Page 1 of 1

Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Wednesday 06 September 2017 15:58
by beounet
Hello to all and sorry if i am in a wrong place!!
As we all know domotics doesn't support live stream from a camera.

Lets assume that someone is playing with domoticz from an android tablet (switching on and off different devices and all these cool staff).
i was wondering if there is a way to, by pressing something like a virtual switch on, to launch an ip camera viewer application that it is already installed in the android device. The ip camera application will pop up in front of domoticz.

In a future version of domoticz, is it easy or possible to combine domoticz with an ip camera application in a way that ,a screen window in the dashboard is directly connected to the ip camera app software in order to have real time video???

Thanks

Re: Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Wednesday 06 September 2017 17:02
by oliviers
Hi,
This is how I did it:
1. Make sure that the "custom" tab is visible in Domoticz

2. Then go into ~/domoticz/www/templates and edit index.html

3. Insert in the file the URL for your Webcam:
For me, it looks like : (depending on your camera, the URL might look differently!)

Code: Select all

<div id="cam1">
<h2>Webcam 1</h2>
<iframe src="http://<My camera IP address>/videostream.cgi?user=<user>&pwd=<password>" height="480" width="640"></iframe>
</div>
4. Now in Domotics, under "Custom", you have an "Index" button that will start the streaming of your camera ...

Is this what you wanted to achieve ?
Rgds,
Oliviers

Re: Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Thursday 07 September 2017 20:37
by Fleshi
When I open the URL with my password and username included in Chrome I still need to re-enter my password en Username. How did you solve this problem?

Re: Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Friday 08 September 2017 8:07
by oliviers
Hello,
@Fleshi: The syntax of the URL may vary, depending on the brand and model. Make sure you're using the right one.
There's a page on the topic on the Wiki:

https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Hardware# ... orkcameras

Oliviers

Re: Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Monday 11 September 2017 16:06
by beounet
oliviers wrote: Wednesday 06 September 2017 17:02 Hi,
This is how I did it:
1. Make sure that the "custom" tab is visible in Domoticz

2. Then go into ~/domoticz/www/templates and edit index.html

3. Insert in the file the URL for your Webcam:
For me, it looks like : (depending on your camera, the URL might look differently!)

Code: Select all

<div id="cam1">
<h2>Webcam 1</h2>
<iframe src="http://<My camera IP address>/videostream.cgi?user=<user>&pwd=<password>" height="480" width="640"></iframe>
</div>
4. Now in Domotics, under "Custom", you have an "Index" button that will start the streaming of your camera ...

Is this what you wanted to achieve ?
Rgds,
Oliviers
Hello Oliviers and thank you for your reply!!
I followed your instructions but with no result!
Here is the URL of my TP-LINK SC-2020N ip camera: http://admin:[email protected]/video.mjpg
I have also tried the still image URL : http://admin:[email protected]/jpg/image.jpg?size=3 with no results too.
I am using the default username and password.

Here is the code in the html file that you suggest:
<div id="cam1">
<h2>Webcam 1</h2>
<iframe src="http://admin:[email protected]/video.mjpg" height="480" width="640"></iframe>
</div>

Is something that i am missing??
Thanks again!!

Re: Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Saturday 16 September 2017 11:23
by oliviers
Hello,
When you try that same URL in a browser, does it work ??? Not sure your URL is correct, sounds weird...
No other ideas...
Oliviers

Re: Any way to open a camera software application from domoticz?

Posted: Saturday 30 September 2017 17:44
by beounet
oliviers wrote: Saturday 16 September 2017 11:23 Hello,
When you try that same URL in a browser, does it work ??? Not sure your URL is correct, sounds weird...
No other ideas...
Oliviers
Hello oliviers and thanks again for your help!!

When i am trying that URL in any browser, i have clear video for 1 second and then no image! The same behaviour in domoticz too!
Today i tried something completelly randomly!!
I got myself in the configuration page of the TP Link camera. As any pages like this, there is a preview area that you can see real time video.
If you right click in that area there is an option "open picture in new tab".
A new tab opens with the following URL "http://192.168.1.12/video.mjpg?mute"
Copied that in the file you suggested and i now have clear real time video!!! :)
I hope that this will help other guys too!!