Page 1 of 2

RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Friday 16 May 2014 9:41
by phobosman
I'm using the rfxtrx433 in Domoticz with some Nexa and Conrad RSL switches. The Nexa switches works fine but I cannot get the Conrad RSL to work. I'm using this ( http://www.conrad.se/RADIOSTYRD-INF%26A ... 84_2806092 )

When adding a switch in Domoticz, the RSL alternative doesn't show in drop down. Is this a known problem? Or should I use another protocol...?

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Friday 06 June 2014 18:50
by Blom1974
Did you get this sorted?

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 07 June 2014 23:02
by BobdeBouwer
Hi there,

On the Conrad site it will not show whether they are RSL 2 or RSL 3 type when you look them up or buy them.
I bought 4 outlet switches and a remote for around 25,- euro, 2000W per switch wich you simply insert into a wall outlet (<0.5 W standby) ..no problem I thought.
But even with the undec mode switched on in the RFXCOM tranceiver, they won't show up.
After a bit of reading and checking the appliance, I discovered that I had bought RSL366R switches.

I'm guessing that they are brand new RSL types and RFXCOM firmware (my receiver is at firmware 71) will not decode them properly at this point in time.
So my tip's:
- look at the back of the Conrad RSL switches and find the model no.
- try the 'undec mode' on (look for options, hardware, RFXCOM setup mode, check the undec on box, save.. Then go to the Domoticz log (options -> log) and press the remote for the switches. If nothings appears you won't get a chance to use them in Domoticz (don't forget to uncheck the 'undec mode' after this discovery tour)
- If you have an RSL 3xx model, hope that future versions of the firmware of the RFXCOM device will support it (I am sure you could even drop them an email)

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Tuesday 10 June 2014 13:51
by sebitop
Hi there

did you fix this issue with rfxcom or domoticz ?

I ordered some RSL switches from conrad but if they are not compatible I will send them back.

Let me know.

cheers

sebastien

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 14 June 2014 22:42
by BobdeBouwer
Hi there,
I will post an email to RFXCOM this evening.
I will let you know what comes out.

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Thursday 19 June 2014 12:07
by sebitop
Just for info RSL4 are compatible

I will test RSLU receivers soon

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Thursday 19 June 2014 15:05
by b_weijenberg
The Conrad set (order number 034911) does not use RSL coding despite of the type indication RSL366R!
This set can be controlled using Lighting4. The code table has been added to the RFXtrx User Guide.
Receive for the remote will not be added.

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 21 June 2014 11:53
by BobdeBouwer
Thanks for updating the user guide (page 31) and researching the RSL 3xx story, great support!

To finish off at the Domoticz end, I encountered a problem. (nothing to do with the RFXCOM product)

First, I set the protocols to at least Lightning 4 in the hardware tab of the Domoticz setup tab.
Then, from the drop-down menu in the switches tab (manual addition of switches), I can't seem to find the Lightning4 'type' assuming the 'switch type' to be on/off.
I tested 'Livolo' because they also have 2 code wheels but no effect.

Am I doing something wrong?

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Friday 15 August 2014 10:53
by twimpy
Hi is there any update? :?:
I like to use these devices to I think this protocol is less used.
I searched what type I should use in add Manual Light/Switch Device but cannot find RSL protocol in the list.

Regards,
Twimpy

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Tuesday 06 January 2015 0:49
by phobosman
I'm using several Conrad RSL switches with Domoticz and RFXTRX433, but the only way I can get them into Domotics is by first use another sending source. (E.g. RSL remote). I happens to have an old Telldus usb stick that has support for Conrad RSL. I program the switch with the Telldus and then use the "Learn switch" function in Domoticz. It will then show up in Domoticz as Conrad RSL switch. This will also work with a remote that can control Conrad RSL.

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 11 April 2015 15:48
by xtenz
I just would like to share that I found a "dirty" way to operate these Conrad RSL366R devices using rfxcmd (https://code.google.com/p/rfxcmd/)
Using rfxcmd Domoticz can operate these devices using OS cli commands. The reason why this is a dirty trick is because rfxcmd hijacks the serial interface of the RFXCOM device causing Domoticz to loose its connection with the RFXCOM transciever.
Domoticz logs the following messages:
2015-04-11 15:11:36.113 Error: Serial Port closed!... Error: End of file
2015-04-11 15:11:37.092 RFXCOM: retrying in 30 seconds...

Fortunately Domoticz automatically reconnects to the RFXCOM device but please be aware that this is causing an interruption in the communication between Domoticz and the RFXCOM device every time you switch a Conrad RSL366R device.

Though it's not perfect it does work without any alternatives available. (As far as I'm aware)
Hopefully the developers of Domoticz will find some time to invest in the implementation of manually adding lightning4 devices so rfxcmd can be skipped.
More information about this topic/request can be found in the following thread: http://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic ... 449#p24449

This is how it can be done.

1. Install and configure rfxcmd like described in their documentation.
2. Create a switch (E.g. a Dummy or use the autolearn feature to register a remote control)
3. Install a lua script in domoticz/scripts/lua that takes care of executing the correct cli commands.

An example:
script_device_switchConrad.lua:

-- script name : script_device_switchConrad
-- This script will trigger a command every time the Domoticz switch changes status

commandArray = {}

if (devicechanged["Switch1"] == 'On') then
print "Switched Conrad1 On"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354155501A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch1"] == 'Off') then
print "Switched Conrad1 Off"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354155401A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch2"] == 'On') then
print "Switched Conrad2 On"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354455501A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch2"] == 'Off') then
print "Switched Conrad2 Off"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354455401A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch3"] == 'On') then
print "Switched Conrad3 On"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354515501A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch3"] == 'Off') then
print "Switched Conrad3 Off"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354515401A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch4"] == 'On') then
print "Switched Conrad4 On"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354545501A950")
end

if (devicechanged["Switch4"] == 'Off') then
print "Switched Conrad4 Off"
os.execute ("/opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354545401A950")
end

return commandArray

In this example I am using the configurable channel IV but you can always adapt the codes like described in chapter 14.4 of the rfxcom userguide:
http://www.rfxcom.com/WebRoot/StoreNL2/ ... _Guide.pdf
Just convert the described BIN values to HEX using e.g. a calculator app and replace these values in the used examples: rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354545401A950

Names like "Switch1" should be replaced by the name of your switch defined in Domoticz.

Testing rfxcmd can be done manually using the cli command directly e.g.: /opt/rfxcmd/rfxcmd.py -s 0913000354455501A950

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Sunday 12 April 2015 9:12
by frostwork
I recently bought some RSL366R and also had the problem, that I couldn't add them in the domoticz add switch dropdown.
now I simply picked "RisingSun" in the dropdown and set it to "A,1" (my testing RSL is set to "I,1") and the RSL works! :)
I'm using latest rfx433 Type1 fw (86) and the RSL is detected as Lighting1.
I hope this helps some people :)

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Wednesday 15 April 2015 9:11
by xtenz
Frostwork, you made my day.
I can confirm that RisingSun is working for these RSL366R devices even with different channels.

I'm using a rfx433E with the latest ext 240 firmware.

This is a little bit easier and better compared to my former approach :D

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Thursday 16 April 2015 17:15
by frostwork
I'm glad I could be helpful :)
Unfortunately the range of the RSLs seems to be worse than f.e. those of the IT1500 devices,
haven't tested much yet though :)

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 23 May 2015 9:56
by chimit
I also could switch on and of the RSL366 switches with this.
My question: Just how can the remote control be recognized?

Similar lightning4 problem with RFXTRX433

Posted: Sunday 18 October 2015 12:38
by bewo
Hi together,

i have an similar problem. I've bought some new - cheap - sockets from Voltomat (Bauhaus Germany).

They works with lightning4. But i didn't get work them with domoticz.
So - can i get this working with a lua script like xtenz have done?

Thanks for a little bit help :)

This are the sockets:
IMG_0383.JPG
IMG_0383.JPG (221.8 KiB) Viewed 11224 times
This the code which i've received with RFXmanager:

Code: Select all

When i press "ON A":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 30
Code          = C3B970
S1- S24  = 1100 0011 1011 1001 0111 0000 
Pulse         = 384 usec
Signal level  = 6
---------------------------------------------
When i press "OFF A":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 31
Code          = C21B10
S1- S24  = 1100 0010 0001 1011 0001 0000 
Pulse         = 382 usec
Signal level  = 7
---------------------------------------------
When i press "ON B":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 32
Code          = CBFAB4
S1- S24  = 1100 1011 1111 1010 1011 0100 
Pulse         = 384 usec
Signal level  = 7
---------------------------------------------
When i press "OFF B":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 33
Code          = C99F24
S1- S24  = 1100 1001 1001 1111 0010 0100 
Pulse         = 382 usec
Signal level  = 7
---------------------------------------------
When i press "ON C":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 34
Code          = CBFABC
S1- S24  = 1100 1011 1111 1010 1011 1100 
Pulse         = 384 usec
Signal level  = 7
---------------------------------------------
When i press "OFF C":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 35
Code          = C99F2C
S1- S24  = 1100 1001 1001 1111 0010 1100 
Pulse         = 384 usec
Signal level  = 7
---------------------------------------------
When i press "ON D":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 36
Code          = CA5492
S1- S24  = 1100 1010 0101 0100 1001 0010 
Pulse         = 382 usec
Signal level  = 7
---------------------------------------------
When i press "OFF D":

Packettype    = Lighting4
subtype       = PT2262
Sequence nbr  = 37
Code          = C1D842
S1- S24  = 1100 0001 1101 1000 0100 0010 
Pulse         = 382 usec
Signal level  = 7

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Thursday 07 January 2016 11:52
by patvandijk
I was able to add the Conrad RSL33T manually by adding it as RisingSun.
Just cycled through all combinations to check which one worked.

My transmitter broke, so I was not able to use the autolearn anyway.

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 06 February 2016 8:43
by vermonden
Hello, I have the same problem like bewo. I have a Voltomat (Bauhaus Germany).
What should I do to get this working in Domoticz?

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Saturday 11 February 2017 0:04
by biomm
Just received few Conrad RSL devices. As previously described no such equipment on drop-down list so, I have decided to check 2 above possibilities:
1) described by phobosman - I have paired one RSL433R with remote (mini control). Remote was easily recognised by Domoticz so, it was easy to add it into switches - so far so good..
- for some practical reasons (below) option described by frostwork was much more interesting (as far as I do understand no remotes in use) BUT I did checked all A-D (1-4) options of RisingSun and was not able to add a switch as receiver was not reacting on "test".

Receiver / switch tested RSL-R2 - might be the reason (??) Anyway first option is OK - just wondering how to avoid swithing on/off few devices as remote used is a basic one - no choice of channels and my plan is to use several switches both inside as well as outside...

Will update when done with other switches but your help in dealing with Conrad RSL is most welcome!

[2017-02-12] UPDATE: SOLVED :-) all Conrad RSL working with Domotich!

Re: RFXTRX433 and Conrad RSL

Posted: Monday 13 March 2017 11:28
by MarceldeJongNL
biomm wrote: [2017-02-12] UPDATE: SOLVED :-) all Conrad RSL working with Domotich!
Good news!

Did you solve with the use of a remote, or did you find an other way?