Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Moderator: leecollings

Post Reply
janpep
Posts: 212
Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2024.7
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by janpep »

It looks to me that this has to do with design of the default theme.
In the example picture under tab Other, you see a longer text in a text device. You see it just goes to the next line.
Complete-Text-JanPep.png
Complete-Text-JanPep.png (13.74 KiB) Viewed 1044 times
When I loot at it under tab Dashboard, the visible text is Incomplete.
Incomplete-Text-JanPep.png
Incomplete-Text-JanPep.png (8.37 KiB) Viewed 1044 times
I almost assume this is a well-known phenomenon.
Apparently there is a difference in the processing in CSS.
Does anyone know the solution for this?
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
HvdW
Posts: 504
Joined: Sunday 01 November 2015 22:45
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2023.2
Location: Twente
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by HvdW »

Your remark is correct.
You can solve your problem by using a text dummy sensor.
text.jpg
text.jpg (57.98 KiB) Viewed 1025 times
BTW Mine shows normal weather expectations and switches to weather alert text in case there is a weather alert.

Code: Select all

if (item.json.liveweer[1].alarm == '0') then
                    domoticz.devices('Weeralarm').switchOff()
                elseif (item.json.liveweer[1].alarm == '1') then
                    domoticz.devices('Weersverwachting').updateText(item.json.liveweer[1].alarmtxt)
                    domoticz.devices('Weeralarm').switchOn()
                end
Bugs bug me.
janpep
Posts: 212
Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2024.7
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by janpep »

HvdW wrote: Tuesday 21 May 2024 17:56 You can solve your problem by using a text dummy sensor.text.jpg
I am using a dummy text device!
Please show me the same device on your dashboard.
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
janpep
Posts: 212
Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2024.7
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by janpep »

janpep wrote: Tuesday 21 May 2024 18:10 I am using a dummy text device!
Please show me the same device on your dashboard.
Sorry I did not say this correctly. What I showed was indeed an alert device.
I wanted to say that It also happens with a text device.
See in Utility
Complete-Text2-JanPep.png
Complete-Text2-JanPep.png (15.64 KiB) Viewed 1005 times
See in Dashboard
Incomplete-Text2-JanPep.png
Incomplete-Text2-JanPep.png (11.7 KiB) Viewed 1005 times
BTW. You mentioned your switching between normal weather expectations and weather alert text.
That may be userfull to you, but In fact it is about the text length. Not about the content.
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
janpep
Posts: 212
Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2024.7
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by janpep »

I guess I have found it.

Went digging in the CSS and found that is is set in in /pathtodomoticz/www/css/styles.css under .status.

Code: Select all

.status {
        white-space: nowrap;
}
This is what I saw:
TextWithoutWordwrap-JanPep.png
TextWithoutWordwrap-JanPep.png (11.6 KiB) Viewed 970 times
I changed this in:

Code: Select all

.status {
        /* 22-05-2024 Jan peppink, Modified to get wordwrap on dashboard.*/
        /*white-space: nowrap;*/
        white-space: normal;
}
And now I see:
TextWithWordwrap-JanPep.png
TextWithWordwrap-JanPep.png (11.82 KiB) Viewed 970 times
And that is exactly as I see it under the Utility tab.

After that I looked around and until now I did not see unwanted side effects. So in the meantime I'll leave it this way.
I guess a have to make a note to repeat this after updates.
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
paul402
Posts: 92
Joined: Monday 23 May 2016 23:07
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by paul402 »

I have a long header for some alert boxes which are over written by the status
header.png
header.png (12.17 KiB) Viewed 356 times
. I tried this approach but it had no affect on the header. Has something changed or am I looking in the wrong place?
User avatar
waltervl
Posts: 5148
Joined: Monday 28 January 2019 18:48
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2024.7
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by waltervl »

paul402 wrote: Monday 09 December 2024 10:09 I have a long header for some alert boxes which are over written by the statusheader.png. I tried this approach but it had no affect on the header. Has something changed or am I looking in the wrong place?
I do not know this X10 Security device type.
Normally the device name should be shortened by you manually as that is what you see in the header. This name should also not change by an integration. You can change the name by clicking on the edit button on the widget.
A status text is shown here (Normal) and that can change to another status by the integration.
Domoticz running on Udoo X86 (on Ubuntu)
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
HvdW
Posts: 504
Joined: Sunday 01 November 2015 22:45
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2023.2
Location: Twente
Contact:

Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard

Post by HvdW »

In many cases you can edit the name of the sensor and it will still function.
Bugs bug me.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests