Page 1 of 1

Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Friday 09 February 2018 8:45
by jake
I'm feeding an 'Electric (instant + counter)' device only with the (generated) power.

Code: Select all

device.updateElectricity(power in watts)
I would like Domoticz to do the calculation of energy. Although showing/tracking the power value during the day, the Energy counter stays 0, day after day.

I know it can work, because my micro-inverters of the solar panels update themselves (power only) through a json command to the same type of virtual device and there the Domoticz computing of Energy is very reliable.

I tried it to feed the device like this:

Code: Select all

device.updateElectricity(power in watts, 0)
but this doesn't help. Or

Code: Select all

device.updateElectricity(power in watts, '')
but that gives an error.

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Friday 09 February 2018 17:28
by dannybloe
I suspect this is a Domoticz problem. I'm only setting the commandArray and send that back to Domoticz.

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Friday 16 March 2018 22:00
by jake
dannybloe wrote: Friday 09 February 2018 17:28 I suspect this is a Domoticz problem. I'm only setting the commandArray and send that back to Domoticz.
In this topic a possible solution was given to let the electrical device compute energy properly, by feeding the device through json.

To test this I used 2 virtual 'Electrical (counter + incremental)' sensors. The 1st one is fed by this dzVents command:

Code: Select all

local currentpower = (inv1.WhActual + inv2.WhActual + inv3.WhActual + inv4.WhActual + inv5.WhActual)
totSolar.updateElectricity (currentpower,0) 
The 2nd one is fed by this json command in dzVents:

Code: Select all

local solarUrl = 'http://127.0.0.1:8080/json.htm?type=command&param=udevice&idx=295&nvalue=0&svalue='..currentpower..';0'
		domoticz.openURL({
			url = solarUrl,
			method = 'GET'
			})
the 2nd sensor is being updated by the json command and after sometime it starts to count/compute energy as well.

2 days later I started updating the 1st sensor as well with the json command: within a short time the device started to compute energy.

Summarizing: something is going on with the LUA code to update the electrical device, while through json it works as expected.

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Saturday 17 March 2018 0:44
by McMelloW
dannybloe wrote: Friday 09 February 2018 17:28 I suspect this is a Domoticz problem. I'm only setting the commandArray and send that back to Domoticz.
If this is a Domoticz problem, who can we contact to look at it? There are several topics about it and an issue #2196 is openeded. But nothing so far.

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Friday 23 March 2018 20:29
by jake
The 1st sensor 'computed' energy for 2 days. Both days had exactly the same 'Energy' harvest. Ths is incorrect. On day 3 the sensor didn't compute anymore.
The 2nd sensor keeps computing correctly.

Something is completely screwed with counters. I have the same kind of problems with counting in m3 gas. I simply can't get my finger behind it, but values are not correct.

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Friday 22 June 2018 12:20
by mraichura
Hello All,

I'm receiving total current load via MySensors and voltage from a Sonoff POW. I then created a dummy sensor as follows

Code: Select all

Idx: 46
Sensor Type: Electric (Instant + Counter)
Type: Usage
Energy Read: Computed
The power wattage is calculated in Node-Red and sent to Idx: 46 via MQTT. The payload is as follows.

Code: Select all

{
    "idx": 46,
    "nvalue": 0,
    "svalue": "5191;0.000"
}
It was working fine from June 6 until a couple of hours ago. Now, the sensor value in Watts is visible but computed Energy usage (Total & Today) show nan.
Domoticz.png
Domoticz.png (15.3 KiB) Viewed 5100 times
Any help?

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Tuesday 04 September 2018 13:44
by gajotnt
Hello, is there any news on this?

I also have a dummy that doesnt compute the energy usage right. Using a lua script to update the counter.

Dont know how to use the comands posted above :(

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Thursday 16 January 2020 9:55
by buzzzy
I have the same problem... I'm getting strange data/graphs with both calculated and energy from device. Power seems OK, but energy isn't correct. No warnings from the script, and there should be no reason to have zero energies appearing like this:

Image

Version: 4.10717

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Thursday 16 January 2020 14:44
by FireWizard
Hi,

You wrote:
I have the same problem
You have the same problem as what?

In this topic, which started almost two years ago and the last post has been approx 1.5 years ago, various issues are described.
Some of them indicate an issue with a script (lua and/or dzvents), while another one indicate a problem received from Node Red.
(NaN is typical Java and indicates Not a Number)

Since September 2018 a lot of changes has been made and probably some of the issues, mentioned above, are already solved.

Can you describe your problem in more detail?

Regards

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Saturday 18 January 2020 0:26
by zaphod
Hi,
I also have a similar issue :
- MySensor gateway attached through local USB, successfully sending V_WATT & V_KWH every minute, freshly updated as shown here :
Selection_214.jpg
Selection_214.jpg (16.19 KiB) Viewed 3094 times
- Energy values are set "from device" rather than "computed"
- but yesterday, after a domoticz OTA software update, the energy consumption (Watt.h) histogram has gone flat :
utilisation-dernire-7-jo.png
utilisation-dernire-7-jo.png (99.39 KiB) Viewed 3094 times
- the DB shows that the both Watt and Watt.h actual values are correctly recorded in the corresponding table:

Code: Select all

sqlite> select * from Meter  where DeviceRowID=76 order by date desc limit 10;
DeviceRowID|Value|Usage|Date
76|15236|5911|2020-01-18 00:05:00
76|15184|7033|2020-01-18 00:00:00
76|15134|5618|2020-01-17 23:55:00
76|15087|5570|2020-01-17 23:50:00
76|15040|5356|2020-01-17 23:45:08
76|14992|5379|2020-01-17 23:40:00
76|14946|5323|2020-01-17 23:35:00
76|14902|5445|2020-01-17 23:30:01
76|14859|4503|2020-01-17 23:25:01
76|14815|4499|2020-01-17 23:20:02
- however at the time of the update, it appears the Watt.h value was reset:

Code: Select all

sqlite> select * from Meter  where DeviceRowID=76 order by date desc limit 20 offset 410;
DeviceRowID|Value|Usage|Date
76|452|5120|2020-01-16 14:00:00
76|409|5142|2020-01-16 13:55:00
76|367|5133|2020-01-16 13:50:00
76|324|5131|2020-01-16 13:45:00
76|278|5044|2020-01-16 13:40:00
76|236|5042|2020-01-16 13:35:00
76|194|4992|2020-01-16 13:30:00
76|152|4968|2020-01-16 13:25:00
76|107|4925|2020-01-16 13:20:00
76|66|4933|2020-01-16 13:15:00
76|25|4935|2020-01-16 13:10:01
76|157169|4921|2020-01-16 13:05:00
76|157124|5177|2020-01-16 13:00:00
76|157083|4902|2020-01-16 12:55:00
76|157044|4628|2020-01-16 12:50:00
76|157004|5028|2020-01-16 12:45:00
76|156959|6060|2020-01-16 12:40:09
76|156918|4532|2020-01-16 12:35:00
76|156880|4512|2020-01-16 12:30:00
76|156843|4522|2020-01-16 12:25:00
- Even if the Watt.h is reset, it seems there should still be Watt.h values registered every hour in the histogram?
- However the daily sums over a week are correct for today (the sum was wrong on the day of the update and showed 157 kW.h, ie the recorded value before the drop, so I mended manually in the Meter_Calendar table) :
sur-la-semaine-passe.png
sur-la-semaine-passe.png (72.85 KiB) Viewed 3094 times
- this has happened once before, after a domoticz reboot if I remember correctly.
- Current domoticz version:
Version: 4.11605
Build Hash: 7de1f368f
Compile Date: 2020-01-08 23:12:15
dzVents Version: 2.5.5
Python Version: 3.5.3 (default, Sep 27 2018, 17:25:39) [GCC 6.3.0 20170516]
Uptime: 1 Jours, 11 Heures, 6 Minutes, 10 Secondes

Any help much appreciated, as reboots/updating are likely to occur regularly, and this hourly histogram is very useful for tracking energy eating appliances...
Many thanks !

Re: Electric (instant+counter) - Domoticz doesn't compute Energy

Posted: Tuesday 31 March 2020 17:17
by Gruzi
Hi all,

Did someone manage to solve this issue?
I have something similar.

The values delivered by the solar panels are ok. Values are Power and Energy, part of log:
Date Time - Power - Energy
2020-03-31 10:47:03.774 Status: LUA: data= 2621;2500.0
2020-03-31 10:51:05.608 Status: LUA: data= 2727;2700.0
2020-03-31 10:55:08.822 Status: LUA: data= 2862;2900.0
2020-03-31 10:59:03.334 Status: LUA: data= 2951;3100.0
2020-03-31 11:03:05.096 Status: LUA: data= 3204;3300.0
2020-03-31 11:07:03.690 Status: LUA: data= 3430;3500.0
2020-03-31 11:11:03.834 Status: LUA: data= 3606;3800.0
2020-03-31 11:15:05.495 Status: LUA: data= 3835;4000.0

The graphing of the Power is ok, yellow line.
The graphing of the Energy is 0 until 14.00, blue line.

Why is the Energy graph 0 until 14.00 and from 14.00 displayed?