HomeWizard Battery plugin
Moderator: leecollings
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
HomeWizard Battery plugin
I've just created a python plugin for the HomeWizard Battery at https://github.com/etmmvdp/HomeWizard-B ... /tree/main.
See the readme for details how to create a token which is required to run the plugin.
Let me know in case of questions and improvements.
See the readme for details how to create a token which is required to run the plugin.
Let me know in case of questions and improvements.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Friday 29 September 2017 0:50
- Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
great work
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thursday 20 March 2025 17:03
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
thanks, but the totals in the overview are missing
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2488
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Why did you use a P1 smart meter? This is a battery device
You should use generic kWh meters for the totals
You should use generic kWh meters for the totals
Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Yeah, I know the P1 might be seen as a strange design choice. However, the generic kWh meter does not show import and export as separate values, while the P1 meter does.
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
I fixed a bug, the totals were not showing as they were added as kWh values instead of Wh values.
The counter documentation for device 243, subtype 29 is imho incorrect in that regard. See https://wiki.domoticz.com/Developing_a_ ... in#Devices
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2488
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
I think our documentation is pretty accurate as many are using it, but you could be right, but what is wrong with it?
You can create (or actually should) two kWh sensors and use these for the totals of the imported/exported enery/power
This way, you can also use them on the Energy Dashboard
Of course, you can create a dzVents script if you like to still make a P1 meter, but I don't think this should be the default, because... well it just is not a P1 meter
You could make it an option the user can turn on/off maybe? (Simulate a P1 Smart Meter)
But still use two kWh sensors for the totals
You can create (or actually should) two kWh sensors and use these for the totals of the imported/exported enery/power
This way, you can also use them on the Energy Dashboard
Of course, you can create a dzVents script if you like to still make a P1 meter, but I don't think this should be the default, because... well it just is not a P1 meter
You could make it an option the user can turn on/off maybe? (Simulate a P1 Smart Meter)
But still use two kWh sensors for the totals
Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Let's focus on the documentation first, I'll address the P1 meter in a separate answer.
The comment on device type 243, subtype 33 says: "The first number is the actual power in Watt, the second number is actual energy in kWh"
But the second number should be in Wh. This is documented on the P1 meter correctly, a bit further down on the the page.
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2488
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Hmm strange as I read
for instance "123456;78", 123456 being the absolute counter value, 78 being the usage (Wh).
for instance "123456;78", 123456 being the absolute counter value, 78 being the usage (Wh).
Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
The kWh meter "Active Power" is showing the netted import and export energy usage, as wel as it's current power consumption.gizmocuz wrote: ↑Friday 21 March 2025 10:24 ...
You can create (or actually should) two kWh sensors and use these for the totals of the imported/exported enery/power
This way, you can also use them on the Energy Dashboard
Of course, you can create a dzVents script if you like to still make a P1 meter, but I don't think this should be the default, because... well it just is not a P1 meter
You could make it an option the user can turn on/off maybe? (Simulate a P1 Smart Meter)
But still use two kWh sensors for the totals
I'll like the simulated P1 meter option so I'll make that change.
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
.
With close reading I can now see that I should have interpreted the first kWh mentioned as Wh.
Last edited by mvdp on Friday 21 March 2025 11:00, edited 2 times in total.
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2488
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
For almost all (counter) sensors, the first value is the counter, and the second is the usage
So, the documentation is OK? (I did not create the documentation, but it looks OK to me programming wise
)
So, the documentation is OK? (I did not create the documentation, but it looks OK to me programming wise

Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 159
- Joined: Friday 27 May 2016 20:15
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Location: nederland
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
just preordered a battery coming in juli and this is what i was looking for!!
great work!!thank you!
great work!!thank you!
-
- Posts: 210
- Joined: Thursday 12 October 2017 20:46
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Dev
- Location: the Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Gizmocuz I wonder about the comments. I am maintaining the plugin for the Sessy battery and created both Energy and P1 meter. The energy indeed for the energy dashboard but I like the overview on the P1 meter better:
Why do you recommend a separate meter for both consumed and provided energy?
As it states the consumed and provided energy per day.Why do you recommend a separate meter for both consumed and provided energy?
RPi 3, Domoticz dev version, Aeon ZWave stick (with a whole bunch of slaves), Zigbee using Zigbee2MQTT, Nest thermo, P1 smart meter on RPi Zero
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2488
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Well basically as it was not designed for this.
Let's say you have a normal (Dutch?) energy contract, with Piek/Dal tariffs, in the P1 meter report you can see this.
In your case, you don't want to see the two tariffs, you can set the P1 meter in simple mode in the settings.
But this also influences the real P1 meter device.
Maybe if we renamed the P1 smart meter to 'smart meter' and have the option to use 1 or 2 tariffs, it would make better sense
I understand the graphs are nicer and you get a better overview when you have a device that does consumption and delivery
Let's say you have a normal (Dutch?) energy contract, with Piek/Dal tariffs, in the P1 meter report you can see this.
In your case, you don't want to see the two tariffs, you can set the P1 meter in simple mode in the settings.
But this also influences the real P1 meter device.
Maybe if we renamed the P1 smart meter to 'smart meter' and have the option to use 1 or 2 tariffs, it would make better sense
I understand the graphs are nicer and you get a better overview when you have a device that does consumption and delivery
Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sunday 07 October 2018 17:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: Bollenstreek
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Instead of using the P1 device we should add a (Home) Battery device which is providing P1 device like features except for keeping costs and providing 1 set of import and export counters only.
Especially for the HomeWizard Battery there should be no cost involved as it only charges using solar power.
Especially for the HomeWizard Battery there should be no cost involved as it only charges using solar power.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Friday 10 June 2022 23:19
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2025.1
- Location: NL
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
This is really great stuff. I just received 3 batteries and they work great as they were designed. However the p1-senseor is not selectable from the energy dashboard the "active power" sensor is. This sensor shows the Import-Export power of the battery. Since I had 3 batteries i had to sum them and put the result in a "usage electricity" sensor. Similar for the percentage(SOC) sensors. They can both be used in the Energy Dashboard"
Below the lua code for those that are interested:
-->
return {
on = {
timer = {
'every minute' -- causes the script to be called every minute
}
},
logging = {
level = domoticz.LOG_INFO,
marker = 'HWZ_plugin_total',
},
execute = function(domoticz, device, timer)
-- domoticz.log('Timer event was triggered by ' .. timer.trigger, domoticz.LOG_INFO)
local battery1Value = domoticz.devices(199).actualWatt
local battery2Value = domoticz.devices(207).actualWatt
local battery3Value = domoticz.devices(215).actualWatt
local battery1Percentage = domoticz.devices(203).percentage
local battery2Percentage = domoticz.devices(211).percentage
local battery3Percentage = domoticz.devices(219).percentage
-- local battery2Value = 22
-- domoticz.log('Device Precentage found ' .. battery1Percentage .. ' (%)' , domoticz.LOG_INFO)
local totalValue = battery1Value + battery2Value + battery3Value
local totalPercentage = domoticz.utils.round( (battery1Percentage + battery2Percentage + battery3Percentage) / 3 )
domoticz.log('Overal Precentage found ' .. totalPercentage .. ' (%)' , domoticz.LOG_INFO)
-- Set the value on a dummy sensor
-- local totalValue = 1
domoticz.devices('HWZ_PlugBat_Total').updateEnergy(totalValue)
domoticz.devices('HWZ_PlugBat_TSOC').updatePercentage(totalPercentage)
end
}
--<
Below the lua code for those that are interested:
-->
return {
on = {
timer = {
'every minute' -- causes the script to be called every minute
}
},
logging = {
level = domoticz.LOG_INFO,
marker = 'HWZ_plugin_total',
},
execute = function(domoticz, device, timer)
-- domoticz.log('Timer event was triggered by ' .. timer.trigger, domoticz.LOG_INFO)
local battery1Value = domoticz.devices(199).actualWatt
local battery2Value = domoticz.devices(207).actualWatt
local battery3Value = domoticz.devices(215).actualWatt
local battery1Percentage = domoticz.devices(203).percentage
local battery2Percentage = domoticz.devices(211).percentage
local battery3Percentage = domoticz.devices(219).percentage
-- local battery2Value = 22
-- domoticz.log('Device Precentage found ' .. battery1Percentage .. ' (%)' , domoticz.LOG_INFO)
local totalValue = battery1Value + battery2Value + battery3Value
local totalPercentage = domoticz.utils.round( (battery1Percentage + battery2Percentage + battery3Percentage) / 3 )
domoticz.log('Overal Precentage found ' .. totalPercentage .. ' (%)' , domoticz.LOG_INFO)
-- Set the value on a dummy sensor
-- local totalValue = 1
domoticz.devices('HWZ_PlugBat_Total').updateEnergy(totalValue)
domoticz.devices('HWZ_PlugBat_TSOC').updatePercentage(totalPercentage)
end
}
--<
- Attachments
-
- Device_list.png (327.77 KiB) Viewed 257 times
-
- Devices.png (209.33 KiB) Viewed 257 times
-
- Energy_board.png (100.02 KiB) Viewed 257 times
Domoticz running on Pi-4, Ubuntu(amd64), Synology Nas and VM
Hardware: RFXCOM, RFLINK, P1-smartmeter-HomeWizard, Z2M Sonoff dongle(20+ devices), Esp8266 (counters), Eaton_3S ups
Hardware: RFXCOM, RFLINK, P1-smartmeter-HomeWizard, Z2M Sonoff dongle(20+ devices), Esp8266 (counters), Eaton_3S ups
-
- Posts: 210
- Joined: Thursday 12 October 2017 20:46
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Dev
- Location: the Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: HomeWizard Battery plugin
Hey,
In my plugin for Sessy batteries I create an additional device that combines the data of the individual batteries (and also allows to set modes and power setpoints for the set). For the combined batteries to appear on the dashboard correctly it needs a device of type:
Type=243, Subtype=29
or:
type: General, Subtype: kWh
In my plugin for Sessy batteries I create an additional device that combines the data of the individual batteries (and also allows to set modes and power setpoints for the set). For the combined batteries to appear on the dashboard correctly it needs a device of type:
Type=243, Subtype=29
or:
type: General, Subtype: kWh
RPi 3, Domoticz dev version, Aeon ZWave stick (with a whole bunch of slaves), Zigbee using Zigbee2MQTT, Nest thermo, P1 smart meter on RPi Zero
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest