I have a Light Symphony outdoor lighting system which comes with a LAN attached gateway so I can switch lights and my water fountain on and off from a smartphone app. There is also a simple browser interface for setting things up and testing the gateway.
After using the Inspect Element feature of Chrome and sniffing some packets with Wireshark, I discovered the method used is quite simple.
For example, to switch one of the lighting zones on, send "http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3" and to switch that zone off it's "http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=4".
When I send these commands from a browser they work.
I have set up a dummy switch with these url's in the On Action and Off Action boxes but it doesn't work.
When I use Inspect Element I see no evidence of the url being executed. Neither does Wireshark show any traffic to 192.168.1.39 (the address of the Light Symphony gateway).
Am I doing something wrong? How can I get the dummy switch to send the commands?
Feeling stupid...
http on off not working
Moderator: leecollings
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Tuesday 04 February 2014 9:13
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: http on off not working
Thanks but that didn't work. When I did that it came up as an error in the Log:
2015-06-09 10:31:36.765 Error: Error opening url: http:///192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3
Changed it back to just http:// and no error in the log.
Running Wireshark I see traffic between my laptop and Domoticz running on the RPi, but no outbound traffic between Domoticz and the Light Symphony gateway. But that may be because I'm running Wireshark on my laptop and it's not seeing all traffic on my LAN.
I'll try looking a bit deeper into the test packets from the browser access to the gateway to see if I'm missing anything extra in the http call.
2015-06-09 10:31:36.765 Error: Error opening url: http:///192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3
Changed it back to just http:// and no error in the log.
Running Wireshark I see traffic between my laptop and Domoticz running on the RPi, but no outbound traffic between Domoticz and the Light Symphony gateway. But that may be because I'm running Wireshark on my laptop and it's not seeing all traffic on my LAN.
I'll try looking a bit deeper into the test packets from the browser access to the gateway to see if I'm missing anything extra in the http call.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tuesday 09 June 2015 14:43
- Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: http on off not working
Hi, I have the same problem. Did you manage to fix this?
Thanks
Thanks
Re: http on off not working
What version are you running? Using 2.2538, all works finerik82 wrote:Hi, I have the same problem. Did you manage to fix this?
Thanks
Dummy Switch:
On action: http://192.168.24.250:8080/json.htm?typ ... On&level=0
Off action: http://192.168.24.250:8080/json.htm?typ ... ff&level=0
Turns on/off my switch with idx=5
So the mechanism works fine
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Friday 10 July 2015 23:16
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2.2563
- Location: Belgium
- Contact:
Re: http on off not working
I'm also having the same problem.
I'm using 2.2563
When using a http:/// url (3 slashes) I see an error in the log file
When using a http:// url (2 slashes) no error shows up, but the external url is never triggered.
When pasting the url in a simple browser, it works, so I know the url is correct.
Did you ever manage to fix this ?
I'm using 2.2563
When using a http:/// url (3 slashes) I see an error in the log file
When using a http:// url (2 slashes) no error shows up, but the external url is never triggered.
When pasting the url in a simple browser, it works, so I know the url is correct.
Did you ever manage to fix this ?
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Tuesday 04 February 2014 9:13
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: http on off not working
Peterdomo and rik82:
No, I never managed to fix this. I've been playing with this again and here is what I've discovered.
From a browser, when I navigate to http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3 nothing happens. If I try again, i.e. navigate to the same url, or click on refresh, then the Zone 1 light switches on. Same thing for switching off: go to http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=4 twice. Notice that it's a single slash after the IP address, not two or three as previously suggested.
I've tried putting these url's in the On Action and Off Action boxes for my Dummy Switch, but this doesn't work.
I've also tried setting up a simple Blockly Event: If Dummy Switch = On, Open url: http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3, Open url: http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3 (i.e. do it twice) but this also doesn't work.
So it seems the issue to overcome is to get the system to open the correct url twice, possibly with a slight pause between.
Anyone have any ideas? If I can't solve this I'm probably going to scrap the Light Symphony system and replace it with a few simple Home Easy or Lightwaverf components...
No, I never managed to fix this. I've been playing with this again and here is what I've discovered.
From a browser, when I navigate to http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3 nothing happens. If I try again, i.e. navigate to the same url, or click on refresh, then the Zone 1 light switches on. Same thing for switching off: go to http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=4 twice. Notice that it's a single slash after the IP address, not two or three as previously suggested.
I've tried putting these url's in the On Action and Off Action boxes for my Dummy Switch, but this doesn't work.
I've also tried setting up a simple Blockly Event: If Dummy Switch = On, Open url: http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3, Open url: http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3 (i.e. do it twice) but this also doesn't work.
So it seems the issue to overcome is to get the system to open the correct url twice, possibly with a slight pause between.
Anyone have any ideas? If I can't solve this I'm probably going to scrap the Light Symphony system and replace it with a few simple Home Easy or Lightwaverf components...
-
- Posts: 114
- Joined: Saturday 24 August 2013 9:59
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Contact:
Re: http on off not working
Try using domoticz_main (in script folder)
if [ "$devname" = "Lamp1" ] ; then
if [ "$status" = "On" ] ; then
curl -s "http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3"
else
curl -s "http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=4"
fi
fi
if [ "$devname" = "Lamp1" ] ; then
if [ "$status" = "On" ] ; then
curl -s "http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=3"
else
curl -s "http://192.168.1.39/but.cgi?but=4"
fi
fi
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Monday 11 November 2019 16:48
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: http on off not working
Any idea how many people on here are using Light Symphony?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Amazon [Bot] and 0 guests