernard Shaw
User avatar
gizmocuz
Posts: 2486
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Top of the world
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by gizmocuz »

Dnpwwo
Thanks for the patch, it will be included in the next beta version.

One part i did not include, that was the part of line staring 1506,
this because the 'SendSwitch' function should change the internal device state.
Does the SendSwitch function changes this correctly for the 'General' Type ?

With kind regards,
Rob
Quality outlives Quantity!
User avatar
Dnpwwo
Posts: 820
Joined: Sunday 23 March 2014 9:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by Dnpwwo »

Hi Rob,

Thanks for looking at this.

I updated svn and rebuilt to see if it worked but unfortunately you pasted the 'General' code into the wrong part of AddValue. It needs to go under COMMAND_CLASS_SENSOR_MULTILEVEL but you've pasted it under COMMAND_CLASS_METER, understandable given that it is one long chain of 'if' statements :)

As for the '1506' code, when the Ezmotion is powered externally (the only practical way to use it) it only sends motion events which means we just see a series of 'On' Node Events but never any 'Off' events so only a single notification is ever sent to Domoticz using the exiting logic. When I've used these devices with other automation products I've just reset the PIR to 'Off' periodically (say every 30 or 60 seconds) allowing the next 'On' to be handled as a normal sensor value change.

With Domoiticz I thought I could do the same thing with the 'Off Delay' but it didn't work. The sensor correctly showed 'Off' on screen but because the ZWaveBase layer didn't know Domoticz had changed the value this code:

Code: Select all

	if (pDevice->intvalue==nintvalue)
	{
		return; //dont send/update same value
	}
continues to ignore subsequent 'On' Node Events and the Motion Sensor never triggers.

I can understand why you only want to send all changes to the Domoticz core but the only other way to do it is to make Domoticz propagate all externally initiated changes back to ZWave so that the existing code can make the correct decisions. This logic seems to exist and in fact the WriteToHardware function calls SwitchLight at the right time to do this but GetValueByCommandClass seems to fail which makes me think my logic to create the device is flawed.

Any thoughts?
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. George Bernard Shaw
User avatar
Dnpwwo
Posts: 820
Joined: Sunday 23 March 2014 9:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by Dnpwwo »

Ok, nailed it.

Just needed to add handling for the PIR device in three places:
  • AddValue to accept the "general" sensor type 'as is' (but not change the command class).
  • UpdateNodeEvent looks for MultiLevel Sensors as it's last attempt
  • SwitchLight changed to treat Binary and Multi Sensors the same way and propagate changes back to ZWave
These are all additions so should be backwards compatible.

For motion detection to work for wired instances an 'Off Delay' is required to clear the motion events, devices using batteries should just work out of the box.
Attachments
OpenZWave.rar
v1.1677 Updated
(12.31 KiB) Downloaded 79 times
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. George Bernard Shaw
stephgre
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 02 April 2014 16:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by stephgre »

Hi,

now i see the motion sensor, does someone has made a scene to send a message or something like an alarm when the motion sensor detect something ? i don't see how to do that.

Thanks
User avatar
Dnpwwo
Posts: 820
Joined: Sunday 23 March 2014 9:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by Dnpwwo »

I think what you are looking for is under "Setup" \ "More Options" \ "Events", the 'blocky' editor will allow you to do a number of things.

If you are specifically after a an alarm notification, you could just set it up using the 'Notifications' button on the device itself in the Switches tab.
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man. George Bernard Shaw
stephgre
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 02 April 2014 16:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by stephgre »

Hi,

it's ok, this is working with 'Notifications', i'm going to look the blocky editor.

Thanks
stephgre
Posts: 6
Joined: Wednesday 02 April 2014 16:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by stephgre »

Hi,

i've test also the blocky editor, it's working nice.

Just a little bug, is on the battery level, for the lux indicator, i have 79% of battery and for the temperature indicator i have 60% of battery.

Thanks
floris74
Posts: 75
Joined: Sunday 30 November 2014 8:41
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Hoorn, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by floris74 »

Dnpwwo wrote:Ok, nailed it.

Just needed to add handling for the PIR device in three places:
  • AddValue to accept the "general" sensor type 'as is' (but not change the command class).
  • UpdateNodeEvent looks for MultiLevel Sensors as it's last attempt
  • SwitchLight changed to treat Binary and Multi Sensors the same way and propagate changes back to ZWave
These are all additions so should be backwards compatible.

For motion detection to work for wired instances an 'Off Delay' is required to clear the motion events, devices using batteries should just work out of the box.
Hi,

I received this 3-1 sensor. I have the sensor in my network but it doesn't update any value, like temp, lux, or motion. can somebody help me with this?
dijkdj
Posts: 63
Joined: Saturday 07 March 2015 22:10
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by dijkdj »

Motion works for me lux is a fixed value
floris74
Posts: 75
Joined: Sunday 30 November 2014 8:41
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Hoorn, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by floris74 »

Hi DIjkdj,

How did you fix that? can you help me with it?

Floris
mark.sellwood
Posts: 102
Joined: Tuesday 04 March 2014 10:33
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: EZMOTION

Post by mark.sellwood »

Hi,

Has anyone got this working?
When I include it I get 3 devices, Temp, Lux & Lighting 2.
The LUX value hasn't updated since I included it, the Temp gets updated if i press the blue button on the side but it never reports motion.

I'm on 3530.

Any info would be good.

Mark
3 x Pi, 1 Master, 2 Slaves, 1x Aeotec Z-Stick S2, 4xSP103 PIR, 5xPowerNode 1, 1xSmart Energy Switch Gen5, 4xFGSS101 Smoke Sensor, 2xFGD212, 9xFGS212 , 7xFGS221/2, 1xAD142 , 1xTKB TZ68E , 2xAeotec Multi Sensor, 3 x NodOn CRC-3-1-00.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest