Page 2 of 2
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Thursday 26 January 2017 11:07
by Freakstreet
Hi,
You won't be able to get the stove status unless you know the last command it has received, the stove isn't sending any data.
Maybe you can try hacking the green and led status to know if is is on/switching on/off/switching off
Who can tell me what's the status of the domoticz thermostat4 integration status ?
I see in the code that a lot has been implemented but is it functional yet ?
If far from being operational, I can write a python script that can manage the stove from temp and switches, but I'd need to know how to send the serial commands to the RFXCom from domoticz with json.
Anyway, If the developers need beta testing, I'm ready.
Regards,
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Sunday 22 October 2017 15:36
by martincz
Hi,
Did anyone got any further on this subject?
Greetings,
Martin
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Friday 15 December 2017 19:30
by funky
hello
I'm really looking forward to a MCZ pellet stove working with RFXCom protocol. @the rfx com site the mcz pellet stove is already supported. The only thing what has to be done is making a python script to let it work with the Thermostat4 protocol.
Unfortunately i do not have the development skills. Is there any developer wich want to help developing this. I like to be the beta tester.
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Tuesday 12 June 2018 9:54
by Ries
This would be great to control through domoticz
I dont like the noisy fans of the stove to be at full power.
I’d like to control the fan based on on a PIR.
Turnoff the stove when at a certain temperature
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Sunday 06 January 2019 23:18
by funky
Hey everybody.
How Is it going with the implementation of the MCZ pellet stove. I already got it working by the RFXmngr. But unfortunately it is not supported in domoticz. I saw the owner of domotica was working on it in 2016. Is there any progress? How can I help?
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Tuesday 19 February 2019 13:04
by emielfellinger
Would be great if this would work in the future.
My plans are to use domoticz to control the room / floor temperature based on temp-sensors en motion-sensors in the various rooms to calculate and average floor temperature.
Domoticz then has to be able to control all heating systems which are MCZ Vivo 80 for the ground floor and CV system for the 1st floor and bedrooms.
The CV part (Toon Thermostat) is working already like charm. Just do know how to get the MCZ stove and its fan settings working.
Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Friday 12 July 2019 19:56
by Kouwe
I would like to reopen another subject, namely that relating to the MCZ pellet stove.
The RFXCOM offers the possibility to control an MCZ pellet stove. I managed to find out the code and that part works. I get a message back. It is only not possible to create a virtual sensor in Domoticz so far. An attempt has been made but I believe that the administrator of Domoticz has stopped it for safety reasons. But in my humble opinion, operating the MCZ pellet stove with a remote control (a real one or a virtual one via Domoticz) is no different than operating the central heating.
Is there anyone who is able to make the code for controlling the MCZ available through Domoticz? Unfortunately I don't have the knowledge to do that myself. I can provide information based on my own remote control and the generated code from RFXCOM.
I want to use this virtual remote control this winter to automate my heating. Below a certain temperature, the pellet stove has to preheat the room to make it easier for the heat pump and to support the boiler as little as possible.
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Wednesday 29 April 2020 10:42
by guyschwartzmans
Is there an update on this subject? I have a MCZ Vivo 80 Hydro I would like to control. Hope that there is some update on this.
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Friday 20 November 2020 19:17
by cazadeis
Hi,
I send orders to my stove with Rfxmngr. It works, I don't know how to interface the RFXCom so that it sends the work orders
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Friday 04 December 2020 15:36
by iganin
I would like to detect that MCZ stove is switched on or off by the remote as i have no intention to control it with Domoticz. Is there a solution?
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Sunday 06 December 2020 13:21
by domtag
With the help of jeedom I figured out which codes you should use to control the stove.
Manual for a linux box, in outline:
1. find out the code for your stove with the rfxcom windows software.
2. Install the jpnevulator package (sudo apt install jpnevulator). This allows you to write codes to your USB port.
3. make a simple shell script for each action, e.g. turn stove on:
#!/bin/sh
jpnevulator -w -t /dev/ttyUSB0 -f /path-to-textfile/stove-on.txt
(/dev/ttyUSB0 is the usb port to which your rfxcom is connected. This can of course differ per installation.)
Save the script in the domoticz/scripts folder.
In the text file you just put the code, followed by an empty line.
Example stove on, fan speed 1, pellet feed 1:
0c430002xxxxxx010100010100
Explanation:
0c430002 is always the same
xxxxxx is the code for your stove
The 4 digits after that are the fan speed: 0100 is speed 0, 0101 is speed 1, 0102 is speed 2 and so on.
The next 4 digits are the pellet feed: 0000, 0001, 0002 and so on
The last 4 digits indicate whether the stove should be on or off: 0100 is on, 0000 is off.
You can only control the heater with RFXcom, because this device supports a transmission frequency of 434.5 MHz.
The last step is to call the shell scripts with Domoticz, but that's a piece of cake.
Be careful not to set the pellet feed higher than the ventilator speed.
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Wednesday 24 November 2021 10:40
by leonardo
domtag wrote: ↑Sunday 06 December 2020 13:21
The 4 digits after that are the fan speed: 0100 is speed 0, 0101 is speed 1, 0102 is speed 2 and so on.
Hello
My stove has TWO fans, I cannot understand how to control them independently...
I tried to send fan command like 0101, 0201, 0001 and similar but it seems it doesn't work.. is there anyone who can please clear it up for me?
thanks a lot, Leo
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Wednesday 24 November 2021 12:12
by leonardo
Hello I got all the info from Bert, I'm going to correct my code, as soon as it's OK I'll share it to help other users.
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Wednesday 24 November 2021 17:19
by leonardo
Ok I did this script:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
# Counter routine (Sequence)
if [ -e /tmp/mcz.seq ] ; then
read cnt < /tmp/mcz.seq
else
cnt=0
fi
if [ $(($cnt)) -gt 255 ] ; then cnt=0; fi
SQ=`printf '%x' $cnt`
if [ ${#SQ} = 1 ] ; then SQ="0$SQ" ; fi
PL="0c" # PacketLength Don't modify
PT="43" # Packet Type 43 (thermostat4=MCZ) Don't modify
ST="01" # SubType: 00=1FAN 01=2FAN 02=3FAN Set your type
#SQ=Counter # Sequence Number 00-FF Automatically calculated
ID=aabbcc # U1+U2+U3: ID Stove Set your ID
BE=01 # Beep Up to you
# ARGUMENTS
#F1=FAN1 # 0-6 (6=auto)
#F2=FAN2 # 0-6 (6=auto)
#F3=FAN3 # 0-6 (6=auto)
#PP=PELLET # 1-5
#M=MODE # 0=off 1=manual 2=auto 3=eco
while getopts f:g:h:p:m: option
do
case "${option}"
in
f)F1=0$((${OPTARG}));;
g)F2=0$((${OPTARG}));;
h)F3=0$((${OPTARG}));;
p)PP=0$((${OPTARG}));;
m)MODE=${OPTARG}
case "$MODE" in
auto)
M="02"
;;
on)
M="01"
;;
off)
M="00"
;;
eco)
M="03"
;;
esac
;;
esac
done
echo "SQ : $SQ"
echo "fan1 : $F1"
echo "fan2 : $F2"
echo "fan3 : $F3"
echo "pellet : $PP"
echo "mode : $M ($MODE)"
STRING="$PL$PT$ST$SQ$ID$BE$F1$F2$F3$PP$M"
echo $STRING
# send command
echo $STRING | jpnevulator -w -t /dev/ttyUSB0
# update counter
(( cnt ++ ))
echo $cnt > /tmp/mcz.seq
this is based on info got from rfxcom. The command is sent with 13 Bytes:
Code: Select all
BYTE 1 packetlength;
BYTE 2 packettype;
BYTE 3 subtype;
BYTE 4 seqnbr;
BYTE 5 unitcode1;
BYTE 6 unitcode2;
BYTE 7 unitcode3;
BYTE 8 beep;
BYTE 9 fan1_speed;
BYTE 10 fan2_speed: 4;
BYTE 11 fan3_speed: 4;
BYTE 12 flame_power;
BYTE 13 mode;
packetlength: Packet length (this byte not included) = 0x0C
packettype: 0x43 = thermostat4
subtype: 0x00 = MCZ 1 fan model 0x01 = MCZ 2 fan model 0x02 = MCZ 3 fan model
seqnbr: Sequence number. This field contains a sequence number from 0x00 to 0xFF.
unitcode1 to unitcode3: unitcode = 0x01 to 0xFFFFFF
beep: 0 = no beep (used for repeated commands without beep) 1 = beep (used for the first command send with beep)
fan1_speed: 0 to 6 (6 is Auto)
fan2_speed: 0 to 6 (6 is Auto)
fan3_speed: 0 to 6 (6 is Auto)
flame_power: 1 to 5
mode: 0x0=Off 0x1=Manual 0x2=Auto 0x3=Eco
Dont' forget to get your stove ID and set it on the script.
Hope to help!
Regards, Leonardo
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Saturday 03 September 2022 17:21
by janbbe
Hi Leonardo,
We are trying to follow your script and other explanations, but we are not very handy withing Domoticz, unitol now we are only using the default functions for shelly and sompfy
.
Do you have a step by step descripting how to get the stove functions finally in the dashboard of Domoticacz?
Regards, Jan
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Tuesday 20 September 2022 17:09
by leonardo
Hello Jan, sorry for replying so late.
I created on Domoticz a "selector" with four options:
Off
low
mid
high
the options point to the script (you have to check it on a shell before using it, first of all you must get the correct ID following rfxtrx instructions), after this you can *for example* use it like this:
OFF: script://mcz.sh -f1 -g1 -p1 -m 0
LOW: script://mcz.sh -f1 -g1 -p1 -m 1
MID: script://mcz.sh -f2 -g3 -p3 -m 1
HIGH: script://mcz.sh -f3 -g6 -p5 -m 1
with this parameters you will have:
OFF: all off
LOW: Pellet speed=1, FAN1=1, FAN2=1
MID: Pellet speed=3, FAN1=2, FAN2=3
HIGH: Pellet Speed=5, FAN1=3, FAN2=auto
I have to say: I have a TWO FANS fireplace, if you have one or three, you have to modify something on the first lines of the code.
HTH, Leo
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Tuesday 20 September 2022 17:31
by janbbe
Thanks a lot for your replay!
I have found the correct ID already and I am able to control the stove with the tools which becomes with the rfxtrx. So far so good
I do have the same kind of stove as you have, my stove has 2 fans as well.
Coming days I will follow up your tips and keep you informed.
Thanks again so far.
Regards, Jan
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Tuesday 20 September 2022 17:34
by leonardo
that's great, if you can drive the stove with windows program, you will have no problems with my script.
DON'T FORGET to add the "jpnevulator" package, it's the core package to send commands via usb serial!
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Thursday 12 September 2024 16:50
by Ries
The rfxcom manager application suggests that fan2 and fan3 share a byte. Are you sure Leonardo that these are seperate bytes?
Re: Add the MCZ pellet stove
Posted: Saturday 14 December 2024 15:53
by pagodas
Hello,
I change my os with the raspberry pi OS.
And now i can't send command to my rfxcom
it work with my old version, with the same rfxcom.
1023 firmware (it work on windows)
I
before i use
#!/bin/bash
sudo /bin/echo -e '\x0C\x43\x01\x00\x6C\x51\x02\x01\x01\x01\x01\x00\x00' > /dev/ttyUSB-RFX433-A
but i received
C1Q
I try with your bash,
bash mcz.sh -f1 -g1 -p1 -m 1
SQ : 01
fan1 : 01
fan2 : 01
fan3 :
pellet : 01
mode : (1)
0c4301016c510201010101
But nothing
Have you got an idea?