WiFi Doorbell Topic is solved
Moderators: leecollings, remb0
-
- Posts: 230
- Joined: Sunday 14 July 2013 20:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 4.10233
- Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
The js version seems to work... But no clue here how to interper that..
Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G935F met Tapatalk
Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G935F met Tapatalk
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Thursday 04 February 2016 13:06
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 3.530
- Location: Emmen, Drenthe
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
There is an update for the Ring HomeBridge plugin, the plugin retries connecting to the API when a connection attempt fails. Since the latest update I've been abled to use the homebridge plugin again.
-
- Posts: 230
- Joined: Sunday 14 July 2013 20:21
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 4.10233
- Location: Alkmaar, The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
Can you explain how you've used it with domoticz .?martijnm wrote:There is an update for the Ring HomeBridge plugin, the plugin retries connecting to the API when a connection attempt fails. Since the latest update I've been abled to use the homebridge plugin again.
Re: WiFi Doorbell
I am also interested
RaspberryPi - RFLink - Zwave - WH2600
Domoticz : 2020.2 | Dashticz : V3.12 Master | dzvents : 3.0.2 | Python : 3.7.3
Domoticz : 2020.2 | Dashticz : V3.12 Master | dzvents : 3.0.2 | Python : 3.7.3
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Thursday 04 February 2016 13:06
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 3.530
- Location: Emmen, Drenthe
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
I was replying to Clemen about the HomeBridge plugin. This plugin is not compatible with Domoticz, but it adds Ring support to Apple's HomeKit.
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Wednesday 03 August 2016 8:25
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 3.4834
- Location: Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
Huge kick here...
I was thinking about purchasing the Ring 2.
Is this compatible with domoticz already?
I would like to use my current 433mhz chimes which I have placed in my house so i do not have to buy the chimes from Ring...
I do have a klikaanklikuit ACDB-7000B connected to my current doorbell. If I can connect this to the Ring 2 it would be fine as well...
Any experience with this?
thx...
I was thinking about purchasing the Ring 2.
Is this compatible with domoticz already?
I would like to use my current 433mhz chimes which I have placed in my house so i do not have to buy the chimes from Ring...
I do have a klikaanklikuit ACDB-7000B connected to my current doorbell. If I can connect this to the Ring 2 it would be fine as well...
Any experience with this?
thx...
-
- Posts: 497
- Joined: Friday 22 May 2015 12:21
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 4.11083
- Location: Asten NB Nederland
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
also interested as if the ring 2 is compatible with domoticz.
Your mind is like a parachute,
It only works when it is opened!
RPI4 several Fibaro, KaKu, Neocoolcam switches, Z-Wave, Zigbee2Mqtt, Ikea bulbs and remote, Zigbee temp nodes
It only works when it is opened!
RPI4 several Fibaro, KaKu, Neocoolcam switches, Z-Wave, Zigbee2Mqtt, Ikea bulbs and remote, Zigbee temp nodes
-
- Posts: 497
- Joined: Friday 22 May 2015 12:21
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 4.11083
- Location: Asten NB Nederland
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
Any news or advantage on this?
Your mind is like a parachute,
It only works when it is opened!
RPI4 several Fibaro, KaKu, Neocoolcam switches, Z-Wave, Zigbee2Mqtt, Ikea bulbs and remote, Zigbee temp nodes
It only works when it is opened!
RPI4 several Fibaro, KaKu, Neocoolcam switches, Z-Wave, Zigbee2Mqtt, Ikea bulbs and remote, Zigbee temp nodes
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Friday 31 August 2018 7:14
- Target OS: Windows
- Domoticz version:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
same problem here!
-
- Posts: 497
- Joined: Friday 22 May 2015 12:21
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 4.11083
- Location: Asten NB Nederland
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
don't know why this item is marked als solved, because it isn't
Your mind is like a parachute,
It only works when it is opened!
RPI4 several Fibaro, KaKu, Neocoolcam switches, Z-Wave, Zigbee2Mqtt, Ikea bulbs and remote, Zigbee temp nodes
It only works when it is opened!
RPI4 several Fibaro, KaKu, Neocoolcam switches, Z-Wave, Zigbee2Mqtt, Ikea bulbs and remote, Zigbee temp nodes
-
- Posts: 221
- Joined: Thursday 23 January 2014 12:43
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 3.8153
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
I’ve connected my Ring 2 doorbell with Domoticz by using a python library from here:
https://github.com/tchellomello/python-ring-doorbell
I have a dummy doorbell switch set up called doorbell (in this case idx 1096) and I use a python app running continually (as a service) to poll for a push on the doorbell
The library has other functions, but I only needed to register the doorbell push with Domoticz
For info how to start this python script as a service have a butchers at:
https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... 937476d22b
https://github.com/tchellomello/python-ring-doorbell
I have a dummy doorbell switch set up called doorbell (in this case idx 1096) and I use a python app running continually (as a service) to poll for a push on the doorbell
Code: Select all
from ring_doorbell import Ring
from time import sleep
import urllib2
ringUsername='MyUsername’
ringPassword='MyPassword'
myring = Ring(ringUsername,ringPassword)
# Now loop infinitely
while(1):
data = myring.doorbells[0].check_alerts()
if data==True:
urllib2.urlopen('http://192.168.0.52:8080/json.htm?type=command¶m=switchlight&idx=1096&switchcmd=On’)
sleep(1)
urllib2.urlopen('http://192.168.0.52:8080/json.htm?type=command¶m=switchlight&idx=1096&switchcmd=Off’)
# Loop around
sleep(1)
For info how to start this python script as a service have a butchers at:
https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... 937476d22b
- FearNaBoinne
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Tuesday 30 April 2019 10:08
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2021.1
- Location: Sector 0
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
I have modified the script somewhat to distinguish between bell-press and motion alerts.
I created 2 virtual switch devices, changed one to type doorbell (565 in the below) and one to type motion sensor (566 in the below), and the script now looks like this:
Note that this script runs on my Domoticz server. If it is running on a different machine, replace 127.0.0.1 with the actual IP of the Domoticz host!
PS: The whole json.dumps(ast.literal_eval(myring.doorbells[0].alert)) part is necessary as json.loads only accepts JSON with double quotes, and the Ring returns JSON with single quotes.
PPS: EDIT I noticed I had pasted the wrong version of my script. Guess the older one was still stuck in my clipboard. The difference is small ("%s" % myring.doorbells[0].alert to cast it to a string for ast to consume, otherwise it may error!) but important...
I created 2 virtual switch devices, changed one to type doorbell (565 in the below) and one to type motion sensor (566 in the below), and the script now looks like this:
Code: Select all
#!/usr/bin/python
from ring_doorbell import Ring
from time import sleep
import urllib2
import json
import ast
ringUsername='<RingUsernameHere>'
ringPassword='<RingPasswordHere>'
myring = Ring(ringUsername,ringPassword)
# Now loop infinitely
while(1):
data = myring.doorbells[0].check_alerts()
if data==True:
alert = json.loads(json.dumps(ast.literal_eval("%s" % myring.doorbells[0].alert)))
if alert['motion'] ==True:
urllib2.urlopen('http://127.0.0.1:8080/json.htm?type=command¶m=switchlight&idx=566&switchcmd=On')
sleep(1)
urllib2.urlopen('http://127.0.0.1:8080/json.htm?type=command¶m=switchlight&idx=566&switchcmd=Off')
else:
urllib2.urlopen('http://127.0.0.1:8080/json.htm?type=command¶m=switchlight&idx=565&switchcmd=On')
sleep(1)
urllib2.urlopen('http://127.0.0.1:8080/json.htm?type=command¶m=switchlight&idx=565&switchcmd=Off')
# Loop around
sleep(1)
PS: The whole json.dumps(ast.literal_eval(myring.doorbells[0].alert)) part is necessary as json.loads only accepts JSON with double quotes, and the Ring returns JSON with single quotes.
PPS: EDIT I noticed I had pasted the wrong version of my script. Guess the older one was still stuck in my clipboard. The difference is small ("%s" % myring.doorbells[0].alert to cast it to a string for ast to consume, otherwise it may error!) but important...
Last edited by FearNaBoinne on Monday 09 September 2019 19:56, edited 2 times in total.
RasPi, Raspbian , Domoticz v2021.1, Z-Wave Stick, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, Hue, Tuya (Tasmota/Mosquitto with Discovery), ESP(easy), MySensors.org, OTGW
Re: WiFi Doorbell
Interesting. To test
RaspberryPi - RFLink - Zwave - WH2600
Domoticz : 2020.2 | Dashticz : V3.12 Master | dzvents : 3.0.2 | Python : 3.7.3
Domoticz : 2020.2 | Dashticz : V3.12 Master | dzvents : 3.0.2 | Python : 3.7.3
- FearNaBoinne
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Tuesday 30 April 2019 10:08
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: 2021.1
- Location: Sector 0
- Contact:
Re: WiFi Doorbell
I posted a small update to the script, just so you're aware!...
RasPi, Raspbian , Domoticz v2021.1, Z-Wave Stick, RFLink, RFXtrx433e, Hue, Tuya (Tasmota/Mosquitto with Discovery), ESP(easy), MySensors.org, OTGW
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest