How to update RFLink firmware

433Mhz opensource Receiver & Transmitter.

Moderators: leecollings, Stuntteam

marcels
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday 30 October 2016 10:41
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by marcels »

Thanks, was already trying to update the firmware using the CL command mentioned in the 3rd post.
This working flawlessly!
blauwebuis
Posts: 331
Joined: Wednesday 21 December 2016 9:11
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: current
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by blauwebuis »

If you own a Mac, then installing is a bit of a search at the moment. Is it possible to add the explanation on how to do it to this topic start, or even add it to the RFLink website?
On OS X you can do it as follows:
Download the Arduino App from https://www.arduino.cc and install it.
Open a terminal session.
From the directory where the Arduino App is located run the commands below whereby replacing /dev/cu.usbmodem411 and RFLink_v1-2/RFLink.cpp.hex with your own values.

CODE:
Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -v -p atmega2560 -c stk500 -P /dev/cu.usbmodem411 -b 115200 -D -U flash:w:RFLink_v1-2/RFLink.cpp.hex:i -C Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf

Here's some text that may be useful:

--

How to flash RFLink to your Arduino Mega if you have a mac

1.
If you have a cheap Arduino clone from China with the CH340 chip, you will also need the new signed drivers for Mac OS. The new Mac OS Sierra is a bit more difficult about what drivers it allows to be installed. Download the PKG file here, open it, and follow the installation instructions.
https://github.com/adrianmihalko/ch340g ... s-x-driver

2.
Download the firmware zip form the RFLink website. Unpack it, and look for the hex file that is inside it. Then copy that to the exact same directory as your Arduino app. My advice: (temporarily) place both in a folder in your downloads directory. Navigate to that directory via the terminal app. If you don't know how to do this, look it up. (or just open Terminal and type "cd Downloads/name-of-the-folder-you-just-created")

3.
Run this form the folder where the Arduino app is also located. In the command below (which should all be typed on a single line), you may need to change the "RFLink.cpp.hex" filename to the name of the file that you have. You may also need to change the "/dev/cu.wchusbserial1421" bit to whatever the Arduino app shows you as the USB serial port under its tools menu.

Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -v -p atmega2560 -c stk500 -P /dev/cu.wchusbserial1421 -b 115200 -D -U flash:w:RFLink.cpp.hex:i -C Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf

4.
You are done. You can now move the Arduino app to your apps folder, or delete it, whatever you want. You also don't need the hex file anymore.

--

It would also be cool if Domoticz could flash an Arduino for the first time, besides being able to update it.
tparvais
Posts: 10
Joined: Saturday 01 February 2014 14:34
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by tparvais »

Hello

I just receive my RFLINK kit. I connect Arduino Mega to my Win10 64b (last arduino IDE installed).
COM port is 6, via USB. I didn't use external power supply (should I) ? RFLink board not connected

I launch RFLinkLoader.exe
The autoscan does not detect that Arduino is on com6. I do it manually. I select D:\temp\rflink\RFLink.cpp.hex and I press Upload.

Error message: it cannot detect RFLink gateway.
By using logging window, I don't have much more info: it's like there is nothing behind COM6. (in device mgr, I see correctly COM6 Arduino MEGA)
I tried on 2 different PC's, same behavior
Any idea ?
Ewaldharmsen
Posts: 130
Joined: Tuesday 07 February 2017 15:00
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by Ewaldharmsen »

I have more or less the same problem as tparvais

I have an UDOO QUAD, which has an Arduino DUE onboard.
I have a working connection to it via COM3 (at least I can upload sketches to it.).

Before I buy the RFLINK I want to make sure that it is working, so I connected the FS1000A transmitter and it receiver to the device.
I connected as on http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/wiring

So:
device arduino DUE
Transmitter
Ground Ground
VCC Pin 15
Data Pin 14

Receiver
Ground Ground
VCC 5V
Data Pin 19

However when I open up the tool it sees the COM3 port, bu when I hit the upload butto the program stops responding.
When I hit the "Serial port logging" I get the "Error message: it cannot detect RFLink gateway." message.

ANyone can help?
User avatar
Stuntteam
Posts: 399
Joined: Wednesday 06 May 2015 16:39
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by Stuntteam »

RFLink needs an Arduino Mega, available for as low as 5 euros..
-=# RFLink Gateway Development Team #=-
Introduction: http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/
Generic RFLink Support forum: http://www.esp8266.nu/forum/viewforum.php?f=8
Ewaldharmsen
Posts: 130
Joined: Tuesday 07 February 2017 15:00
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by Ewaldharmsen »

ah ok thanks
HFman
Posts: 82
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 20:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.1174
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by HFman »

I wrote next small script :

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
clear
echo "RFlink update script"

cd
mkdir RFlink
cd RFlink
mkdir RFlink48
cd RFlink48

wget -O RFlink48.zip "https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0BwEYW5Q6bg_ZLWFJUkY4bDZacms"
unzip \*.zip
service domoticz stop
avrdude -v -p atmega2560 -c stk500 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -b 115200 -D -U flash:w:/home/pi/RFlink/RFlink48/RFLink.cpp.hex:i
service domoticz start

works for me..
Raspberry PI 3 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy CO2 + Fancontrol - RF-Link - zigbee2mqqt -
freijn
Posts: 536
Joined: Friday 23 December 2016 16:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version: Stable
Location: Netherlands Purmerend
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by freijn »

WhaAAAA LOVE your script!! Many thanks !

Frank
To0wnn
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday 06 April 2016 0:53
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by To0wnn »

Where can i find avrdude.spk for synology?
User avatar
jumbotroll
Posts: 793
Joined: Tuesday 13 January 2015 14:36
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version: Beta
Location: Oslo,Norway
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by jumbotroll »

To0wnn wrote: Wednesday 01 November 2017 21:57 Where can i find avrdude.spk for synology?
Try here :-)
http://www.jadahl.com/avrdude/
If you like the work I do for synology and domoticz, I appreciate a donation.
https://paypal.me/Jumbotroll
Regards
Jumbotroll
http://www.jadahl.com
To0wnn
Posts: 10
Joined: Wednesday 06 April 2016 0:53
Target OS: NAS (Synology & others)
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by To0wnn »

jumbotroll wrote: Thursday 02 November 2017 18:30
To0wnn wrote: Wednesday 01 November 2017 21:57 Where can i find avrdude.spk for synology?
Try here :-)
http://www.jadahl.com/avrdude/
Thnx!
User avatar
FearNaBoinne
Posts: 144
Joined: Tuesday 30 April 2019 10:08
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2021.1
Location: Sector 0
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by FearNaBoinne »

Vey nice! Now to find a way to program it over the ESP8266... ;)
RasPi, Raspbian , Domoticz v2021.1, Z-Wave Stick, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, Hue, Tuya (Tasmota/Mosquitto with Discovery), ESP(easy), MySensors.org, OTGW
migila
Posts: 4
Joined: Monday 30 March 2020 21:34
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: How to update RFLink firmware

Post by migila »

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests