Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Moderator: leecollings

scheveningen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 07 July 2016 10:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by scheveningen »

Hello,

I installed the Homebridge, all went well and it is working now. I use app Insteon+ and the app detect the homebridge.
Till hire no problems. So I want to install a plugin, in my case the Sonos plugin. No problem of errors.

pi@raspberrypi:~/homebridge$ sudo npm install -g homebridge-sonos
[email protected] /usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge-sonos
├── [email protected]
└── [email protected] ([email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected])

But now the problem. I edit the config.json and start homebridge.

[Sat Jul 02 2016 16:49:32 GMT+0000 (UTC)] Loaded plugin: homebridge-sonos
[Sat Jul 02 2016 16:49:32 GMT+0000 (UTC)] Registering accessory 'homebridge-sonos.Sonos'
[Sat Jul 02 2016 16:49:32 GMT+0000 (UTC)] ---
[Sat Jul 02 2016 16:49:32 GMT+0000 (UTC)] Loaded config.json with 0 accessories and 1 platforms.
[Sat Jul 02 2016 16:49:32 GMT+0000 (UTC)] ---

Loaded config.json with 0 accessories and 1 platforms. <-- the problem. I'm all new to this so I know for sure I made a small stupid mistake. But I can not figure out what the problem is. Below the config.json

Code: Select all

{
 "platform": "Domoticz",
 "name": "Domoticz",
 "server": "127.0.0.1",
 "port": "8080"
 }],
 "accessories": [
 {
 "accessory": "Sonos",
 "name": "Bedroom Speakers",
 "room": "Woonkamer"
 }
 ]
scheveningen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 07 July 2016 10:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by scheveningen »

Well I found the problem regarding the sonos plugin. I edit the wrong config.json......
I need to edit the config.json in /home/pi/.homebridge/
But when I try to edit it, I get the error [ Error writing /home/pi/.homebridge/config.json: Permission denied ]

second problem, I'm using SSH for login. Now I instald the desktop option. In raspi-config I selected B4
desktop autologin desktop GUI, automatically logged in as "pi" user. But I still get the log in screen and
User pi
pass ****

wont work, but it will work when I connect using SSH
trixwood

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by trixwood »

file permission or owner is probably wrong, change that (look up chmod, chown with google) or just use sudo from the terminal to edit. e.g.

Code: Select all

sudo nano /home/pi/.homebridge/config.json
or

Code: Select all

sudo vi /home/pi/.homebridge/config.json
or whatever you use as a text editor instead of nano or vi.

can't help you with the desktop thing, you should probably ask that on the raspberry pi forum.
scheveningen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 07 July 2016 10:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by scheveningen »

trixwood wrote:file permission or owner is probably wrong, change that (look up chmod, chown with google) or just use sudo from the terminal to edit. e.g.

Code: Select all

sudo nano /home/pi/.homebridge/config.json
or

Code: Select all

sudo vi /home/pi/.homebridge/config.json
or whatever you use as a text editor instead of nano or vi.

can't help you with the desktop thing, you should probably ask that on the raspberry pi forum.
sorry for the late replay, but it works thanks to your reaction! Big thanks for that :!:

I have juist one small problem. I can start homebridge with the sonos plugin. And it is working fine.
But when I do,

Code: Select all

sudo service --status-all
I get this list,

+ ] dhcpcd
[ + ] domoticz.sh
[ + ] dphys-swapfile
[ + ] fake-hwclock
[ + ] hdparm
[ - ] homebridge
[ - ] hostname.sh
[ - ] hwclock.sh
[ + ] kbd
[ + ] keyboard-setup

It seems to be that homebridge is not running?
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Marci »

See the “Run in Background as Service” section of viewtopic.php?f=36&t=10272 - the instructions are generic for this regardless of the plugin.

But do note, the homebridge-sonos plugin has nothing at all to do with Domoticz, so really you should be asking for help about that over at https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge-sonos/issues - if using the homebridge-sonos plugin you’re connecting directly to Sonos, bypassing Domoticz.

If you want to connect to the Sonos THRU Domoticz then you need to use the homebridge-edomoticz plugin.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
scheveningen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 07 July 2016 10:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by scheveningen »

Marci wrote:See the “Run in Background as Service” section of viewtopic.php?f=36&t=10272 - the instructions are generic for this regardless of the plugin.
Thank you for your replay. I follow the steps for "run in background" I need option 3 because is used the clean install mode using the Jessy image. I created a new dir homebridge and install hombridge. And it is functional. Just the part "run in background" is tiny problem. I follow the steps and now I get this error message. So what now?

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo systemctl status homebridge.service -l
● homebridge.service - HomeBridge Service
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/homebridge.service; enabled)
Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since ma 2016-08-08 20:56:53 CEST; 48s ago
Process: 497 ExecStart=/usr/bin/homebridge (code=exited, status=203/EXEC)
Main PID: 497 (code=exited, status=203/EXEC)

aug 08 20:56:53 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Starting HomeBridge Service...
aug 08 20:56:53 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Started HomeBridge Service.
aug 08 20:56:53 raspberrypi systemd[497]: Failed at step EXEC spawning /usr/bin/homebridge: No such file or directory
aug 08 20:56:53 raspberrypi systemd[1]: homebridge.service: main process exited, code=exited, status=203/EXEC
aug 08 20:56:53 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Unit homebridge.service entered failed state.
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Marci »

Path to homebridge incorrect in homebridge.service... Hence the 'no such file or directory' errors. Try changing paths to /usr/local/bin/homebridge, or /usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/bin/homebridge
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
scheveningen
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 07 July 2016 10:51
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by scheveningen »

Marci wrote:Try changing paths to /usr/local/lib/node_modules/homebridge/bin/homebridge
Its working! Thank you for your help!

● homebridge.service - HomeBridge Service
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/homebridge.service; enabled)
Active: active (running) since di 2016-08-09 21:52:08 CEST; 39s ago
Main PID: 492 (homebridge)
CGroup: /system.slice/homebridge.service
└─492 homebridge
maikelske
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday 30 September 2016 10:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by maikelske »

hi,

can somebody help me.

i'm new to domoticz and homekit.
when i start homekit i get a error that the scrips start is missing.
can some one tell me how i can fix this?

thxs,

maikel
niwreg
Posts: 25
Joined: Thursday 19 February 2015 11:33
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by niwreg »

Hi I ran into a problem when i try to pair an new phone to the excisting homebridge.

The new phone updated to the latest IOS can not find the homebridge, not in the Home app as EVE, the logs say it is running an another phone wich was paired before has no trouble at all.

Why won't my phone find the homebridge? It is connected to the same wifi etc.
v40jlt4
Posts: 20
Joined: Saturday 24 January 2015 13:22
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2021.1
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by v40jlt4 »

maikelske wrote:hi,

can somebody help me.

i'm new to domoticz and homekit.
when i start homekit i get a error that the scrips start is missing.
can some one tell me how i can fix this?

thxs,

maikel
I just spend a few hours having the same issue.

The wiki assumes homebridge is not installed but the most recent rPi2 images have homebridge installed, but in a different location!
The wiki does mention the fact that in the case you have that more recent image, you should skip to "configure", but as of that point the wiki cannot be used. Should be adapted,

It assumes homebridge to be installed in /home/pi/homebridge, but it's in /usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge

you can try to apply the wiki directions there. But you might have to change permissions:

cd /usr/lib/node_modules/
sudo chown -R pi homebridge

npm run start still gave the start script missing error.
That's because there's no start in package.json.
So I tried npm run dev (there's a dev in there).

Now it works with the new ios10 "woning" app.
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Marci »

Ignore the massively out of date wiki, follow instructions for the image version in first post of the homebridge-edomoticz thread. These instructions cater for all the images' oddities.
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
maikelske
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday 30 September 2016 10:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by maikelske »

v40jlt4 wrote:
maikelske wrote:hi,

can somebody help me.

i'm new to domoticz and homekit.
when i start homekit i get a error that the scrips start is missing.
can some one tell me how i can fix this?

thxs,

maikel
I just spend a few hours having the same issue.

