Page 1 of 1

Kodi state update

Posted: Sunday 06 January 2019 13:51
by puls8
Hi all,

I have a script made in blockly to turn off the lights at a given time. This works just fine. Now I added a logic rule to not turn off the lights when Kodi has not the "off" state. To my suprise it turns off the lights no regards the state of Kodi. When I press the "Show current states" button, it shows Kodi off for more than 2 days, while Kodi is running and in the Switches tab it shows which movie is playing. Apparently kodi state is not (always) updating. What could I do to fix this?

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Tuesday 08 January 2019 10:08
by puls8
Meanwhile I tried to add a dummy switch as a slave of Kodi, but that doesn't work neither.

The only working solution for now is to ping the Kodi (libreelec box): https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/System_Al ... ker_(Ping) It 's not as neat, but it looks like it works.

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Wednesday 09 January 2019 23:35
by jake
I use the Kodi python plugin an it works fine. My scripts act on 'audio', 'video'and 'on'.
I added a plugin to Kodi that now updates a virtual switch in domoticz to see when Kodi is 'idle' (interface is dimmed because of no user input)

I never had domoticz guessing incorrectly what the actual state is.

Is it correct that you completely shutdown the pi? I can imagine in that case that domoticz doesn't know.

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Thursday 10 January 2019 20:20
by puls8
You mean this plugin: https://github.com/dnpwwo/Domoticz-Kodi-Plugin ?

Strange to use a plugin to for build-in functionality...

BTW I am using Kodi (libreelec) on a NUC and yes, I do a full shutdown (and power off)

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Friday 11 January 2019 5:31
by Dnpwwo
@puls8,

The native functionality has not been developed for some time but was left in the code base for backwards compatibility.

The plugin version has more functionality and is more actively supported. Your choice which one you go with of course.

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Friday 11 January 2019 15:01
by puls8
@Dnpwwo

Thanks for your explanation. I installed the plugin following the instructions: https://github.com/dnpwwo/Domoticz-Kodi ... stallation
so I installed it in: /opt/domoticz/plugins but after restarting (sudo /etc/init.d/domoticz.sh restart) it won't show in the hardware list. A raspberry reboot resulted in "offline" state of domoticz. A cold boot restored domoticz but still no "Kodi players" in the hardware list.

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Friday 11 January 2019 15:06
by puls8
Update: I did a browser cache clean up, but also no "Kodi player" in the hardware list.

I have installed it here:

Code: Select all

/opt/domoticz/plugins# ls
AwoxSMP  Domoticz-Kodi-Plugin  examples
Is this correct?

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Saturday 12 January 2019 9:40
by Dnpwwo
@puls8,

Have a look at https://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2f#p202680, sounds like Domoticz isn't finding Python.

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Saturday 12 January 2019 11:04
by puls8

Code: Select all

python --version
Python 2.7.13
Is this version too old/outdated?

Re: Kodi state update

Posted: Saturday 12 January 2019 23:00
by Dnpwwo
@puls8,

Yes, Domoticz requires 3.4 as a minimum, have a look at https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Using_Python_plugins