Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Dashticz, alternative dashboard based on HTML, CSS, jQuery

Moderators: leecollings, htilburgs, robgeerts

User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by clinkadink »

So this is how it works for my Hikvision IP cameras, DS-2CD2142FWD-I, firmware v5.5.0 build 170725.

If I paste any of my urls into a browser, I can use the old (less secure) method, by prefixing the url with my credentials. I.e. this will work in a browser:

Code: Select all

http://username:[email protected]/Streaming/Channels/102/picture
However, if I try to use the same url as above (with prefixed credentials) in any system (including Dashticz) it will not work.
I believe this because it is basic authentication over http, which is a no-no, especially when not called directly by you.

However, the following method does work (for me) via Dashticz (and most other locally hosted systems):

Code: Select all

http://192.168.1.99/Streaming/Channels/102/picture?user=username&pwd=password
As for the MJPEG url, this what I have found out - it may be wrong, and the information may have changed. Please check for yourself.
  • MJPEG is only enabled on models with firmware above v4 (which is most nowadays).
  • I have only managed to display the substream (aka channel 2 or 102), not the main stream (channel 1 or 101). Even if I put 101 in the url, it will still display the substream (which is lower resolution).
  • You need to change the substream video encoding to MJPEG on the camera. Image > Video & Audio > Stream Type = "Sub Stream", Video Encoding Type = "M_JPEG" > Save.
I am using the above settings for my 8 x Hikvision cameras, which is what you can see in the earlier posts. I have included one of my camera blocks below, with the Hikvision urls, both the image (picture) and the video (httppreview).

Code: Select all

blocks['camera_1'] = {
	type: 'camera',
	imageUrl: 'http://192.168.1.99/Streaming/Channels/102/picture?user=username&pwd=password',
	videoUrl: 'http://192.168.1.99/Streaming/Channels/102/httppreview?user=username&pwd=password',
	refresh: 3000,
	width: 6,
	height: 300
}
As a result, my camera image is updated every 3 seconds in the block, but when I click on it, I get a fullscreen video stream of the camera.

I hope this helps.
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
KillerBENL
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 09 April 2020 11:18
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by KillerBENL »

Is it maybe possible to add refresh to the videoUrl because my camera only has the option for imageUrl?
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by clinkadink »

I have updated the Camera block.

Now, if you do not set the MJPEG "videoUrl", because you don't have one or cannot find one, it will use your "imageUrl" for the fullscreen image. It will use the "refresh" value to update the image every n milliseconds (like the block preview image).

Code: Select all

blocks['camera_1'] = {
	type: 'camera',
	imageUrl: "http://192.168.1.234:8080/camsnapshot.jpg?idx=1",
	refresh: 3000,
	width: 6,
	height: 300
}
If you have added the camera(s) to Domoticz, you can use the Domoticz camera url instead of the camera's own url.
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
jon205
Posts: 39
Joined: Monday 05 November 2018 16:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2022.2
Location: @home
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by jon205 »

clinkadink wrote: Tuesday 07 April 2020 17:47 It sounds as if your icons have a high z-index. Try adding this to your custom.css file.

Code: Select all

.cam-container .stream {
    z-index: 10000;
}
This didn't help for me. This is currently in my custom.css file:

Code: Select all

/*
CUSTOM CSS FILE
*/
.cam-container .stream {
    z-index: 10000;
}
Nothing more, nothing less. Anything else to change the z-ordering?

Jon.
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by clinkadink »

jon205 wrote: Thursday 09 April 2020 21:24
clinkadink wrote: Tuesday 07 April 2020 17:47 It sounds as if your icons have a high z-index. Try adding this to your custom.css file.

Code: Select all

.cam-container .stream {
    z-index: 10000;
}
This didn't help for me. This is currently in my custom.css file:

Code: Select all

/*
CUSTOM CSS FILE
*/
.cam-container .stream {
    z-index: 10000;
}
Nothing more, nothing less. Anything else to change the z-ordering?

Jon.
I replied to nfuse because he had icons showing through his cam stream. What issue do you have?
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
jon205
Posts: 39
Joined: Monday 05 November 2018 16:17
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2022.2
Location: @home
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by jon205 »

The same: icons showing through the stream when clicked on the preview. It definetely looks like a Z-ordering issue.

Jon.
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by clinkadink »

Have you tried to investigate with DevTools in Chrome? It is difficult to diagnose remotely with CSS. There are so many factors.

What are the icons from, what blocks? Maybe a copy of your config.js (redacted!) would help. I might be able to see whats going on then.

But if it were me, I would click on the preview, go fullscreen, then press F12, and inspect it with the inspector tool (arrow in a box).
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
janumix
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 06 November 2019 15:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by janumix »

Hi, I've got exactly the same issue. F12 -> console shows repeated error:
js/blocks.js:95 Error calling getStatus TypeError: Cannot read property 'Data' of undefined
at getStatus_57 (<anonymous>:11:22)
at getCustomFunction (js/blocks.js:93)
at triggerStatus (js/blocks.js:941)
at deviceUpdateHandler (js/blocks.js:144)
at Object.callback (js/blocks.js:204)
at js/domoticz-api.js:458
at Array.forEach (<anonymous>)
at ListObservable.set (js/domoticz-api.js:457)
at setOnChange (js/domoticz-api.js:287)
at _setAllDevices (js/domoticz-api.js:313)
getCustomFunction @ js/blocks.js:95
Changing value z-index: 100000 results only in disapearing "^" icon at the bottom of the screeen.

BR
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by clinkadink »

janumix wrote: Friday 10 April 2020 10:42 Hi, I've got exactly the same issue. F12 -> console shows repeated error:
js/blocks.js:95 Error calling getStatus TypeError: Cannot read property 'Data' of undefined
at getStatus_57 (<anonymous>:11:22)
at getCustomFunction (js/blocks.js:93)
at triggerStatus (js/blocks.js:941)
at deviceUpdateHandler (js/blocks.js:144)
at Object.callback (js/blocks.js:204)
at js/domoticz-api.js:458
at Array.forEach (<anonymous>)
at ListObservable.set (js/domoticz-api.js:457)
at setOnChange (js/domoticz-api.js:287)
at _setAllDevices (js/domoticz-api.js:313)
getCustomFunction @ js/blocks.js:95
Changing value z-index: 100000 results only in disapearing "^" icon at the bottom of the screeen.

BR
Thanks for this. This does not look like a camera issue. But more like a block issue. I am hoping Lokonli may know more.
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
KillerBENL
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 09 April 2020 11:18
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by KillerBENL »

clinkadink wrote: Thursday 09 April 2020 18:48 I have updated the Camera block.

Now, if you do not set the MJPEG "videoUrl", because you don't have one or cannot find one, it will use your "imageUrl" for the fullscreen image. It will use the "refresh" value to update the image every n milliseconds (like the block preview image).

Code: Select all

blocks['camera_1'] = {
	type: 'camera',
	imageUrl: "http://192.168.1.234:8080/camsnapshot.jpg?idx=1",
	refresh: 3000,
	width: 6,
	height: 300
}
If you have added the camera(s) to Domoticz, you can use the Domoticz camera url instead of the camera's own url.
Thanx for changing. I want to use higher resolution for the videoUrl is that possible?
snap.jpg?usr=live?JpegSize=S -> is for imageUrl
snap.jpg?usr=live?JpegSize=XL -> for videoUrl
HFman
Posts: 82
Joined: Thursday 02 March 2017 20:28
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: V4.1174
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by HFman »

clinkadink wrote: Wednesday 08 April 2020 21:40 So this is how it works for my Hikvision IP cameras, DS-2CD2142FWD-I, firmware v5.5.0 build 170725.

If I paste any of my urls into a browser, I can use the old (less secure) method, by prefixing the url with my credentials. I.e. this will work in a browser:

Code: Select all

http://username:[email protected]/Streaming/Channels/102/picture
However, if I try to use the same url as above (with prefixed credentials) in any system (including Dashticz) it will not work.
I believe this because it is basic authentication over http, which is a no-no, especially when not called directly by you.

However, the following method does work (for me) via Dashticz (and most other locally hosted systems):

Code: Select all

http://192.168.1.99/Streaming/Channels/102/picture?user=username&pwd=password
As for the MJPEG url, this what I have found out - it may be wrong, and the information may have changed. Please check for yourself.
  • MJPEG is only enabled on models with firmware above v4 (which is most nowadays).
  • I have only managed to display the substream (aka channel 2 or 102), not the main stream (channel 1 or 101). Even if I put 101 in the url, it will still display the substream (which is lower resolution).
  • You need to change the substream video encoding to MJPEG on the camera. Image > Video & Audio > Stream Type = "Sub Stream", Video Encoding Type = "M_JPEG" > Save.
I am using the above settings for my 8 x Hikvision cameras, which is what you can see in the earlier posts. I have included one of my camera blocks below, with the Hikvision urls, both the image (picture) and the video (httppreview).

Code: Select all

blocks['camera_1'] = {
	type: 'camera',
	imageUrl: 'http://192.168.1.99/Streaming/Channels/102/picture?user=username&pwd=password',
	videoUrl: 'http://192.168.1.99/Streaming/Channels/102/httppreview?user=username&pwd=password',
	refresh: 3000,
	width: 6,
	height: 300
}
As a result, my camera image is updated every 3 seconds in the block, but when I click on it, I get a fullscreen video stream of the camera.

I hope this helps.
Ok, thanks ! Will start with updating the camera's... Since mine is are the "chinese" version it takes a little more effort, but found on out it is possible now. After that i will try above (should run version 5.45 after updating).
Raspberry PI 3 - Opentherm Gateway + ESP8826 - EvoHome - ESPEasy CO2 + Fancontrol - RF-Link - zigbee2mqqt -
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by clinkadink »

KillerBENL wrote: Friday 10 April 2020 11:11 Thanx for changing. I want to use higher resolution for the videoUrl is that possible?
snap.jpg?usr=live?JpegSize=S -> is for imageUrl
snap.jpg?usr=live?JpegSize=XL -> for videoUrl
Unfortunately that's not possible. The videoUrl can only be used for video. If you want your fullscreen image to show your XL image, then you will need to add that to imageUrl.
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
KillerBENL
Posts: 9
Joined: Thursday 09 April 2020 11:18
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by KillerBENL »

clinkadink wrote: Friday 10 April 2020 13:00
KillerBENL wrote: Friday 10 April 2020 11:11 Thanx for changing. I want to use higher resolution for the videoUrl is that possible?
snap.jpg?usr=live?JpegSize=S -> is for imageUrl
snap.jpg?usr=live?JpegSize=XL -> for videoUrl
Unfortunately that's not possible. The videoUrl can only be used for video. If you want your fullscreen image to show your XL image, then you will need to add that to imageUrl.
Ok will do that. Thank you for the quick response
Lokonli
Posts: 2262
Joined: Monday 29 August 2016 22:40
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras

Post by Lokonli »

janumix wrote: Friday 10 April 2020 10:42 Hi, I've got exactly the same issue. F12 -> console shows repeated error:
js/blocks.js:95 Error calling getStatus TypeError: Cannot read property 'Data' of undefined
at getStatus_57 (<anonymous>:11:22)
at getCustomFunction (js/blocks.js:93)
at triggerStatus (js/blocks.js:941)
at deviceUpdateHandler (js/blocks.js:144)
at Object.callback (js/blocks.js:204)
at js/domoticz-api.js:458
at Array.forEach (<anonymous>)
at ListObservable.set (js/domoticz-api.js:457)
at setOnChange (js/domoticz-api.js:287)
at _setAllDevices (js/domoticz-api.js:313)
getCustomFunction @ js/blocks.js:95
Changing value z-index: 100000 results only in disapearing "^" icon at the bottom of the screeen.

BR
The getStatus_57 function is a function in custom.js.

In 3.4.2-beta there was a change in the interface.
See the following two links for examples of the new interface:
https://dashticz.readthedocs.io/en/beta ... fterupdate
https://dashticz.readthedocs.io/en/beta ... ther-block
janumix
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 06 November 2019 15:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Post by janumix »

Thanks for info - corrected.

Now, I can see following errors:
shot.jpg&d=1586549978000:1 GET http://192.168.100.32:8080/shot.jpg&d=1586549978000 404 (Not Found)
Image (async)
buildFragment @ bundle.js?t=1:37
domManip @ bundle.js?t=1:37
append @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ js/components/camera.js:52
mightThrow @ bundle.js?t=1:37
B @ bundle.js?t=1:37
setTimeout (async)
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fireWith @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fireWith @ bundle.js?t=1:37
Deferred.jQuery.each.b.<computed> @ bundle.js?t=1:37
load @ bundle.js?t=1:102
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:102
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fireWith @ bundle.js?t=1:37
done @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:37
load (async)
send @ bundle.js?t=1:37
ajax @ bundle.js?t=1:37
load @ bundle.js?t=1:102
(anonymous) @ js/components/camera.js:44
dispatch @ bundle.js?t=1:37
F.handle @ bundle.js?t=1:37
and
192.168.100.34/snap.jpg&d=1586549978000:1 GET http://192.168.100.34/snap.jpg&d=1586549978000 net::ERR_CONTENT_LENGTH_MISMATCH 200 (OK)
Image (async)
buildFragment @ bundle.js?t=1:37
domManip @ bundle.js?t=1:37
append @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ js/components/camera.js:52
mightThrow @ bundle.js?t=1:37
B @ bundle.js?t=1:37
setTimeout (async)
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fireWith @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fireWith @ bundle.js?t=1:37
Deferred.jQuery.each.b.<computed> @ bundle.js?t=1:37
load @ bundle.js?t=1:102
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:102
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fireWith @ bundle.js?t=1:37
done @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:37
load (async)
send @ bundle.js?t=1:37
ajax @ bundle.js?t=1:37
load @ bundle.js?t=1:102
(anonymous) @ js/components/camera.js:44
dispatch @ bundle.js?t=1:37
F.handle @ bundle.js?t=1:37
but please, take a look for blocks definitions (no port 8080 has been defined):
blocks['cam1'] = {
type: 'camera',
imageUrl: 'http://192.168.100.34/snap.jpg',
refresh: 1000,
width: 6,
height: 80
}