The wiki assumes homebridge is not installed but the most recent rPi2 images have homebridge installed, but in a different location!
The wiki does mention the fact that in the case you have that more recent image, you should skip to "configure", but as of that point the wiki cannot be used. Should be adapted,

It assumes homebridge to be installed in /home/pi/homebridge, but it's in /usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge

you can try to apply the wiki directions there. But you might have to change permissions:

cd /usr/lib/node_modules/
sudo chown -R pi homebridge

npm run start still gave the start script missing error.
That's because there's no start in package.json.
So I tried npm run dev (there's a dev in there).

Now it works with the new ios10 "woning" app.
thank you!
i'm going to try it today.

thxs,

maikel
possible
Posts: 18
Joined: Monday 10 October 2016 22:06
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by possible »

Hi guys,

I am also new with Domoticz.

Hardware:
Raspberry Pi 2
Installed Rasbian newest version. Jessie

I updated everything with apt-get commands.
I followed the following commands:

sudo curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_0.12 | bash -
sudo apt-get install nodejs
sudo apt-get install libkrb5-dev
sudo apt-get install libavahi-compat-libdnssd-dev

Command sudo curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_0.12 | bash - did not work. (Permission errors??) So i changed it to:
curl --silent --location https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_0.12 | sudo bash -

so far so good.. However I am getting errors with :
sudo npm install -g homebridge && sudo npm install -g forever command.

It first starts with:
gyp WARN EACCES user "root" does not have permission to access the dev dir "/root/.node-gyp/0.12.16"

but coninues with:
gyp WARN EACCES attempting to reinstall using temporary dev dir "/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/mdns/.node-gyp"
make: Entering directory '/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/mdns/build'

entire code:

Code: Select all

gyp ERR! cwd /usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum
gyp ERR! node -v v0.12.16
gyp ERR! node-gyp -v v3.3.1
gyp ERR! not ok
node-pre-gyp ERR! build error
node-pre-gyp ERR! stack Error: Failed to execute '/usr/bin/nodejs /usr/lib/node_modules/npm/node_modules/node-gyp/bin/node-gyp.js build --fallback-to-build --module=/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum/binding/bignum.node --module_name=bignum --module_path=/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum/binding' (1)
node-pre-gyp ERR! stack     at ChildProcess.<anonymous> (/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum/node_modules/node-pre-gyp/lib/util/compile.js:83:29)
node-pre-gyp ERR! stack     at ChildProcess.emit (events.js:110:17)
node-pre-gyp ERR! stack     at maybeClose (child_process.js:1019:16)
node-pre-gyp ERR! stack     at Process.ChildProcess._handle.onexit (child_process.js:1091:5)
node-pre-gyp ERR! System Linux 4.4.21-v7+
node-pre-gyp ERR! command "node" "/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum/node_modules/.bin/node-pre-gyp" "install" "--fallback-to-build"
node-pre-gyp ERR! cwd /usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum
node-pre-gyp ERR! node -v v0.12.16
node-pre-gyp ERR! node-pre-gyp -v v0.6.30
node-pre-gyp ERR! not ok
Failed to execute '/usr/bin/nodejs /usr/lib/node_modules/npm/node_modules/node-gyp/bin/node-gyp.js build --fallback-to-build --module=/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum/binding/bignum.node --module_name=bignum --module_path=/usr/lib/node_modules/homebridge/node_modules/hap-nodejs/node_modules/srp/node_modules/bignum/binding' (1)
npm ERR! Linux 4.4.21-v7+
npm ERR! argv "/usr/bin/node" "/usr/bin/npm" "install" "-g" "homebridge"
npm ERR! node v0.12.16
npm ERR! npm  v2.15.1
npm ERR! code ELIFECYCLE

npm ERR! [email protected] install: `node-pre-gyp install --fallback-to-build`
npm ERR! Exit status 1
npm ERR!
npm ERR! Failed at the [email protected] install script 'node-pre-gyp install --fall
npm ERR! This is most likely a problem with the bignum package,
npm ERR! not with npm itself.
npm ERR! Tell the author that this fails on your system:
npm ERR!     node-pre-gyp install --fallback-to-build
npm ERR! You can get information on how to open an issue for this project with:
npm ERR!     npm bugs bignum
npm ERR! Or if that isn't available, you can get their info via:
npm ERR!
npm ERR!     npm owner ls bignum
npm ERR! There is likely additional logging output above.

npm ERR! Please include the following file with any support request:
Is there anyone who can help me with this?
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Marci »

See tutorial in the eDomoticz thread, and instructions on the homebridge GitHub page:

Code: Select all

sudo npm install -g homebridge --unsafe-perm
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
Tharland
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 05 October 2016 16:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Tharland »

i have installed homebridge, and i see my accessories but when i speak to siri she doenst understand what to do... how i i activate siri to turn on lights ?
User avatar
Marci
Posts: 531
Joined: Friday 22 January 2016 18:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.8153
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Marci »

'Hey Siri, turn on {name of device}'
Extended Domoticz homebridge-plugin for latest Homebridge - adds temp/humidity/pressure sensors, power consumption sensors, DarkSkies virtual weather station support, YouLess Meter support, general % usage support & switch/lamp status checking!
Tharland
Posts: 7
Joined: Wednesday 05 October 2016 16:02
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by Tharland »

Marci wrote:'Hey Siri, turn on {name of device}'
thanks! maybe should change siri to english, simplier :)
User avatar
deejc
Posts: 168
Joined: Tuesday 22 September 2015 18:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.5641
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by deejc »

Try http://hey-siri.io for all the commands Siri understands


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Domoticz 3.5641 on RPI (Raspbian GNU/Linux 8)
robyhood
Posts: 1
Joined: Tuesday 25 October 2016 16:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 3.5817
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Siri / HomeKit support for Domoticz

Post by robyhood »

Hi there!

I'm quite new to Raspberry, Domoticz and Homebridge. I've been reading this forum since some days to make my domotic system works and until now eveything was working fine.

I'm running Domoticz 3.5817 on a Raspberry Pi model B, with Homebridge installed.

Homebridge is working like a charm, I'm using it to control with Homekit a relay board connected to Rpi's GPIO pins, and in Homekit I control a Philips Hue bridge, too.

Now, I'd like to make Hombridge recognize Domoticz platform to control (and maybe sync the state of) my devices, but something is wrong...

The issue is that homebridge doesn't recognize Domoticz as platform and I'm not able to read it's devices on Homekit app.

This is my config.json file:

Code: Select all

{
    "bridge": {
        "name": "Homebridge",
        "username": "CC:22:3D:E3:CE:30",
        "port": 51826,
        "pin": "031-45-154"
    },

    "description": "This is an example configuration file with one fake accessory and one fake platform. You can use this as a template for creating your own configuration file containing devices you actually own.",

   "platforms": [
   {
      "platform": "Domoticz",
      "name": "Domoticz",
      "server": "127.0.0.1",
      "port": "8080"
   }
   ],

    "accessories": [
    {
        "accessory":      "FakeBulb",
        "name":           "Test lamp",
        "bulb_name":      "Lamp1"
      },
    {
      "accessory": "GPIO",
        "name": "GPIO23",
        "pin": 23,
        "inverted": "false"
    },
    {
      "accessory": "GPIO",
        "name": "GPIO24",
        "pin": 24,
        "inverted": "false"
    },
    {
      "accessory": "GPIO",
        "name": "GPIO25",
        "pin": 25,
        "inverted": "false"
    }
    ],

    "platforms": [
    ]
}
Domoticz is running on the Rpi so the localhost 127.0.0.1 IP is correct and it is running on port 8080, too.

But when I start Homebridge service, I receive the following messages...

Code: Select all

 Loaded config.json with 4 accessories and 0 platforms.

(... snip... snip...)

Loading 0 platforms...
Loading 4 accessories...
I can't figure out what the problem is... I mean, I understand that Homebridge is not loading Domoticz platform, but I can't understand why...

Could you please help me or give me some advice?

Thank you very much.

Roberto.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest