Page 1 of 1

Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Sunday 21 December 2014 0:39
by whiteduck
Hi all,

I thought I would share my very early experience of setting up a z-wave network which I am implementing mainly to put a failsafe on my domestic (sewage) pumping station so if the power usage remains high (for more than 3 minutes) it switches off to save damage to the pumps (these cost about £800 each):

The USB controller
1 x zwave.me ZME_UZB1 - £25 from Vesternet

The devices
1 x Fibaro FGMS001 - Motion Sensor/Temperature/Lux - £52 each (general use case)
2 x TZ88E - Power switch with energy usage reporting - £38 each (1 will be used for pump control use case)
1 x Fibaro Binary Sensor (not yet integrated as I need 12v power) - £36 each (later use case)

I have an existing Domoticz setup with RFXCom (Oregon, Owl, HomeEasy) but I opted for a new virtual machine (I am running on a small HP server with VMware ESXi) with a clean Ubuntu installation, Open Zwave and Domoticz V2.2171

The tiny zwave.me "UZB" device shows up OK:

Code: Select all

Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0658:0200 Sigma Designs, Inc. 
I had installed Domoticz previously as follows:

Code: Select all

svn checkout svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/domoticz/code/trunk/ domoticz
cd domoticz
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .
make
./domoticz
Then today I plugged in the UZB and installed Open-Zwave:

Code: Select all

svn co http://open-zwave.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ open-zwave-read-only
apt-get install libudev-dev
cd open-zwave-read-only/
make
./updatedomo # necessary since I already had it installed from some weeks back
nohup ./domoticz > /dev/null 2>&1 &
It worked - as some people have pointed out the FGMS001 needs to be woken up several times to get temperature and lux levels and certainly worth switching off the LEDs via the configuration.

The Fibaro Motion sensor - I am a bit confused why the PIR sends two messages for motion - one with a level of 100%:
zw-1.png
zw-1.png (39.75 KiB) Viewed 8248 times
The two TZ88E devices - oddly the energy classes claim it is an CM119/113/160:
zw-2.png
zw-2.png (109.74 KiB) Viewed 8248 times
It would be really nice if Domoticz could combine the messages into a single graphic in the portal but it's fine for now.
zw-3.png
zw-3.png (142.44 KiB) Viewed 8248 times
I need to play around some more but wanted to share this with the forum for your information.

To do list:
- Write the script to power cycle the pumps
- Put the UZB on a USB extension cable to improve signal
- Wire up the binary sensor and connect up to an infrared beam
- Migrate my other devices from my existing Domoticz installation (I think I better start again rather than restore the database since the versions are steps apart).
- Consider investing in more z-wave if this proves successful…

(Edit: For more info on the TZ88E - I just saw http://domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=2992)

Happy Christmas!
Ian

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Sunday 21 December 2014 10:36
Interesting experience - I hope it goes well!

In my system, the FGMS001 shows a tamper switch alarm which, in some operating modes, can act as a vibration sensor. Perhaps this is the source fo your "extra" switch?

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Sunday 21 December 2014 11:52
by whiteduck
Thanks Tony. That could be it!

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Sunday 21 December 2014 21:55
by robpow
You might already have come across this but these small domestic relays don't always play nicely with big inductive loads such as motors in pumps. Especially if you turn off the relay while the motor is running you might arc weld the contacts.

This has happened to a few people with for example vacuum cleaners and LightwaveRF sockets.

Just something to keep in mind :)

Matt

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Sunday 21 December 2014 22:05
by whiteduck
Thanks for the tip Matt!
I wonder why this happens - do you think the relay "bounces" i.e. power on/off/on?

BR
Ian

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Tuesday 23 December 2014 1:31
by whiteduck
Actually when you say arc weld the contacts - you mean of the relay right?

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Thursday 10 September 2015 18:36
by arjenw
Having a similar problem with a Raspberry Pi -2.
What are the steps to followe to make the update mentioned working?

regards
Arjen

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Monday 21 September 2015 23:55
by whiteduck
Arjen - sorry for the delay and don't think I can help here - I gave up on the Zwave.me UZB USB device and bought an Aeon USB dongle - did you try posting a new question as it is more likely to get someone's attention.

Best wishes
Ian

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Tuesday 08 December 2015 22:46
by ehann
Hi Ian,
Why did you give up on the Zwave.me UZB USB ?
I just bought the same and Im trying to make it work with FGMS001.
Thanks for your feedback.

Re: Z-wave - new deployment (Zwave.me UZB, FGMS001, TZ88E)

Posted: Saturday 12 December 2015 18:12
by whiteduck
Hi there,

I couldn't be sure if it was related to the fact I was connecting (USB) via VMware ESXi passthru but all my problems went away when I switched to the Aeon Labs device.
That said I am told by a colleague who used the UZB device on Raspi that it worked fine.

Best regards
Ian