blocks['cam2'] = {
type: 'camera',
imageUrl: 'http://192.168.100.32:8080/shot.jpg',
// videoUrl: 'http://192.168.100.32:8080/browserfs.html', <- do not work
refresh: 1000,
width: 6,
height: 100
}
BR
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Post by clinkadink »

What happens when you use your Domoticz camera urls in the block?

The url format is "http://_Domoticz_IP_and_Port/camsnapshot.jpg?idx=1" for the first camera.

Example:

Code: Select all

blocks['camera_1'] = {
	type: 'camera',
	imageUrl: "http://192.168.1.234:8080/camsnapshot.jpg?idx=1",
	refresh: 3000,
	width: 6,
	height: 300
}
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
janumix
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 06 November 2019 15:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Post by janumix »

now console shows errors for the other 2 cammeras, but not one corrected via domoticz (on port 8080):

shot.jpg&d=1586620352733:1 GET http://192.168.100.35:8080/shot.jpg&d=1586620352733 404 (Not Found)
Image (async)
buildFragment @ bundle.js?t=1:37
domManip @ bundle.js?t=1:37
append @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ js/components/camera.js:52
mightThrow @ bundle.js?t=1:37
B @ bundle.js?t=1:37
setTimeout (async)
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:37
fire @ bundle.js?t=1:37
add @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ bundle.js?t=1:37
Deferred @ bundle.js?t=1:37
then @ bundle.js?t=1:37
(anonymous) @ js/components/camera.js:44
dispatch @ bundle.js?t=1:37
F.handle @ bundle.js?t=1:37
shot.jpg&d=1586620352733:1 GET http://192.168.100.32:8080/shot.jpg&d=1586620352733 404 (Not Found)
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Post by clinkadink »

It looks like you have added an image url to the "videoUrl" - which will not work.
If you don't have MJPEG video streams, you cannot use the "videoUrl".
If the Domoticz camera urls work, why not use them for the "imageUrl" for all camera blocks in Dashticz? If no videoUrl is present, the camera module will automatically use the imageUrl for the fullscreen (and refresh the image like in Domoticz).
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
janumix
Posts: 21
Joined: Wednesday 06 November 2019 15:32
Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
Domoticz version:
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Post by janumix »

I already posted blocks definitions:
blocks['kam1'] = {
type: 'camera',
// imageUrl: 'http://192.168.100.34/snap.jpg',
imageUrl: 'http://192.168.100.180:8080/camsnapshot.jpg?idx=2',
// videoUrl: 'http://192.168.100.34/snap.jpg',
refresh: 1000,
width: 6,
height: 80
}

blocks['kam2'] = {
type: 'camera',
imageUrl: 'http://192.168.100.32:8080/shot.jpg',
// videoUrl: 'http://192.168.100.32:8080/browserfs.html',
refresh: 1000,
width: 6,
height: 100
}


blocks['kam3'] = {
type: 'camera',
imageUrl: 'http://192.168.100.35:8080/shot.jpg',
//videoUrl: 'http://192.168.100.35:8080/shot.jpg',
refresh: 1000,
width: 6,
height: 100
}
As you can see no videourl has been used.
Two of them are mjpeg streams (IP Webcam app on android phones) but it's not the problem I mentioned. The issue I replied to is about "ghost" icons on full screen view (when you click on image from camera). Adding "z-index" to custom.css do not help.

BR
User avatar
clinkadink
Posts: 417
Joined: Tuesday 31 December 2019 1:15
Target OS: Linux
Domoticz version: 2020.2
Location: Swindon, UK
Contact:

Re: Dashticz IP Cameras - Features, Fixes & Updates

Post by clinkadink »

I mentioned the videoUrl because of this line in your devtools:

Code: Select all

shot.jpg&d=1586620352733:1 GET http://192.168.100.32:8080/shot.jpg&d=1586620352733 404 (Not Found)
It contains the "d=" parameter, which is only added to the videoUrl string.

Anyway, I may have found out why the block icons are showing through the fullscreen camera image. I have committed a fix, once it has been applied to the beta, I will let you know, so you can test it. I can't test it, as I cannot replicate this issue.

Cheers ;)
"UI is the saddle, the stirrups, & the reins. UX is the feeling you get being able to ride the horse."
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest