ESP made easy

Everything about esp8266 and more.

Moderator: leecollings

Toni
Posts: 66
Joined: Monday 20 July 2015 14:12
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by Toni »

Would it be possible to add urldecode for each parameter in the function 'handle_config' in WebServer.ino? For example, my SSID includes a space, and now in the config it's set as 'part1+part2' instead of 'part1 part2'. I'd be happy to contribute if it was a Github project :)
ThinkPad
Posts: 890
Joined: Tuesday 30 September 2014 8:49
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: beta
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by ThinkPad »

Toni wrote:Would it be possible to add urldecode for each parameter in the function 'handle_config' in WebServer.ino? For example, my SSID includes a space, and now in the config it's set as 'part1+part2' instead of 'part1 part2'. I'd be happy to contribute if it was a Github project :)
Good question, my SSID also has a space, and it seems that it can't connect due to that (it says in AP mode).
I am not active on this forum anymore.
Toni
Posts: 66
Joined: Monday 20 July 2015 14:12
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by Toni »

The space issue is actually pretty simple, but generally all parameters should run through the urldecode. Just add the 'ssid.replace' into 'handle_config':

Code: Select all

    strcpy(Settings.Password, tmpstring);
    ssid.replace("+", " ");
    ssid.toCharArray(tmpstring, 26);
    strcpy(Settings.WifiSSID, tmpstring);
User avatar
Mediacj
Posts: 74
Joined: Wednesday 11 February 2015 16:09
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by Mediacj »

Yes that would be a good addition.

My password has two # in it and they are changed to %23%23 with the result that it can't acces my Wifi router anymore. So I have to reset it to get it working again.
rtenklooster
Posts: 36
Joined: Tuesday 23 December 2014 16:20
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by rtenklooster »

R18 is available for download.
Issues with special characters in SSID, WPA, password, etc are fixed in this release.

Please take the download zipfile from sourceforge as we're currently migrating the ESP Easy code tree to github. (and github is not up-to-date yet)

https://sourceforge.net/projects/espeasy/files
tweaker
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 24 August 2015 15:35
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by tweaker »

rtenklooster wrote:
tweaker wrote:I have two ESP unit's running now and I expected to see these units to appear in the node list on each ESP unit with their IP's, but that list is still empty.
The screenshot on sourceforge shows a list of nodes, how to get this?
You should fill-in te UDP port you want to use. As soon as that's filled in they notify eachother. Note: it may require a reboot of the units.
Which port can I use for this ? I just tried 123 and it does work, but does it matter?
mvdbro
Posts: 24
Joined: Saturday 31 January 2015 19:28
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by mvdbro »

tweaker wrote:
rtenklooster wrote:
tweaker wrote:I have two ESP unit's running now and I expected to see these units to appear in the node list on each ESP unit with their IP's, but that list is still empty.
The screenshot on sourceforge shows a list of nodes, how to get this?
You should fill-in te UDP port you want to use. As soon as that's filled in they notify eachother. Note: it may require a reboot of the units.
Which port can I use for this ? I just tried 123 and it does work, but does it matter?
In theory you could use any port between 1-65535, but you should avoid conflicts with other known ports. The ESP will periodically broadcast messages on this port ( to destination ip = 255.255.255.255). So any device listening on the same port will also get these messages. So if you would use 514, your syslog server will get busy with all this traffic. So avoid well known ports for this. (I use 65500)
User avatar
andreo
Posts: 42
Joined: Friday 07 August 2015 21:00
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2024.3
Location: Anna Paulowna, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by andreo »

Pulse counters working perfectly. I used some incremental counters to show the various values but is it possible to change the chart interval time from 1 hour to 1 minute? so i get a more detailed graph of the energy usage.
Latest version of Domoticz and more running on Docker|Raspberry Pi 4-B 8GB Bookworm|RF-Link|Klik Aan Klik Uit|Nefit easy|ESPeasy|P1 power meter|S0PCM-5 through Ser2Net|Alecto WS5500|FrtizBox|Satel Integra|Solis
Greetz Andre.
maluko
Posts: 105
Joined: Sunday 02 February 2014 23:57
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by maluko »

andreo wrote:Pulse counters working perfectly. I used some incremental counters to show the various values but is it possible to change the chart interval time from 1 hour to 1 minute? so i get a more detailed graph of the energy usage.
i think its because is KW/h and not KW/m, every inverter have a 1h of diference, and not live chart.
rtenklooster
Posts: 36
Joined: Tuesday 23 December 2014 16:20
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by rtenklooster »

In case anyone is using pir sensors as actuators for domoticz, we have made a small subdevice.
It's called smart pir. This enables you to control a switch using a pir sensor. It is usable for dimmers and switches, lights dimmers don't get in pende modus because you can select the dimmer and add a value.
You can choose if - and how long the light has to remain on after last motion ended.
Of course this is all easily configurable using your web interfase:
Image
The code is currently being tested and will be available coming week.
aiolos
Posts: 127
Joined: Sunday 13 September 2015 18:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: stable
Location: Nieuwegein, NL
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by aiolos »

Nice work. This weekend I tried ESPeasy on a ESP-12 board with only a ds18b20 temperature sensor. It works like a charm. I was already wondering if there would be a pir sensor available. I will try it when it comes available.
Contributor to Dashticz
More on my Github profile
tweaker
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 24 August 2015 15:35
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by tweaker »

aiolos wrote:Nice work. This weekend I tried ESPeasy on a ESP-12 board with only a ds18b20 temperature sensor. It works like a charm. I was already wondering if there would be a pir sensor available. I will try it when it comes available.
Cool stuff again. But hey, if you don't want to wait for the new release, you can also get it from github
https://github.com/ESP8266nu/ESPEasy/tree/test
tweaker
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 24 August 2015 15:35
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by tweaker »

There's more going on. Looks like we can try things running on lipo with deep sleep support. Better follow this topic http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=55#p877
rtenklooster
Posts: 36
Joined: Tuesday 23 December 2014 16:20
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by rtenklooster »

tweaker wrote:
aiolos wrote:Nice work. This weekend I tried ESPeasy on a ESP-12 board with only a ds18b20 temperature sensor. It works like a charm. I was already wondering if there would be a pir sensor available. I will try it when it comes available.
Cool stuff again. But hey, if you don't want to wait for the new release, you can also get it from github
https://github.com/ESP8266nu/ESPEasy/tree/test
Yes, there is a test branche, but using this is at own risk. So if you're facing problems with those releases, there is no support.
The files in test are far from finished. So you can't say I didn't warned you :)
jendrush
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday 21 May 2014 20:39
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by jendrush »

Is Esp-01 supported? It has 3GPIO, and could be used for simple tasks.
rtenklooster
Posts: 36
Joined: Tuesday 23 December 2014 16:20
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by rtenklooster »

jendrush wrote:Is Esp-01 supported? It has 3GPIO, and could be used for simple tasks.
It is.
Justintime
Posts: 228
Joined: Thursday 21 May 2015 9:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by Justintime »

Nice Project...

I have managed to get the Pulse counter working.
At the moment i have Mysensors running which can show the actual power consumption.

Is it still in the roadmap to implement this? Or has it something to do with Domoticz counter?
tweaker
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 24 August 2015 15:35
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by tweaker »

Justintime wrote:Nice Project...

I have managed to get the Pulse counter working.
At the moment i have Mysensors running which can show the actual power consumption.

Is it still in the roadmap to implement this? Or has it something to do with Domoticz counter?
I think ESP Easy use the incremental counter and it seems that this one does not support actual power value

How does this work with your mysensors device? I guess it should keep track of counting locally on the device. What happens if power is disconnected? Does it start at zero or does it store the data somehow? Maybe this information could help getting it working for the ESPEasy.
Justintime
Posts: 228
Joined: Thursday 21 May 2015 9:08
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Beta
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by Justintime »

tweaker wrote:
Justintime wrote:Nice Project...

I have managed to get the Pulse counter working.
At the moment i have Mysensors running which can show the actual power consumption.

Is it still in the roadmap to implement this? Or has it something to do with Domoticz counter?
I think ESP Easy use the incremental counter and it seems that this one does not support actual power value

How does this work with your mysensors device? I guess it should keep track of counting locally on the device. What happens if power is disconnected? Does it start at zero or does it store the data somehow? Maybe this information could help getting it working for the ESPEasy.
Yes esp uses the incremental counter.

The Mysensors node keeps track of the counting and does the math.

Also when the power is off Domoticz. The Mysensors node keeps counting. When domoticz is online he will update the counter... Off course not set on specific time.
tweaker
Posts: 10
Joined: Monday 24 August 2015 15:35
Target OS: -
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: ESP made easy

Post by tweaker »

Justintime wrote:Yes esp uses the incremental counter.

The Mysensors node keeps track of the counting and does the math.

Also when the power is off Domoticz. The Mysensors node keeps counting. When domoticz is online he will update the counter... Off course not set on specific time.
But I was actually referring to the situation where you power off the Mysensor node. Does it store the counter value in EEPROM or what? If so, would that not wear out eeprom in a short time?
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest