Setting ports for service Topic is solved

On various Hardware and OS systems: pi / windows / routers / nas, etc

Moderator: leecollings

Post Reply
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

Hi all,
I'm having a problem with the Domoticz server running on my ReadyNAS. It worked fine for a couple of months, then suddently it started to have a conflict with the apache server.
Apache is not running because it detects another service already listening on port 443, and that service is domoticz.

Code: Select all

root@xxxxxx:~# netstat -plan | grep domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      4694/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::443                  :::*                    LISTEN      4694/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      4694/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 192.168.1.100:8080      192.168.1.79:57577      ESTABLISHED 4694/domoticz
in the domoticz.service there is no mention of the ports:

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=Domoticz
After=network.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon
KillMode=process
Restart=on-failure

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
Inside the domoticz.sh in /etc/init.d I have changed the port to 4430

Code: Select all

DAEMON=/opt/domoticz/$NAME
DAEMON_ARGS="-daemon"
#DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -daemonname $NAME -pidfile $PIDFILE"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -www 8080"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -sslwww 4430"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -log /tmp/domoticz.txt"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -syslog"
but it looks like it is completely ignored.
I don't know what else to try, could please someone give me some indication?
Thanks!
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

Sorry, I forgot an important bit of information. I'm running Domoticz V4.10717 becuase it's the last version that can run on my NAS.
User avatar
waaren
Posts: 6028
Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 14:18
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by waaren »

gpaolo79 wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 1:54 ...but it looks like it is completely ignored.
I don't know what else to try, could please someone give me some indication?
Have a look in /var/packages/domoticz/scripts/start-stop-status
Debian buster, bullseye on RPI-4, Intel NUC.
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

waaren wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 11:18 Have a look in /var/packages/domoticz/scripts/start-stop-status
I don't have that directory.
Domoticz was installed using the command tar -zxf /tmp/domoticz_linux_x86_64.tgz inside opt/domoticz/ ---these were the only instructions I could find to install it on my type of NAS.
There must be a copy of the launch script somewhere.
Yesterday night I have tried to launch the deamon manually with the same configuration in the domoticz.sh script and it works fine, with the right ports, but linux is not calling that script at all. I have even tried to delete it and the command service start domoticz still works with no error, except for the fact that it ignores the configuration.
Any chance that I need to use the update-rc.d to remove the service and reload it? I have tried but I might have missed something, because even after a update-rc.d domoticz.sh remove, I can still launch it with the service domoticz.sh start command...
User avatar
erem
Posts: 230
Joined: Tuesday 27 March 2018 12:11
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2021.1
Location: Amsterdam/netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by erem »

do you have a domoticz.sh in /etc/init.d?
if so try and change that, then just reboot your nas. overkill, i know, but safe.
Regards,

Rob
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

erem wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 12:31 do you have a domoticz.sh in /etc/init.d?
if so try and change that, then just reboot your nas. overkill, i know, but safe.
I do have it, yes.
I have tried to start and stop it many times but not rebooting the NAS. I'll try that one and I'll let you know, thanks.
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

Nope. Reboot didn't change it. I still have:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      4677/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      4677/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::443                  :::*                    LISTEN      4677/domoticz
while the configuration in /etc/init.d/domoticz.sh is

Code: Select all

DAEMON=/opt/domoticz/$NAME
DAEMON_ARGS="-daemon"
#DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -daemonname $NAME -pidfile $PIDFILE"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -www 8080"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -sslwww 0"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -log /tmp/domoticz.txt"
DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -syslog"
If I kill the service, start apache and start the service it works fine, because domoticz finds the port already used by apache and ignores it.

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# kill 4677
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# systemctl start apache2
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# service domoticz start
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      8461/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      8461/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    26751    8461/domoticz
It might be worth to mention that stopping the service doesn't do anything, but I don't get any error either:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/etc/init.d# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      8461/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      8461/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    26751    8461/domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/etc/init.d# service domoticz stop
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/etc/init.d# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      8461/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      8461/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    26751    8461/domoticz
User avatar
erem
Posts: 230
Joined: Tuesday 27 March 2018 12:11
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2021.1
Location: Amsterdam/netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by erem »

i am not ure if DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -sslwww 0" is a valid domoticz config
try and change that to 4330 again, and reboot again

it is also very strange that the service stop does not work.
i am not sure how to interpret that, but it certainly requires further investigation.
what does

Code: Select all

sudo ps -aux | grep domoticz
show before and after the stop

your domoticz.service also looks suspicious. it does not look like it is generated by systemd from domoticz.sh.
could yu be starting domoticz thru systemd instead of sysv.
try

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl stop domoticz.service
as well with the ps command
Regards,

Rob
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

erem wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 12:55 i am not ure if DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -sslwww 0" is a valid domoticz config
try and change that to 4330 again, and reboot again

it is also very strange that the service stop does not work.
i am not sure how to interpret that, but it certainly requires further investigation.
what does

Code: Select all

sudo ps -aux | grep domoticz
show before and after the stop
So, changed to 4330 and reboot, no luck. Still stuck on defaults:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::443                  :::*                    LISTEN      4678/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      4678/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      4678/domoticz
and apache is not running.

This is the command you have indicated before and after stop:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# ps -aux | grep domoticz
root      4678  0.7  0.9 967328 36196 ?        Ssl  12:12   0:00 /opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon
root      7976  0.0  0.0  17840  1048 pts/0    S+   12:14   0:00 grep domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# service domoticz stop
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# ps -aux | grep domoticz
root      4678  0.6  0.9 967328 36196 ?        Ssl  12:12   0:00 /opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon
root      7998  0.0  0.0  17840  1048 pts/0    S+   12:14   0:00 grep domoticz
Note that if I kill it and start it manually it works fine:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::443                  :::*                    LISTEN      4678/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      4678/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      4678/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    9750     4678/domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# kill 4678
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# start-stop-daemon --start --pidfile /var/run/domoticz.pid --exec /opt/domoticz/domoticz -- -daemon -www 8080 -sslwww 4430
2021-01-31 12:15:31.891  Status: Domoticz V4.10717 (c)2012-2019 GizMoCuz
2021-01-31 12:15:31.891  Status: Build Hash: b38b49e5, Date: 2019-05-09 11:04:08
2021-01-31 12:15:31.891  Status: Startup Path: /opt/domoticz/
domoticz: Domoticz is starting up....
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::4430                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    25447    8208/domoticz
so it's just that, somehow, the domoticz.sh file is ignored.
Also, if I launch the stop command manually, the service is actually stopped correctly.

I think the key is to understand where is it getting the script from. For sure not from /etc/init.d, because if I remove it, it keeps starting as if nothing had happened.
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

I was thinking, as workaround if it's not possible to understand why the .sh is ignored, is there any way to configure the service for a delayed start, so it starts *after* apache?
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

erem wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 12:55 your domoticz.service also looks suspicious. it does not look like it is generated by systemd from domoticz.sh.
could yu be starting domoticz thru systemd instead of sysv.
try

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl stop domoticz.service
as well with the ps command
sorry, I missed this bit.
That doesn't work either:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# systemctl stop domoticz.service
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::4430                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    25447    8208/domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# ps -aux | grep domoticz
root      8208  0.3  0.9 1032864 36216 ?       Ssl  12:15   0:01 /opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon -www 8080 -sslwww 4430
root      8734  0.0  0.0  17836   944 pts/0    S+   12:20   0:00 grep domoticz
ah but this is interesting. Now the service is indicated launched with the settings, while before it wasn't.

Code: Select all

root      4678  0.6  0.9 967328 36196 ?        Ssl  12:12   0:00 /opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon
root      8208  0.3  0.9 1032864 36216 ?       Ssl  12:15   0:01 /opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon -www 8080 -sslwww 4430
What could be the cause of this?
User avatar
erem
Posts: 230
Joined: Tuesday 27 March 2018 12:11
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2021.1
Location: Amsterdam/netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by erem »

this leads me to believe your domoticz is started from systemd.
can you try and change the domoticz.service to

Code: Select all

ExecStart=/opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon -www 8080 -sslwww 4430
and then reboot again
Regards,

Rob
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

erem wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 13:27 this leads me to believe your domoticz is started from systemd.
can you try and change the domoticz.service to

Code: Select all

ExecStart=/opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon -www 8080 -sslwww 4430
and then reboot again
Ok I have tried to make the change, this is now the domoticz.service:

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=Domoticz
After=network.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon -www 8080 -sslwww 4430
KillMode=process
Restart=on-failure

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

It does notice that the service has changed, but stopping and restarting it still doesn't work. I'll try rebooting now...

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::4430                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      8208/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    25447    8208/domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# kill 8208
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# netstat -plan | grep domotic
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    25447    8208/domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# systemctl start domoticz.service
Warning: domoticz.service changed on disk. Run 'systemctl daemon-reload' to reload units.
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# systemctl daemon-reload
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# systemctl start domoticz.service
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# ps -aux | grep domoticz
root      9069  0.8  0.9 819864 36680 ?        Ssl  12:29   0:00 /opt/domoticz/domoticz -daemon
root      9106  0.0  0.0  17836  1032 pts/0    S+   12:29   0:00 grep domoticz
root@NAS4-CASA-GP:/lib/systemd/system# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      9069/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      9069/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    40521    9069/domoticz
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

ah! rebooting did the trick!
Now it got the right ports:

Code: Select all

root@NAS4-CASA-GP:~# netstat -plan | grep domotic
tcp6       0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      4737/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::6144                 :::*                    LISTEN      4737/domoticz
tcp6       0      0 :::4430                 :::*                    LISTEN      4737/domoticz
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    10354    4737/domoticz
Thank you SO MUCH! I would have never made it without your help. I'm not exactly a linux expert :mrgreen:
User avatar
erem
Posts: 230
Joined: Tuesday 27 March 2018 12:11
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2021.1
Location: Amsterdam/netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by erem »

well, that is confirming that the systemd service file starts domoticz.
either you update the file with all required startup options like logfile etc, or you rename the file to domoticz.sevice.save.
if you then reboot again, systemd should recognize there is no service file for domoticz, and generate one from domoticz.sh in directory /run/systemd/generator.late/

anyway, since you are running systemd, use systemctl to manage services.

good luck,
Regards,

Rob
User avatar
waaren
Posts: 6028
Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 14:18
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by waaren »

erem wrote: Sunday 31 January 2021 12:55 I am not sure if DAEMON_ARGS="$DAEMON_ARGS -sslwww 0" is a valid domoticz config
Yes it is. It disables https access.
Debian buster, bullseye on RPI-4, Intel NUC.
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
gpaolo79
Posts: 15
Joined: Thursday 03 December 2020 19:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by gpaolo79 »

Hello again,
an update. Today I have noticed that the web page was not loading, so I checked with the ssh and the service was indicated as running, although there was no domoticz process alive.
So I have restarted the service with the systemctl command and the web interface restarted.
But I have noticed that the temperatures were not updating, the last time was yesterday morning, and even after a few minutes it showed no sign to get any new data.
Out of curiosity, I tried to launch the service also with the service domoticz start command, and immediately the values got updated and everything is running fine again.
Do you have any idea of why this could be happening? I have the feeling that there is something quite messed up with my configuration...
User avatar
waaren
Posts: 6028
Joined: Tuesday 03 January 2017 14:18
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Setting ports for service

Post by waaren »

gpaolo79 wrote: Wednesday 03 February 2021 10:49 Do you have any idea of why this could be happening? I have the feeling that there is something quite messed up with my configuration...
Would be interesting to see the first 100 lines or so of the domoticz log for both types of starts
Debian buster, bullseye on RPI-4, Intel NUC.
dz Beta, Z-Wave, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, P1, Youless, Hue, Yeelight, Xiaomi, MQTT
==>> dzVents wiki
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CRTer and 1 guest