Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
Moderator: remb0
- waltervl
- Posts: 5761
- Joined: Monday 28 January 2019 18:48
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: NL
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
Docker is not that resource heavy at all. So running Domoticz in a Docker container is no problem.
And if you use docker compose updating all containers can be done in one single command line as indicated on the docker wiki page.
And if you use docker compose updating all containers can be done in one single command line as indicated on the docker wiki page.
Domoticz running on Udoo X86 (on Ubuntu)
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2491
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
And you can also install 'Dockge' (in a docker compose container of course!) where you can central manage all your docker compose containers, as well as creating them.
As Walter mentioned, docker is not that resource heave at all, it runs almost natively. (not on a mac)
It also keeps your system clean, you can backup/transfer it easily to another machine, and there are no system dependencies.
Setup of a application (if it is Domoticz, pihole, plex or whatever) is done in minutes!
And almost any application has a docker variant and documentation how to setup.
Give it a few hours to train yourself with it, start with compose files first, next use DockGE, try starting simple
Learn how to convert docker command line to docker compose files (you can do this with DockGE as well)
Maybe start with installing DockGE
To install docker compose issue
As Walter mentioned, docker is not that resource heave at all, it runs almost natively. (not on a mac)
It also keeps your system clean, you can backup/transfer it easily to another machine, and there are no system dependencies.
Setup of a application (if it is Domoticz, pihole, plex or whatever) is done in minutes!
And almost any application has a docker variant and documentation how to setup.
Give it a few hours to train yourself with it, start with compose files first, next use DockGE, try starting simple
Learn how to convert docker command line to docker compose files (you can do this with DockGE as well)
Maybe start with installing DockGE
To install docker compose issue
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
curl -fsSL test.docker.com -o get-docker.sh && sh get-docker.sh
sudo usermod -aG docker ${USER}
sudo systemctl enable docker
sudo reboot
Quality outlives Quantity!
- Varazir
- Posts: 380
- Joined: Friday 20 February 2015 22:23
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
gizmocuz wrote: ↑Saturday 24 May 2025 9:27 And you can also install 'Dockge' (in a docker compose container of course!) where you can central manage all your docker compose containers, as well as creating them.
As Walter mentioned, docker is not that resource heave at all, it runs almost natively. (not on a mac)
It also keeps your system clean, you can backup/transfer it easily to another machine, and there are no system dependencies.
Setup of a application (if it is Domoticz, pihole, plex or whatever) is done in minutes!
And almost any application has a docker variant and documentation how to setup.
Give it a few hours to train yourself with it, start with compose files first, next use DockGE, try starting simple
Learn how to convert docker command line to docker compose files (you can do this with DockGE as well)
Maybe start with installing DockGE
To install docker compose issue
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade curl -fsSL test.docker.com -o get-docker.sh && sh get-docker.sh sudo usermod -aG docker ${USER} sudo systemctl enable docker sudo reboot
Going to buy new SD card and install raspbian os on it.
Domoticz backup folder going to be the Storage outside the docker so I can mount it to my NAS as now I guess.
Raspberry PI 2 with RaZberry Controller 2016 ZWave+ and CC2531(zigbee)
Several IKEA devices/z-wave devices
Several IKEA devices/z-wave devices
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Monday 02 January 2023 15:52
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: Eindhoven
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
Hi,
After reading this post i found out i'm on Raspberry OS 11 (Bullseye).
I want to upgrade and found this on raspberrypi.com;
Upgrade your operating system to a new major version
To update the operating system to a new major release on your Raspberry Pi, image a second SD card with the new release. Use a USB SD card reader or network storage to copy files and configuration from your current installation to the new SD card. Then, swap the new SD card into the slot on your Raspberry Pi, and boot.
Is there any way to upgrade from the command promt (and how)?
If it has to be done as described above; do i need to drag all the contents of the old sd card to the new sd card?
If not; what files?
After reading this post i found out i'm on Raspberry OS 11 (Bullseye).
I want to upgrade and found this on raspberrypi.com;
Upgrade your operating system to a new major version
To update the operating system to a new major release on your Raspberry Pi, image a second SD card with the new release. Use a USB SD card reader or network storage to copy files and configuration from your current installation to the new SD card. Then, swap the new SD card into the slot on your Raspberry Pi, and boot.
Is there any way to upgrade from the command promt (and how)?
If it has to be done as described above; do i need to drag all the contents of the old sd card to the new sd card?
If not; what files?
Raspberry 3B with Raspberry PI OS
- waltervl
- Posts: 5761
- Joined: Monday 28 January 2019 18:48
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: NL
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
There is an OS update instruction link for RPi in the last sentence of the first post of this topic.
Domoticz running on Udoo X86 (on Ubuntu)
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
-
- Posts: 854
- Joined: Sunday 23 February 2014 17:56
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: mixed
- Location: Hengelo(Ov)/NL
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
Sure some functions will depend on a related version of OpenSSL.
But plenty of userprograms probably[?] will never touch it.
is a hint possible what kind of functions will certainly need the shift to OpenSSL3.0, and which not?
Or a hint to some description dealing with that aspect?
But plenty of userprograms probably[?] will never touch it.
is a hint possible what kind of functions will certainly need the shift to OpenSSL3.0, and which not?
Or a hint to some description dealing with that aspect?
Set1 = RPI-Zero+RFXCom433+S0PCM+Shield for BMP180/DS18B20/RS485+DDS238-1ZNs
Set2 = RPI-3A++RFLinkGTW+ESP8266s+PWS_WS7000
Common = KAKUs+3*PVLogger+PWS_TFA_Nexus
plus series of 'satellites' for dedicated interfacing, monitoring & control.
Set2 = RPI-3A++RFLinkGTW+ESP8266s+PWS_WS7000
Common = KAKUs+3*PVLogger+PWS_TFA_Nexus
plus series of 'satellites' for dedicated interfacing, monitoring & control.
- waltervl
- Posts: 5761
- Joined: Monday 28 January 2019 18:48
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: NL
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
The thing is Domoticz 2025.1 beta needs openssl3 if you use it or not.... So if you want to use Domoticz 2025.1 beta and later 2025.2 stable you need an OS that has openSSL3 or use a Docker container. It is that simple.Toulon7559 wrote: ↑Tuesday 27 May 2025 22:54 Sure some functions will depend on a related version of OpenSSL.
But plenty of userprograms probably[?] will never touch it.
is a hint possible what kind of functions will certainly need the shift to OpenSSL3.0, and which not?
Or a hint to some description dealing with that aspect?
Domoticz running on Udoo X86 (on Ubuntu)
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
-
- Posts: 404
- Joined: Wednesday 26 February 2014 15:28
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Location: the Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
I accidentally pressed update and due to the missing openssl 3 the update failed but now Domoticz won't start anymore.
I'm using a Raspberry Pi 2 model b and if I'm right this isn't able to ruin the required Debian version which includes openssl 3. Is that correct?
If so, is it possible to revert back to the previous Domoticz (and if so, how?) Because I need some time to buy new hardware and install the required Debian version on it.
I'm using a Raspberry Pi 2 model b and if I'm right this isn't able to ruin the required Debian version which includes openssl 3. Is that correct?
If so, is it possible to revert back to the previous Domoticz (and if so, how?) Because I need some time to buy new hardware and install the required Debian version on it.
- waltervl
- Posts: 5761
- Joined: Monday 28 January 2019 18:48
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: NL
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
Luckily Domoticz creates a full backup when updating so you can restore to the old situation. See the wiki for instructions: https://wiki.domoticz.com/Raspberry_Pi# ... ect_update
Domoticz running on Udoo X86 (on Ubuntu)
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2491
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
@roblom,
Why would you say that you can't use the latest Raspbian? I am sure you had a look here
https://www.raspberrypi.com/software/operating-systems/
"All Raspberry Pi models"
And you also followed the link from the first post to update your system?
Why would you say that you can't use the latest Raspbian? I am sure you had a look here
https://www.raspberrypi.com/software/operating-systems/
"All Raspberry Pi models"
And you also followed the link from the first post to update your system?
Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 404
- Joined: Wednesday 26 February 2014 15:28
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Location: the Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Domoticz upcoming beta/release and OpenSSL 3.0
Please note that I'm no programmer and only have basic skills regarding this. So the page from the link on the first post here does look far from easy for me.
I thought that the RPi 2b had an ARM processor that only support a Debian version that was to old to work with Domoticz. But looking at your reaction it seems that's incorrect.
So update everything seems the way to go but for me this takes days and a lot of help to finish. That's why I'm interested in a way to install the previous version of Domoticz so my solar generation logging is working again and I can plan and prepare the update.
I thought that the RPi 2b had an ARM processor that only support a Debian version that was to old to work with Domoticz. But looking at your reaction it seems that's incorrect.
So update everything seems the way to go but for me this takes days and a lot of help to finish. That's why I'm interested in a way to install the previous version of Domoticz so my solar generation logging is working again and I can plan and prepare the update.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest