Updating the status of Domoticz switches without triggering?
Moderators: leecollings, remb0
- LumKitty
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sunday 11 October 2015 12:50
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 3.5877
- Location: South Wales, UK
- Contact:
Updating the status of Domoticz switches without triggering?
Firstly apologies for dumping this in the general forum, none of the subforums seemed appropriate.
I have a few virtual switches in my setup that fire off bash scripts using script:/// this is because I have milight/applight bulbs but need them to do a soft fade in/out as sudden changes in light levels trigger my partner's migraines.
The problem comes when other events fire that also affect these bulbs and change their status in some way.
I was wondering if there's a JSON call or similar that I can use to update Domoticz without causing the on/off scripts to fire?
I have a few virtual switches in my setup that fire off bash scripts using script:/// this is because I have milight/applight bulbs but need them to do a soft fade in/out as sudden changes in light levels trigger my partner's migraines.
The problem comes when other events fire that also affect these bulbs and change their status in some way.
I was wondering if there's a JSON call or similar that I can use to update Domoticz without causing the on/off scripts to fire?
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
I would love to see this implemented tooLumKitty wrote:I was wondering if there's a JSON call or similar that I can use to update Domoticz without causing the on/off scripts to fire?
- moomey
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Monday 07 September 2015 21:34
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 4.9700
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Agree, it will be a very usefull thing
-
- Posts: 625
- Joined: Thursday 02 October 2014 6:36
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 2022.2
- Location: Geleen
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
You could use a virtual switch for the switches where you need sometimes not to execute the scripts. Connect the scripts to the virtual switch and operate the actual script when you do not want the scripts fired.
- gizmocuz
- Posts: 2352
- Joined: Thursday 11 July 2013 18:59
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: beta
- Location: Top of the world
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
i think if you use the json udevice call it will not trigger the on/off actions ?
Quality outlives Quantity!
-
- Posts: 114
- Joined: Saturday 24 August 2013 9:59
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
last time I had a issue with that ( posting.php?mode=quote&f=6&p=64357 )
Didn't tested it again, just moved to my new home, next week I'm going to install Domoticz again
Didn't tested it again, just moved to my new home, next week I'm going to install Domoticz again
- moomey
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Monday 07 September 2015 21:34
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: 4.9700
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
gizmocuz wrote:i think if you use the json udevice call it will not trigger the on/off actions ?
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=0&svalue=Off
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=1&svalue=On
Last edited by moomey on Monday 28 December 2015 19:59, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 114
- Joined: Saturday 24 August 2013 9:59
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Try
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=0&svalue=
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=1&svalue=
(It's working for me now)
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=0&svalue=
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=1&svalue=
(It's working for me now)
- nayr
- Posts: 354
- Joined: Tuesday 11 November 2014 18:42
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: github
- Location: Denver, CO - USA
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
sweet thanks for that.. was just needing that functionality.
What Ive been doing is creating a uservariable and lua to help my devices from getting stuck in a loop..
for example, I monitor my surround sound system for manual input changes.. so if someone changes an input with a remote it updates domoticz instantly.. Well this has a problem that it then triggers a lua to turn it on like the button was pressed manually and then it starts a loop.
but it'd of been much easier to just have my external app monitoring the avr to update the status without triggering anything, however sometimes I may want to trigger events.. only once.
What Ive been doing is creating a uservariable and lua to help my devices from getting stuck in a loop..
for example, I monitor my surround sound system for manual input changes.. so if someone changes an input with a remote it updates domoticz instantly.. Well this has a problem that it then triggers a lua to turn it on like the button was pressed manually and then it starts a loop.
Code: Select all
if (devicechanged['Nexus Player'] == 'Off') and (uservariables['nexusloop'] == 1) then
commandArray['Variable:nexusloop'] = tostring(0)
end
if (devicechanged['Nexus Player'] == 'On') and (uservariables['nexusloop'] == 0) then
commandArray['Variable:nexusloop'] = tostring(1)
print("Nexus Player Turned on, setting up home theatre system..")
if (otherdevices['TV'] == 'Off') then
commandArray['Surround Sound']='On'
commandArray['TV']='On'
elseif (otherdevices['TV'] == 'On') then
commandArray['PlayStation 3']='Off'
commandArray['PlayStation 4']='Off'
commandArray['Mute']='Off'
end
commandArray['OpenURL']='localhost:8090/nexus'
end
Debian Jessie: CuBox-i4 (Primary) w/Static Routed IP and x509 / BeagleBone with OpenSprinkler / BeagleBone Planted Aquarium / 3x Raspbery Pi2b GPIO Slaves
Elemental Theme - node-domoticz-mqtt - Home Theatre Controller - AndroidTV Simple OSD Remote - x509 TLS Auth
Elemental Theme - node-domoticz-mqtt - Home Theatre Controller - AndroidTV Simple OSD Remote - x509 TLS Auth
-
- Posts: 75
- Joined: Saturday 05 December 2015 15:11
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: Europe
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Sappien wrote:Try
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=0&svalue=
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=42&nvalue=1&svalue=
(It's working for me now)
Is still triggering the on and off action i am on version 2.3867
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Yep, still triggers On/Off action (2.4015)
-
- Posts: 114
- Joined: Saturday 24 August 2013 9:59
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: beta
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Strange, on my test Pi (2.3530) it's working fine now. I will try it on my other Domoticz server (which is running latest beta)
-
- Posts: 75
- Joined: Saturday 05 December 2015 15:11
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: Europe
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Any news on this?
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thursday 18 December 2014 20:12
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Beta
- Location: Poland
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
For me the same (2.4269)
I'd like to change only status of virtual switch (Door lock) without triggering On/Off script
I've checked all possible json api combinations but always On/Off scripts are triggered
I'd like to change only status of virtual switch (Door lock) without triggering On/Off script
I've checked all possible json api combinations but always On/Off scripts are triggered
Is it bug or feature?/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=219&nvalue=1&svalue=1
It sets state: Open and triggers On script
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=219&nvalue=1&svalue=0
It sets state: Open and triggers On script
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=219&nvalue=0&svalue=1
It sets state: Closed and triggers Off script
/json.htm?type=command¶m=udevice&idx=219&nvalue=0&svalue=0
It sets state: Closed and triggers Off script
Last edited by lrybak on Sunday 24 January 2016 13:32, edited 1 time in total.
HW: HP dc7900 USD running ESXi, RaspberryPi (few of it), AEON S2 USB stick, Fibaro modules (Dimmers, switches), 1-wire (DS18B20, DS2423), DSC Alarm with Envisalink ethernet module, MySensors, RFLink
- nayr
- Posts: 354
- Joined: Tuesday 11 November 2014 18:42
- Target OS: Linux
- Domoticz version: github
- Location: Denver, CO - USA
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
This is by design, when you press a button on the UI it makes that same JSON call.. This is an event, and it triggers them as such.
I can see the need for updating without an event, but this functionality does not exist currently.. perhaps an &silent feature can be added to it so it does not trigger an event.
Until then the easiest way to prevent your event/script from firing is use a uservariable, set that variable to disable your event and then use it any time you dont want it triggered.
I can see the need for updating without an event, but this functionality does not exist currently.. perhaps an &silent feature can be added to it so it does not trigger an event.
Until then the easiest way to prevent your event/script from firing is use a uservariable, set that variable to disable your event and then use it any time you dont want it triggered.
Debian Jessie: CuBox-i4 (Primary) w/Static Routed IP and x509 / BeagleBone with OpenSprinkler / BeagleBone Planted Aquarium / 3x Raspbery Pi2b GPIO Slaves
Elemental Theme - node-domoticz-mqtt - Home Theatre Controller - AndroidTV Simple OSD Remote - x509 TLS Auth
Elemental Theme - node-domoticz-mqtt - Home Theatre Controller - AndroidTV Simple OSD Remote - x509 TLS Auth
-
- Posts: 179
- Joined: Friday 12 July 2013 13:53
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Beta Ch
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Also proponent for such a silent future. In my case, the Sonos switch status used in Domoticz should always follow the state of the Sonos player, even when the player is controlled outside of Domoticz
Will try the workaround via the uservar
See screenshot below, these buttons should always follow the actual state of my Sonos player.
Will try the workaround via the uservar
See screenshot below, these buttons should always follow the actual state of my Sonos player.
- Attachments
-
- Knipsel1.JPG (16.91 KiB) Viewed 10163 times
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without triggering?
I guess no news on this, right? I also failed with updating just the state of the switch via the above json call with latest stable, but no success.
It always triggers the on/off action of the switch.
It always triggers the on/off action of the switch.
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
Any news on this It would be so much useful!nayr wrote:I can see the need for updating without an event, but this functionality does not exist currently.. perhaps an &silent feature can be added to it so it does not trigger an event.
I don't know how it can works, is there anybody that can try to explain it?nayr wrote:Until then the easiest way to prevent your event/script from firing is use a uservariable, set that variable to disable your event and then use it any time you dont want it triggered.
Thanks!
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Friday 11 December 2015 10:29
- Target OS: Raspberry Pi / ODroid
- Domoticz version: Stable
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without triggering?
it's a development platform so you have to develop any deviation from the functionality you are given...
In my case, i use MQTT Client Gateway with LAN interface so any changes in switches are dumped in MQTT topic domoticz/out where I can catch them using Node-Red and process as I want. Some people prefer using internal scripting mechanism based on LUA or Python.
If I want to change a switch and avoid effect of loop triggering, then I need to ignore triggering happened just after I change the switch.
In my case I change the switch via MQTT topic domoticz/in (or via HTTP JSON interface) with a little mark (a kind of user variable) by specifying SVALUE special mark like "1;_pass_"
So when I have it back because of unwanted triggering then my Node-Red script scans SVALUE for this mark "_pass_" and does nothing if it's found
That's my way to ignore unwanted triggering
If you prefer to play with LUA scripts then you need to remember something unique for the switch you are going to change in a user variable, and when you have a resulting triggering event then you can check if it matches to the unique mark stored previously in the user variable = and does nothing if it matches
In my case, i use MQTT Client Gateway with LAN interface so any changes in switches are dumped in MQTT topic domoticz/out where I can catch them using Node-Red and process as I want. Some people prefer using internal scripting mechanism based on LUA or Python.
If I want to change a switch and avoid effect of loop triggering, then I need to ignore triggering happened just after I change the switch.
In my case I change the switch via MQTT topic domoticz/in (or via HTTP JSON interface) with a little mark (a kind of user variable) by specifying SVALUE special mark like "1;_pass_"
So when I have it back because of unwanted triggering then my Node-Red script scans SVALUE for this mark "_pass_" and does nothing if it's found
That's my way to ignore unwanted triggering
If you prefer to play with LUA scripts then you need to remember something unique for the switch you are going to change in a user variable, and when you have a resulting triggering event then you can check if it matches to the unique mark stored previously in the user variable = and does nothing if it matches
- G3rard
- Posts: 669
- Joined: Wednesday 04 March 2015 22:15
- Target OS: -
- Domoticz version: No
- Location: The Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Updating the status of Domoticz switches without trigger
You can update the status of a switch without triggering any actions with commandArray['UpdateDevice'].
The following code lets you update a selector switch to level 10 without any triggering:
263 = idx
10 = level
The following code lets you update a selector switch to level 10 without any triggering:
Code: Select all
commandArray['UpdateDevice'] = '263|10|10'
10 = level
Not using Domoticz anymore
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest