Hello all,
I don't know much about raspberry pis, i have a raspberry 1 running and want to switch to rasberry pi3.. Because i want everything stored on the attic where theres no network.. But i have no clue how to configure wlan on a raspberry pi3.. Ive tried startx but this command is unknown.. Command line wlan configuration as described on rasberry pi.org is not working with Domoticz..
All help from specialists is welcome.
Thank you in advance.
Cheers, Hans
Raspberry pi 3 wlan config.. Help appreciated.
Moderator: leecollings
- HansieNL
- Posts: 957
- Joined: Monday 28 September 2015 15:13
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Raspberry pi 3 config
https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/issues/43/ page 16 and 17
Blah blah blah
-
- Posts: 229
- Joined: Friday 03 April 2015 20:44
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Location: Germany (near dutch border)
- Contact:
Re: Raspberry pi 3 wlan config.. Help appreciated.
Tried that, but no ipaddress..
-
- Posts: 229
- Joined: Friday 03 April 2015 20:44
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Location: Germany (near dutch border)
- Contact:
Re: Raspberry pi 3 wlan config.. Help appreciated.
Got it working, but Domoticz startup ipaddress still stays empty.. When you attach a network cable it shows the ipaddress.. On wlan it stays blank.. A bug?
Cheers, Hans
Cheers, Hans
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tuesday 08 July 2014 7:16
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Location: FRANCE Britany
- Contact:
Re: Raspberry pi 3 wlan config.. Help appreciated.
Hi
be sure to have made an update-upgrade of the lastest version.
in internationalization Options of "raspi-config", you have to choice the country for Wifi.
Best regards
be sure to have made an update-upgrade of the lastest version.
in internationalization Options of "raspi-config", you have to choice the country for Wifi.
Best regards
-
- Posts: 90
- Joined: Sunday 20 March 2016 18:56
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: LA, Ca USA
- Contact:
Re: Raspberry pi 3 wlan config.. Help appreciated.
I have wlan working on a pi3
edit the interfaces file using this command:
sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces
and add the following lines:
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Then edit the wpa config file with this command:
sudo nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
My file looks like this:
country=US
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
network={
ssid="your ssid"
psk="your wifi password"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}
I had static IP working on my older Pi model B, but it didn't work on the pi3.
I had to setup the static IP in my router instead.
Randy
edit the interfaces file using this command:
sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces
and add the following lines:
auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Then edit the wpa config file with this command:
sudo nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
My file looks like this:
country=US
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
network={
ssid="your ssid"
psk="your wifi password"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}
I had static IP working on my older Pi model B, but it didn't work on the pi3.
I had to setup the static IP in my router instead.
Randy
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tuesday 05 April 2016 17:36
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version:
- Contact:
Re: Raspberry pi 3 wlan config.. Help appreciated.
Just to add to randytsuch's excellent reply, you can issue the command to find out which access points can be seen.
Code: Select all
iwlist wlan0 scan
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests