It looks to me that this has to do with design of the default theme.
In the example picture under tab Other, you see a longer text in a text device. You see it just goes to the next line.
When I loot at it under tab Dashboard, the visible text is Incomplete.
I almost assume this is a well-known phenomenon.
Apparently there is a difference in the processing in CSS.
Does anyone know the solution for this?
Incomplete text shown on dashboard
Moderator: leecollings
-
- Posts: 212
- Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Incomplete text shown on dashboard
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
-
- Posts: 504
- Joined: Sunday 01 November 2015 22:45
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2023.2
- Location: Twente
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
Your remark is correct.
You can solve your problem by using a text dummy sensor. BTW Mine shows normal weather expectations and switches to weather alert text in case there is a weather alert.
You can solve your problem by using a text dummy sensor. BTW Mine shows normal weather expectations and switches to weather alert text in case there is a weather alert.
Code: Select all
if (item.json.liveweer[1].alarm == '0') then
domoticz.devices('Weeralarm').switchOff()
elseif (item.json.liveweer[1].alarm == '1') then
domoticz.devices('Weersverwachting').updateText(item.json.liveweer[1].alarmtxt)
domoticz.devices('Weeralarm').switchOn()
end
Bugs bug me.
-
- Posts: 212
- Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
I am using a dummy text device!
Please show me the same device on your dashboard.
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
-
- Posts: 212
- Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
Sorry I did not say this correctly. What I showed was indeed an alert device.
I wanted to say that It also happens with a text device.
See in Utility See in Dashboard BTW. You mentioned your switching between normal weather expectations and weather alert text.
That may be userfull to you, but In fact it is about the text length. Not about the content.
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
-
- Posts: 212
- Joined: Thursday 14 March 2024 10:11
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
I guess I have found it.
Went digging in the CSS and found that is is set in in /pathtodomoticz/www/css/styles.css under .status.
This is what I saw:
I changed this in:
And now I see:
And that is exactly as I see it under the Utility tab.
After that I looked around and until now I did not see unwanted side effects. So in the meantime I'll leave it this way.
I guess a have to make a note to repeat this after updates.
Went digging in the CSS and found that is is set in in /pathtodomoticz/www/css/styles.css under .status.
Code: Select all
.status {
white-space: nowrap;
}
Code: Select all
.status {
/* 22-05-2024 Jan peppink, Modified to get wordwrap on dashboard.*/
/*white-space: nowrap;*/
white-space: normal;
}
After that I looked around and until now I did not see unwanted side effects. So in the meantime I'll leave it this way.
I guess a have to make a note to repeat this after updates.
Domoticz in Ubuntu virtual machine on Synology DS718+ behind FRITZ!Box.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
Using: EvoHome; MELCloud; P1 meter; Z-Stick GEN5; Z-Wave-js-ui; MQTT; Greenwave powernodes 1+6; Fibaro switch, plugs, smoke; FRITZ!DECT 200. Scripts listed in profile interests.
-
- Posts: 92
- Joined: Monday 23 May 2016 23:07
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
I have a long header for some alert boxes which are over written by the status
. I tried this approach but it had no affect on the header. Has something changed or am I looking in the wrong place?- waltervl
- Posts: 5148
- Joined: Monday 28 January 2019 18:48
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2024.7
- Location: NL
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
I do not know this X10 Security device type.
Normally the device name should be shortened by you manually as that is what you see in the header. This name should also not change by an integration. You can change the name by clicking on the edit button on the widget.
A status text is shown here (Normal) and that can change to another status by the integration.
Domoticz running on Udoo X86 (on Ubuntu)
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
Devices/plugins: ZigbeeforDomoticz (with Xiaomi, Ikea, Tuya devices), Nefit Easy, Midea Airco, Omnik Solar, Goodwe Solar
-
- Posts: 504
- Joined: Sunday 01 November 2015 22:45
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2023.2
- Location: Twente
- Contact:
Re: Incomplete text shown on dashboard
In many cases you can edit the name of the sensor and it will still function.
Bugs bug me.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests