How to add a new device to openzwave

For Z-Wave related questions in Domoticz

Moderator: leecollings

Post Reply
Gianni
Posts: 230
Joined: Saturday 21 July 2018 19:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Home@Belgium
Contact:

How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by Gianni »

hello

i have a new neo coolcam device.
It's working with domoticz but in cannot configure it.
its about this device
https://www.szneo.com/en/products/show.php?id=234

I have contact with neo and i want to try to get it in the openzwave DB
What information do in need to ask to build it myself?

I had a pull request on git but i have closed it because i dint think this was the right place to ask :-)

now its see as

Code: Select all

Shenzhen Neo Electronics Co Ltd Unknown: type=0200, id=102c
and in the openzwave cpl it's

Code: Select all

31 LBR	Routing Slave	Motor Control Class B	Shenzhen Neo Electronics Co Ltd Unknown: type=0200, id=102c
i need to configure it because when is set the endpoint with the hardware buttons it's out if sync when you close and open it again by 15 cm.

grts
lost
Posts: 659
Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 9:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by lost »

Gianni wrote: Sunday 01 September 2019 19:23 I have contact with neo and i want to try to get it in the openzwave DB
What information do in need to ask to build it myself?
I suppose you already checked OZW GIT for someone that could have already done the job after your OZW version was merged in Domoticz?

Usually, all parameters are described in the documentation provided with the device. To make a new XML in the OZW Config directory, there may be some directions on OZW wiki but you can also use some config file for other devices with same functions (or even, sometimes, a previous version that may be quite close). Don't forget to modify manufacturers file that make the link between manufacturer/device IDs and the config file you'll have written.

Another source of informations may be the z-wave alliance: All devices that have been certified have their config parameters described with the certification data.
Gianni
Posts: 230
Joined: Saturday 21 July 2018 19:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Home@Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by Gianni »

lost wrote: Monday 02 September 2019 8:01 I suppose you already checked OZW GIT for someone that could have already done the job after your OZW version was merged in Domoticz?
nope did not.
i opened a pull request on git openzwave but i don't think this was the place to ask this.
So i closed it again.
How en who do i need to contact this is my first time i have a device that is not in the list because it's a new device from Neo.

it's not in the zwave alliance DB
https://products.z-wavealliance.org/Sea ... =on&order=

grts gianni
lost
Posts: 659
Joined: Thursday 10 November 2016 9:30
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by lost »

Gianni wrote: Monday 02 September 2019 8:27
lost wrote: Monday 02 September 2019 8:01 I suppose you already checked OZW GIT for someone that could have already done the job after your OZW version was merged in Domoticz?
nope did not.
For Neo manufacturer ID, looks there is no 102c device ID at the moment even for current OZW:

https://github.com/OpenZWave/open-zwave ... ecific.xml

At line 1464 starts Neo devices and per device config file list.

This is where, in domoticz/Config, you'll have to add your device with device description xml file added in shenzen_neo directory. You can find a device that looks close to yours as an exemple. I have some PIRs from neo that were delivered with a short documentation with parameters and command set described.

If the device is not in the OZW alliance DB and no documentation, you'll not be able to do this job. If Neo or seller does not help, just return the device...

Looking at the conf file comments, we can see this manufacturer does not always follow strict procedures, for instance:
https://github.com/OpenZWave/open-zwave/issues/1866

2 different devices with same IDs = odd jobs to support them.
As well, some devices from this brand does not go for the certification process.

In the todo list before buying z-wave devices, presence in open-zwave alliance certification DB should be verified.
xeonpj
Posts: 10
Joined: Sunday 11 September 2016 13:00
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by xeonpj »

the team has this documentation

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1kmMc8T ... sp=sharing


[HOW] according to the documentation attached:


I add the following line to "manufacturer_specific.xml"
<Product type="0200" id="102c" name="Z curtain switch" config="shenzen_neo/zctst.xml"/>
en el apartado
<Manufacturer id="0258" name="Shenzhen Neo Electronics Co Ltd">
NOTE: I have invented the name of the xml


I create the file "zctst.xml" and add it to the domoticz / config / shenzen_neo folder with the following content
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Product xmlns='http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/'>
<!-- Configuration Parameters -->
<CommandClass id="112">
<Value type="byte" genre="config" instance="1" index="1" label="UP/down SWAP" value="1" size="1">
<Help>Cambia el orden de los botones, si pulsas UP baja y viceversa</Help>
<Item label="Desactivado" value="0"/>
<Item label="Activado" value="1"/>
</Value>

<Value type="byte" genre="config" instance="1" index="2" label="Motor rotation SWAP" value="1" size="1">
<Help>Cambia la direccion de rotacion del motor</Help>
<Item label="Desactivado" value="0"/>
<Item label="Activado" value="1"/>
</Value>

<Value type="byte" genre="config" instance="1" index="3" label="Backlight Enable" value="1" size="1">
<Help>Activa o desactiva la luz del boton central</Help>
<Item label="Desactivado" value="0"/>
<Item label="Activado" value="1"/>
</Value>

<Value type="byte" genre="config" instance="1" index="4" label="Curtain Moving indicate Enable" value="1" size="1">
<Help>Activa o desactiva la luz indicando la direccion de la persiana.</Help>
<Item label="Desactivado" value="0"/>
<Item label="Activado" value="1"/>
</Value>

<Value type="byte" genre="config" instance="1" index="5" label="Button switch function disable" value="1" size="1">
<Help>Desactiva la botonera fisica si coloca este valor en "Desactivado"</Help>
<Item label="Desactivado" value="0"/>
<Item label="Activado" value="1"/>
</Value>

</CommandClass>
<!-- Association Groups -->
<CommandClass id="133">
<Associations num_groups="1">
<Group index="1" max_associations="5" label="Lifeline"/>
</Associations>
</CommandClass>
</Product>
Gianni
Posts: 230
Joined: Saturday 21 July 2018 19:03
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Home@Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by Gianni »

hey

no it's stil not working for me.
The contact with the seller who is a member of coolcam did not respond anymore.
I will try you xml and see if i can fix it.
xeonpj
Posts: 10
Joined: Sunday 11 September 2016 13:00
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by xeonpj »

With what I've happened to you it works, I don't know if all your options, but the basics work. I think they are missing adding some command class
pfwolbers
Posts: 11
Joined: Monday 05 January 2015 19:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: the netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by pfwolbers »

XML file was not working for me so I made a new one:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Product xmlns='http://code.google.com/p/open-zwave/'>
  <!-- Configuration Parameters -->
  <CommandClass id="112">
    <Value genre="config" instance="1" index="1" value="1" label="Up/Down Button Swap Enable" units="" size="1" min="0" max="1" type="list">
      <Help>Up/Down Button Swap Enable</Help>
      <Item value="0" label="Disabled"/>
      <Item value="1" label="Enabled"/>
    </Value>
    <Value genre="config" instance="1" index="2" value="0" label="Motor Rotation Direction Swap Enable" units="" size="1" min="0" max="1" type="list">
      <Help>Motor Rotation Direction Swap Enable</Help>
      <Item value="0" label="Disabled"/>
      <Item value="1" label="Enabled"/>
    </Value>
    <Value genre="config" instance="1" index="3" value="1" label="Backlight Enable" units="" size="1" min="0" max="1" type="list">
      <Help>Backlight Enable</Help>
      <Item value="0" label="LED Disabled"/>
      <Item value="1" label="LED ON when Switch is ON"/>
    </Value>
    <Value genre="config" instance="1" index="4" value="1" label="Curtain Moving Indicate Enable" units="" size="1" min="0" max="1" type="list">
      <Help>Curtain Moving Indicate Enable</Help>
      <Item value="0" label="LED Disabled"/>
      <Item value="1" label="LED Enabled"/>
    </Value>
    <Value genre="config" instance="1" index="5" value="1" label="Button Switch" units="" size="1" min="0" max="1" type="list">
      <Help>Button Switch</Help>
      <Item value="0" label="Button Switch Disabled"/>
      <Item value="1" label="Button Switch Enabled"/>
    </Value>
  </CommandClass>
  <!-- Association Groups -->
  <CommandClass id="133">
    <Associations num_groups="1">
      <Group index="1" label="Lifeline" max_associations="5" auto="true"/>
    </Associations>
  </CommandClass>
</Product>

Regis68
Posts: 2
Joined: Monday 13 July 2020 13:50
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by Regis68 »

Hi I've also this device (https://www.szneo.com/en/products/show.php?id=234) .

But I have 2 disturbing problems with it :
First problem : when I use the multi level command for partial opening (Not 100% opened/closed) each time I reopen it is not opened completely. (If I close completely then reopen it's ok)
Second problem some of my devices lose their switch on switch off ability after some time (the blue led blinks).
I want to know if you guys also have faced this problems.

For the xml I have opened a pull request https://github.com/OpenZWave/open-zwave/pull/2241: but I need to add the MetaData Block
But you can get the 2 files from here : https://github.com/Arty68/open-zwave/ra ... ecific.xml and https://github.com/Arty68/open-zwave/ra ... -cs01z.xml

Thanks for your answer
pfwolbers
Posts: 11
Joined: Monday 05 January 2015 19:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: the netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by pfwolbers »

If it's not connected to the server, after some time it starts blinking again. I had the same problem. As long as it is connected, I've no problems.
Also my screen is not completely open, tried to fix it many times. But cannot get it right.
erich
Posts: 4
Joined: Monday 04 December 2017 21:05
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by erich »

Hi all,

Sorry for the stupid question but have you done anything special to make the switch work in manual mode right after the installation?
I have not even reached the zwave integration but the switch does not work when pushing up or down button.
No light, nothing...
I was just wondering if I need some app to activate the manual mode? Neo on their website and the package are talking about the APP but never mention which app.
I don't think I have wired it wrong. I removed the old switch and the 2 motor leads are clearly marked as well as the main L and N...
Thanks
Eric
erich
Posts: 4
Joined: Monday 04 December 2017 21:05
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by erich »

Hi again, ok I made a mistake in the wiring and now it is ok
However as I have seen in this post, it is working in domoticz but I have no config information on my Aeon Z-Stick dongle.
I was wondering if I can load one of the xml file you've been talking about in order to get those config items (like switching off the blue led etc...)?
Thanks!
Pvhpsb
Posts: 15
Joined: Tuesday 20 January 2015 13:38
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Location: Prinsenbeek
Contact:

Re: How to add a new device to openzwave

Post by Pvhpsb »

Hey,
Do you already have the Neo Coolcam Roller Shutter working in Domoticz?
Sincerely,
Patrick
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest