After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Please use template to report bugs and problems. Post here your questions when not sure where else to post
Only for bugs in the Domoticz application! other problems go in different subforums!

Moderators: leecollings, remb0

Forum rules
Before posting here, make sure you are on the latest Beta or Stable version.
If you have problems related to the web gui, clear your browser cache + appcache first.

Use the following template when posting here:

Version: xxxx
Platform: xxxx
Plugin/Hardware: xxxx
Description:
.....

If you are having problems with scripts/blockly, always post the script (in a spoiler or code tag) or screenshots of your blockly

If you are replying, please do not quote images/code from the first post

Please mark your topic as Solved when the problem is solved.
willemd
Posts: 621
Joined: Saturday 21 September 2019 17:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2024.1
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by willemd »

JeeWee2 wrote: Sunday 28 January 2024 10:37 Success finally!! :D Thanks willemd. It took at least 6 attempts (of which 3 complete fresh installs), but only the last one did not run into fatal errors during the very last 'make' command. This is what I have done:
A. installing the bullseye version without monitor (using the Raspberry Pi imager)
B. creating 2 GB swap space
C. installing Screen to avoid the abortion of commands by sudden dropdowns in SSH connection (but actually not used)
D. using the default options of the description
E. step by step execution of the commands
F. using 'gmake' instead of 'make'.
Don't know what did the trick, but point A. (i.e. without monitor) and F. were new.
I used a 4GB swap space because the wiki says "If your system has limited memory (Less then 4GB of memory), you (might) need to create a swap file for compilation."
Maybe that is why in my case the first attempt was succesfull. Don't know.
Anyway, good that it worked for you as well.
tarmacalastair
Posts: 94
Joined: Wednesday 30 October 2019 14:11
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Great Britain
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by tarmacalastair »

lwolf wrote: Friday 26 January 2024 12:00 2024.3 compiled and tested with Raspberry Pi Zero W. (For latest bullseye)

Complete tar.gz published at:

https://iot.sajatfelhom.eu/domoticz/

Just for the records:
Raspberry Pi Zero W was launched in February 2017 so it is not a 12 year old hardware. And still the best hardware to run a Domoticz server.
Thank you so much for doing this lwolf. Running

Code: Select all

sudo bash -c "$(curl -sSfL https://iot.sajatfelhom.eu/domoticz/install.sh)"
as instructed on your page worked brilliantly.

This was the first time I had tried using a PiZero after about 8 years of using Domoticz and I was so disappointed to see that it didn't work. I'd just got the zero out of a drawer thinking it would be perfect for monitoring my UPS and a couple of temperature sensors where the main Domoticz Pi is the other side of a solid wall so the sensors will not work and I can't justify spending £50+ for a Pi4/5 when I already have a pi zero sitting unused.
Running Domoticz and Dashticz beta on Raspberry Pi OS 32 bit - has anyone had success with 64 bit?

Desktop access from Ubuntu Linux
lwolf
Posts: 216
Joined: Saturday 10 November 2018 18:29
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by lwolf »

tarmacalastair wrote: Wednesday 31 January 2024 17:48 Thank you so much for doing this lwolf. Running

Code: Select all

sudo bash -c "$(curl -sSfL https://iot.sajatfelhom.eu/domoticz/install.sh)"
as instructed on your page worked brilliantly.
You are welcome! :)
tarmacalastair wrote: Wednesday 31 January 2024 17:48 This was the first time I had tried using a PiZero after about 8 years of using Domoticz and I was so disappointed to see that it didn't work. I'd just got the zero out of a drawer thinking it would be perfect for monitoring my UPS and a couple of temperature sensors where the main Domoticz Pi is the other side of a solid wall so the sensors will not work and I can't justify spending £50+ for a Pi4/5 when I already have a pi zero sitting unused.
I'm also using an RPI Zero W for my home server, as it consumes 5V 0.12A, and more than perfect to serve my ~20 sensor.
ajongen70
Posts: 10
Joined: Sunday 25 February 2024 0:28
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2024.3
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by ajongen70 »

willemd wrote: Monday 15 January 2024 19:49
Yes, don't close Putty and don't put your PC to sleep.

I have no clue about the error, not much info, but indeed, it is worth trying to remove previous left-overs and try again...
If really needed do it fully from scratch, but I would try moving backwards in steps.
What I did to not have to keep Putty open is put all the commands in a shell script e.g. step2.sh (chmod a+x to make it executable):

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
wget https://archives.boost.io/release/1.83.0/source/boost_1_83_0.tar.gz
tar -xzf boost_1_83_0.tar.gz
rm boost_1_83_0.tar.gz
cd boost_1_83_0
./bootstrap.sh
./b2 stage threading=multi link=static --with-thread --with-system
sudo ./b2 install threading=multi link=static --with-thread --with-system
cd ..
sudo rm -Rf boost_1_83_0/
Then start it using:

Code: Select all

./step2.sh >> step2.log &
This will start it in the background and store the output in step2.log. Using "cat step2.log" gives you an indication on how far the process is.

I am now looking on adapting the makerelease and the makebeta scripts to create an automatic tar-file for easy distribution.
mvanrijnbach
Posts: 20
Joined: Monday 20 June 2022 21:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by mvanrijnbach »

Hi,

I tried to compile the 2023.3 version using the commands willemd posted on the 10th of January 2024, but after I run the command 'cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release CMakeLists.txt' I constantly get the message that certain modules are missing. After I install them I get the message: could NOT find Boost. Now after running the installation of all the boost libs I get the error: 'Processing triggers for libc-bin (2.28-10+rpt2+rpi1+deb10u2) ...
Error: Timeout was reached'

I don't know how to solve a time-out error. Can anyone help me with this?

Best regards, Michiel.
willemd
Posts: 621
Joined: Saturday 21 September 2019 17:55
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: 2024.1
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by willemd »

mvanrijnbach wrote: Tuesday 26 March 2024 22:58 Hi,

I tried to compile the 2023.3 version using the commands willemd posted on the 10th of January 2024, but after I run the command 'cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release CMakeLists.txt' I constantly get the message that certain modules are missing. After I install them I get the message: could NOT find Boost. Now after running the installation of all the boost libs I get the error: 'Processing triggers for libc-bin (2.28-10+rpt2+rpi1+deb10u2) ...
Error: Timeout was reached'

I don't know how to solve a time-out error. Can anyone help me with this?

Best regards, Michiel.
Don't know how to solve these specifics, but wondering why your installation did not work: did you install a large enough swapspace and did you ensure your ssh session was not closed due to inactivity during the installation? Seems modules are missing maybe because of interrupted installation?
mvanrijnbach
Posts: 20
Joined: Monday 20 June 2022 21:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by mvanrijnbach »

Hi willemd,

thanks for your reply. I did not create a swap space, I guess I might have to. I only have a few hundred MB space left after installing everything (total disk space 4.7 GB). I'm connecting through a VNC session and the ssh session is not closed during the make process. So I might have to create some swap space and I think I have to follow the procedure more closely as well.

Best regards, Michiel.
mvanrijnbach
Posts: 20
Joined: Monday 20 June 2022 21:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by mvanrijnbach »

Hi willemd,

how much disk space is needed for the boost-libraries? I had like 800 MB space, but during the tar command I run out of disk space. My disk is only 4.7 GB and most of the space is taken up by libraries. I have no idea how to free up more space.

Best regards, Michiel.
mvanrijnbach
Posts: 20
Joined: Monday 20 June 2022 21:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by mvanrijnbach »

By the way, I have a RPi Model B+ V1. Does anyone have a compiled version of Domoticz for this model. If I want to compile it from scratch I don't have enough disk space for the installation of the boost libraries.

Best regards, Michiel.
User avatar
gizmocuz
Posts: 2350
Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: beta
Location: Top of the world
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by gizmocuz »

That's not the best raspberry pi out there.
This one is known for causing corruptions with the sd card.
Best to get yourself a V3 or better (or an oDroid)
Quality outlives Quantity!
mvanrijnbach
Posts: 20
Joined: Monday 20 June 2022 21:37
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: After updating on Rpi Zero, Domoticz stopped working. Please for help !!!

Post by mvanrijnbach »

Hi Gizmocuz,
yeah, it's an older RPi, but I never had any problems with it. Domoticz has been running without issues for years. However, I think the memory/disk space is too small to compile Domoticz.
Best regards, Michiel.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests