Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Alexa, Google Home and Siri

Moderator: leecollings

Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

ok, update:
There was an error in my code, now fixed.

I can ask Alexa "What is the Kitchen set to" and it works.

I have a US account, with code hosted in Virginia - enjoy!
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

out of interest - do any of you have door locks?
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
User avatar
heggink
Posts: 978
Joined: Tuesday 08 September 2015 21:44
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 12451
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by heggink »

I do (nuki). Integrated them through dummy devices as I want timers to auto lock which domoticz does not have on the standard lock devices. Why?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn HUAWEI NXT-L29 met Tapatalk
Docker in Truenas scale, close to latest beta
DASHTICZ 🙃
RFXCOM, zwavejs2mqtt, zigbee2mqtt,
P1 meter & solar panel
Google home, Wifi Cams motion detection
Geofence iCloud, Bluetooth & Wifi ping
Harmony hub, Nest, lots more :-)
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

alexa has the functionality to set and get status on locks - if this is of use i can look to add it in.
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
qwerk
Posts: 222
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by qwerk »

Madgeni wrote:ok, update:
There was an error in my code, now fixed.

I can ask Alexa "What is the Kitchen set to" and it works.

I have a US account, with code hosted in Virginia - enjoy!

great work,

alexa what is the xxx set to works on my thermostat and on 1 measuring device.
what is the temperature in the xxx, does not work on any device.
some temp devices are responding and some not. I will try to test it more to see if there is any logic in it.


step by step we are getting there.

thanks for looking in to it again and again and again,
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

yes, I hadn't made the changes to test 'What is temperature'. I did this on the way in to work this morning but it's untested. Pull the latest version and try again. I'll also try and add some logging in to help debug why some are not responding (i've had to make some assumptions about where domoticz stores its temp values)
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
qwerk
Posts: 222
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by qwerk »

Domoticz works in mysterious ways ;-)

I think you broke it,
I will try and use the yesterday version and the this morning version. and send you a test report.

have a nice day at work
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

whoops! :) Let me know - for now i've rolled it back on Github
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
qwerk
Posts: 222
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by qwerk »

There seems to be a difference between the devices.
a razberry( z-wave) temp device will not give away its temperature .....
however a selfmade virtual device without any problem. ( keep in mind you have to ask: what is xxx set to )
a thermostat/setpoint will also work ( i only have razberry z-wave thermostats)


I was writing this, and made 1 last check. a z-wave thermostat with a temp device. and that I could query with: what is it set to.

so, I found no logic in devices that work or do not work.
I know devices that hold temperature and humidity don't work. I made virtual sensors to present only the temperature and that works.
I still have 1 z-wave device with lacrosse TX3 temp ( like they all do) that will not work.

this is the software version without the "what's the temperature change"

keep up the good work.
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

thanks qwerk. There's a logging line commented out on line 431. if you uncomment it, and retest, i'm interested in what it captures for device.temp and device.subtype - these are the two ways i've found of obtaining the current temp from a device. It might be that one of yours is using a different value?
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
qwerk
Posts: 222
Joined: Tuesday 22 July 2014 7:21
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by qwerk »

hmmm, I really thought I could edit a text file and get rid off two '/' line 431 is but no, i am no programmer. even using notepad++ ;-)

I get these results:

{
"errorMessage": "missing ) after argument list",
"errorType": "SyntaxError",
"stackTrace": [
"Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:416:10)",
"Module.load (module.js:343:32)",
"Function.Module._load (module.js:300:12)",
"Module.require (module.js:353:17)",
"require (internal/module.js:12:17)"
]
}
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

ok, i'll update it with the logging and push it back to git
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

Don't worry - error was mine (i missed a closing bracket) - updated with the logging. try again?
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
cryonic90
Posts: 15
Joined: Friday 25 September 2015 10:22
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by cryonic90 »

Anyone else trying to follow the alexa-domo pdf?
In the AWS I'm unable to find the alexa-smart-home-skill-adapter blueprint, anyone else having the same problems?
Doesn't matter which region I'm selecting btw.
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

ah - sorry, i'll update it. You don't need to select a blueprint anymore.

Read the alexa-domoticz-README.docx
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

temperature requests should now be working. Weirdly, if there's only one thermostat, and you ask "Alexa, what is the temperature of device name" - it will respond with "the temperature inside is..." - I can't control the response, but it seems to suggest here that it does it on purpose:
https://developer.amazon.com/blogs/post ... ome-skills
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
cryonic90
Posts: 15
Joined: Friday 25 September 2015 10:22
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by cryonic90 »

Madgeni wrote:ah - sorry, i'll update it. You don't need to select a blueprint anymore.

Read the alexa-domoticz-README.docx
Thanks, it's working great now! :)
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

that's great news :)
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
martintom
Posts: 1
Joined: Tuesday 09 May 2017 17:58
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by martintom »

Great work creating this, connected my new Amazon Dot to Domoticz today using this tool.

Only having some problems with devices having the same name, e.g.: 'Turn on the living room light' does work while 'What is the living room temperature' returns the error message 'That command does not work on the device living room'. Changing the name of the temperature sensor to something else solves this though.

Any change this can support changing the colors of the lights? I have some connected Hue/MiLights I can change the color using Domoticz.
Madgeni
Posts: 1571
Joined: Friday 25 March 2016 17:43
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Amazon Echo to Domoticz Bridge: switches, sensors & more

Post by Madgeni »

Hi - pleased it's working.

There are some general issues with the Echo interpreting the words, unfortunately i've got little control over that. We've a work around, in the naming of the description (see the manual).

Re: light controls - i'll take a look - they released the functionality a little while back. I've got some Hue lights, see if i can have a play around.
Native Alexa skill and Google app - register at https://www.controlicz.com - https://twitter.com/Controlicz
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest